Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
82
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2006
The other reviewer (# 1 reviewer too!) is right in that it may be a silly name - but it really is their nicknames. The other thing that he got right is that they were really very very good indeed. Anybody who saw them on stage in their heyday will know that very few bands ever wanted to follow them. And before you sneer, oh doubtful ones, remember that Tich was voted World's Best guitarist in the 60s and nobody argued: he was a friend of, and jammed with, Jimi Hendrix: he played some cracking guitar on stage at the Heartbreak Hotel Club on Ibiza (Phil Carson's gaff) when the band backed .... Robert Plant (with a little help from Tony Kaye and Chris Squires of Yes): and that in the sixties the Boys outsold the Beatles in many counties.

This run through of their greatest hits shows that they could sing and play to perfection, with fantastic vocal harmonies, honed by what must be a million gigs over the last 40-plus years. "Hold Tight", "The Wreck of the Hesperus", "Xanadu" are all great pure pop songs and the only tragedy is that they were all written by Ken Howard and Alan Blaikley, the Stock Aitken Waterman of the day, and that the Boys' own songs were largely unrecorded until late in the day.

Remember that these lads shared the stage with everybody, and I mean everybody, from the Beatles to the Stones to Hendrix to you name it and never came off second best. A fantastic and overlooked band, with a lot of these songs being recorded in a few hours in one or two takes.

Do yourselves a favour, I dare you - listen to this disc and then get tickets to see Dave Dee, D B M and T at Salisbury City Hall in March 2006. This still-gigging band, still huge in Europe, will blow away all your pre-conceptions.

I am absolutely delighted to inform you that The Boys have been honoured with a Blue Plaque on the wall of the City Hall in Salisbury,as from 14th March 2008, to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Xanadu being number one in the UK charts and the Boys having been on the road almost continuously for 45 years. The ceremony included a presentation by the Mayor of Salisbury in front of a large crowd before they played the hall that night as part of a 40-date sold-out tour. Fantastic. Real real class.

Stop press 8/10/08 - unbelievable as it may sound, I am delighted to tell you that the new CD, The Very Best Of DDDBMandT entered the charts this week at no. 24. How about that for staying power? Nice one, Tich and the boys - NOW will you let me borrow your Fender Twin Reverb again? Please?

UPDATE - it is with a huge sadness and a great sense of loss that I have to report that Dave Dee died on 9th January 2009 after a long battle with cancer. This funny, talented and lovely man carried out a massive tour last year without missing a gig and gave his all to every performance. RIP Dave, you left the world a nicer place. Dave, between 67 and 69 the only band to outsell you was the Beatles, and you outsold them in Europe. I hope you meet Eddie Cochran and all those great rockers and have the jam session to end all others.
44 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was not the only sixties group to have a silly name – Creedence Clearwater Revival was another that immediately comes to mind – and it didn’t stop them making some upbeat, guitar-based rock music of really quality. It seems that they failed to make any impact in America, but they had thirteen hits in their native Britain between 1966 and 1969, many going high in the top ten.
Their only number one hit was The legend of Xanadu, but Zabadak reached number two while Save me, Bend it and Hold tight all reached number four. All these hits plus all their lesser hits and a few misses are included here.
Although most (but not all) of the songs are upbeat, fun songs, there is a remarkable variety of styles within this collection. Dave Dee Dozy Beaky Mick and Tich may well be the best British group of the sixties to fail in America. Although not up to the standard of the Beatles or the Rolling stones (who else was?), they were certainly as good as many British groups that did make it in America.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
As I have been collecting sixties music for many years I discovered that I had none by Dave Dee etc. Sent for this cd as it was highly recommended and was all original music that I remember them playing at the Manor Lounge in Stockport. I was not disappointed, it is a brilliant collections of their best songs, and having played it several times now both in the house and in the car, I think it just gets better and better. I well remember them playing "You Make It Move" their first hit single which was followed by "Hold Tight" which is one of my favourites (although we did think as others did that they sang Hosiah rather than Hold Tight! But a great fun cd and well recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The five friends 'David Harman' (Dave Dee) 'Trevor Ward-Davis' (Dozy) 'John Dymond' (Beaky)
'Michael Wilson' (Mick) and 'Ian Amey' (Tich) from Wiltshire formed the group back in 1961,
however it wasn't until 1964 they became noticed, songwriters 'Ken Howard' and 'Alan Blaikley'
wanted to give them a go in the recording studios, it was the following year when the group
crept into the Top 30 with 'You Make It Move' after which they had Ten Top Ten hits over a two
year spell, followed by a few lower order successes.
The Group became part of Pop-History with hit sounds such as - 'Hold Tight' (No '4' 1966) -
'Hideaway' (Chart '10' 1966) 'Bend It' (Chart '2' 1966) 'Save Me' (Chart '3' also 1966) then in
1967 - 'Touch Me Touch Me' (Chart '13') 'Okay' (Chart '4') 'Zabadak' (Chart '3') and in 1968
'The Legend Of Zanadu' (The Groups only number '1') 'Last Night In Soho' (Chart '8') and
'The Wreck Of The Antoinette' (Chart '14') the following year they did achieve a couple more
lower order hits.
The group did achieve success abroad in particularly in the Commonwealth Countries, the group
split in 1969, when 'Dave Dee' tried to pursue a solo career with very little success, the group
reformed in the 90's and still perform today/
On this album though not in release and chart order, all the groups hits are on-board.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
These songs are full of atmosphere, drive and sixties pop at its best. Last Night In Soho, legend of Xanadu, Snake In The Grass, Mr President (without the bossman), Zabadak , it's all here. A nostalgic and often uplifting collection this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2007
DDDBMT - one of the best of many groups from the sixties and seventies who are now overlooked. One or two of the pop songs are almost unlistenable to now BUT there are some classics and the guitar work is superb. I always thought it was a tragedy that they got sucked into pop when they were obviously extremely talented and could have made it as a rock band - not that they don't have a huge following in Europe but what they have always missed is for people in general to take them seriously. Listen to "Last Night in Soho" and you'll hear what I mean.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
They might have had the longest and silliest name in pop history, but Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky Mick and Titch were a classic band who put out some essential `60s pop tracks.

Full of inventive sounds and great lyrics (both exemplified in their big hit `Xanadu'), they put out track after track of foot tapping, well crafted music - sort of light rock with a tinge of psychodelia. Expertly played by the talented band, with some great vocals, this is great stuff.

This collection brings together 18 original recordings, covering all the big hits (`Xanadu', Hold Tight', `Zabadack!' etc) and a few very worthy lesser known gems. There is a very short essay about the band. The remastering is OK, and the sound pretty good.

All in all a decent budget release, and a great way to get your hands on some essential `60s tracks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Back to when one could hear clearly and understand what the song meant without all the sexual undedrtones which seem to be the idiom of songs these days. All Dave Dee, Beaky Mick &Tich are here,waiting for you to enjoy and sing along to. 4 fathoms 5 on the seabed she lies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Sadly Dave Dee passed away some while ago now; but what a wonderful legacy of pop music DD D B M & T left behind Still played daily on radio stations everywhere. They always managed to change the style with each single release and every one always had atmosphere Can't fault this collection, fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Another trip back to my youth when the music was great and the lyrics clear. It is great to be able to buy these cds of the music of that time as I can now store my immense vinyl collection away but still be able to hear the music of the fabulous 60's!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.94
£8.82
£12.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)