Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing introduction to flamenco
I can't say i'm an absolute convert to flamenco. A bit like jazz it often works live and dies on disc. But this cheepo CD must be one of its most eloquent advocates.
It captures instantly from the opening deep moorish quartertones and thereafter never fails to retain interest. I've played it endlessly and everywhere.
If you don't like flamenco you ought to...
Published on 24 April 2003 by The Navigator

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Its okay
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. V. P. Hickson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing introduction to flamenco, 24 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
I can't say i'm an absolute convert to flamenco. A bit like jazz it often works live and dies on disc. But this cheepo CD must be one of its most eloquent advocates.
It captures instantly from the opening deep moorish quartertones and thereafter never fails to retain interest. I've played it endlessly and everywhere.
If you don't like flamenco you ought to listen to this, if you do you shouldn't need more persuasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Flamenco is right!, 9 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
Paco is on fire on most of these tracks. Flamenco is about soul, passion and rhythm and this collection has the lot... Covering a wide variety of Flamenco styles it is a a great introduction to the art as well as being a fantastic album in its own right. After 2 months of ownership, it still occupies the prime spot on top of the CD player, ready to go at a moment's notice.
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous? Absolutely!, 29 Nov. 2003
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
I just want to thank the previous reviewers whose unreserved praise and enthusiasm for this CD persuaded me to buy it. A lifetime of listening to mainly rock music makes this type of music seem strangely exotic to me. There's more variety to flamenco than I'd imagined and most of it makes me feel like dancing, but even the more sombre numbers make me feel quite mellow and content. It can change my state of mind after a day of being wound up, ground down and worn out. I join the throng of reviewers recommending this Fabulous Flamenco!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamenco of a rare quality, 21 Jan. 2008
By 
Christian Jongeneel (Rotterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
Once, as a teenager, I owned an lp with the first ten tracks of this cd. A guitar novice myself I knew this was the music I desperately wanted to play. Unashamedly festive, these songs, with lots of handclapping, are of a rare quality.

It is quite unusual to find one of flamenco's great masters play pretty folksy tunes like these. Still, ultimately I love this down to earth approach to flamenco more than the more subtle one, like Paco Pena in his later works.

Twenty years on, I can still listen to these tracks every day. Needless to say, I never ever became anything of a virtuoso guitar player myself, not even mastering a decent sevillanas, as performed brilliantly in the second track of this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flamenco passion, 29 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
i have just recieved this cd and it is wonderful. for the price it is a bargain not to be missed. it is full of life and passion and everything you would expect of true flamenco music. it doesnt matter if this is your first introduction to flamenco or you are a seasoned fan, you will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best flamenco cd you can buy, 24 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
I'm someone who plays flamenco and this is a superb collection of flamenco music.Flamenco is poetry and even the names of the various flamenco styles featured here:solea,bulereas,millonga,sevillanas -to name a few - sound poetic.The inlay card gives the history of each piece that is played and a summary of Paco Penas career.You get your money's worth.
Probably the best flamenco cd on the market in terms of broad appeal to lots of different kinds of people - there are more profound recordings by artists such as Juan Martin and John Williams but they are not as light,breezy and full of joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 28 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely out of this world, Paco Pena may be the best way to start listening to the great flamenco music, it makes you want to get up and dance, at another point it makes you relax, it's all in here, I cannot stop listening to it and I have lent it to many friends who told me it is an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere, melody, drama, mood..........., 17 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
Fabulous Flamenco indeed, great value for money and fully worthy of 5 stars.

I brought this CD trying to find my own 'Duende' after reading a book of the same title.

Forget package holiday restaurants and show bars - Uncle Paco is the real deal.

You can almost smell the Paella, taste the Rioja and feel the drama and tension of the moods being displayed. It's somewhat tonally erotic in part with many a Blanco being put through its paces to the beat of the dancer's heart. ( ...and you just know that the dancer in question is a dark haired gypsy girl wearing a red dress, and she's smiling at you - you'll know what I mean when you listen to this.... )

The agility, speed and sheer brilliance of the playing is imposible to describe and difficult to comprehend.

Once you've heard this you'll want to go and see it live. Make sure you do.

Hear it, taste it, feel it ! Comfortably recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Old School" but a joy to listen to, 17 May 2008
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
Combining many of flamenco maestro Paco Pena's DECCA LPs to form this greatest hits CD, one can hear clearly hear the style of playing so prominent in the 50s-70s. All the styles represented on the CD are a joy to listen to, especially the less commonly heared ones of today such as Rondena, Milonga and Tiento; and the three Buleria are stunning. As an introduction to "proper" flamenco not the poor quality of Costa Del Sol tablao playing or "flamenco-inspired" guitar playing; Paco's Fabulous Flamenco touches all the buttons and does its job superbly. Highly recommended for all newbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Flamenco, 22 July 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabulous Flamenco (Audio CD)
I have tried a few Flamenco albums but this is one of the finest and most outstandingly enjoyable. It is in actual fact a compilation album of various tracks recorded by Paco Pena during the early 1970s. The programme here makes a wonderful selection of pieces. This album is inspiring in terms of the Flamenco genre but also in terms of exploring further the complete recordings of Paco Pena.
On a personal note, when it comes to Flamenco I really like the more instrumental side rather than the vocal. Flamenco is a fabulously rich music form that expresses emotion and feeling. And although the vocal song side of this form of music can be very expressive, I do prefer the wonderful sound of the guitar. The Flamenco guitar style is different to the other sort of Spanish guitar music and this collection illustrates the uniqueness of its form. So this album is pure instrumental with a strong Flamenco sound performed perfectly. There is the sound of maraccas and hand clapping on some tracks which adds to the flavour of the Spanish and Flamenco atmosphere.
All of the flavours of Spanish musical history are found here through these recordings of Flamenco. The influences of the Moors, the gypsies, Arabic, the traditions and customs of Andulucia and native folk of Spain all shine through these pieces.
All of the pieces come from various sources and are arranged by Paco Pena. The sound and balance of these recordings are excellent and this is a truly great representation of Flamenco music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fabulous Flamenco
Fabulous Flamenco by Paco Peña (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews