Customer Reviews


16 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirteen Years Of The True Pop/Rock Queen-NOT Unlucky For Some!, 14 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
For everyone who never bothered to see beyond the blonde bombshell image, Kim Wilde ruled the charts with an unassuming, totally infectious, unpretentious, hook-filled, melody-strong bunch of songs that doesn't even show her at her true worth as, not only are many decent singles cut on this collection, but many of her great tunes (songs often at major variance with the ones picked for singles) annoyingly stayed on the albums. Plus sadly there's a whole bunch of singles not on here-'The Touch', 'House Of Salome', 'Hey Mister Heartache', 'Say You Really Want Me', 'It's Here' etc. But no one could be disappointed by the quality of the material on offer.

From the opening (if overrated ditty) 'Kids In America' onwards each blazes a trail with each displaying a totally different sound and style, but not one losing any important ingredient that characterises her. 'Chequered Love' rocks you round the nightclub, dramatic 'View From A Bridge's' edgy, tinkling hooks distract from the depressive lyrics, 'Child Come Away' send shivers through it's folk-style arrangements, 'Love Blonde' sizzles, the energetic pounding of 'You Keep Me Hangin'On' and 'Rage To Love' would fill a stadium, while aggressive numbers like 'Never Trust A Stranger' and 'The Second Time' put the weak accusation to bed at once she was ever just a little pop princess tuning out mush for the masses. Nowhere makes that more clear than the daring 'Cambodia' with its complete opposition to a run-of-the-mill pop song setup.

There's barely any 90s stuff on here-just the rousing and symbolic 'Love Is Holy' and crisp remake of 'If I Can't Have You' but if anything this wonderful yet clipped and fractured collection so make you run out and get all those Kim albums now. Oh and 'You Came' is gorgeous-but would be even more so if it wasn't cut from 4.33 to 3.29. Trust me, she is the Queen. This may be an introduction-and a good one, but get her albums! No record collection should lack them-she really is THE albums girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of ten., 7 Dec. 2014
By 
J. D. Jones (Stafford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
An excellent CD. Sound quality is very good, all original single edits. Kim's cover version of The Supremes "You Keep Me Hanging On" is exceptional. I don't usually think that cover versions are ever as good as the original, but in this case I think that it is equal. "Cambodia", "You Came", "Chequered Love", and "Water On Glass" are all top class singles. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
Great tunes. Good overall buying experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back ..... brilliantly. Thank you !, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
FAB-U-LOUS. The production is second to none. Shame Kim and family aren't given higher profile, they've given us some really brilliant tracks to enjoy over the years. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KIM WILDE'S GREATEST HITS, 10 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
"The Singles Collection" is somewhat a misleading title of this album, since it doesn't contain ALL of Kim Wilde's singles. A better title would be "Greatest Hits", since that is what this album contains; ALL of Kim Wilde's greatest hits in the period 1981-1993. They're all here; "Kids In America", "Cambodia", "You Keep Me Hanging On", "You Came" and all the other major hits that made Kim Wilde a star in Europe.
For the American public this may seem a bit odd, since Wilde only charted five singles on the Billboard Hot 100, four of which are included here; "Kids In America" "The Second Time", aka "Go For it" in America, "You Keep Me Hanging On" and "You Came". But in Europe, all the songs on this album were major hits and well known. Minor hits like "Say You Really Want Me" and "It's Here" are not included here (nor do they belong here).
Ironically, Kim Wilde never had another major hit after this album was released in 1993, so this is still THE album to get if you're looking for a set of Kim Wilde's greatest hits.
Also, Wilde's biggest hits are also her best songs, so this album is excellent from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I refought this album, 25 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
Brings back lots of memories,,You Came has massive dynamic sounds. Glad I refought this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it., 5 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
Fab purchase...it's got all of her hits on, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks. Hoping to see at Lets rock, 29 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
Great tracks. Hoping to see at Lets rock 3015
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
Very good fast service would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1981-1993 (Audio CD)
excellent condition. very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection 1981-1993
The Singles Collection 1981-1993 by Kim Wilde (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews