Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly name but great sixties music
This was not the only sixties group to have a silly name – Creedence Clearwater Revival was another that immediately comes to mind – and it didn’t stop them making some upbeat, guitar-based rock music of really quality. It seems that they failed to make any impact in America, but they had thirteen hits in their native Britain between 1966 and 1969, many...
Published on 3 Jun 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 60s music
delivered promptly, packing undamaged, what more can I say, a CD is bought to suit personal music taste and I liked it.
Published 12 months ago by turniptop


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly name but great sixties music, 3 Jun 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
This was not the only sixties group to have a silly name – Creedence Clearwater Revival was another that immediately comes to mind – and it didn’t stop them making some upbeat, guitar-based rock music of really quality. It seems that they failed to make any impact in America, but they had thirteen hits in their native Britain between 1966 and 1969, many going high in the top ten.
Their only number one hit was The legend of Xanadu, but Zabadak reached number two while Save me, Bend it and Hold tight all reached number four. All these hits plus all their lesser hits and a few misses are included here.
Although most (but not all) of the songs are upbeat, fun songs, there is a remarkable variety of styles within this collection. Dave Dee Dozy Beaky Mick and Tich may well be the best British group of the sixties to fail in America. Although not up to the standard of the Beatles or the Rolling stones (who else was?), they were certainly as good as many British groups that did make it in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still at the top of their game ......, 1 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. Thomas Thatcher "Tom Thatcher" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
The other reviewer (# 1 reviewer too!) is right in that it may be a silly name - but it really is their nicknames. The other thing that he got right is that they were really very very good indeed. Anybody who saw them on stage in their heyday will know that very few bands ever wanted to follow them. And before you sneer, oh doubtful ones, remember that Tich was voted World's Best guitarist in the 60s and nobody argued: he was a friend of, and jammed with, Jimi Hendrix: he played some cracking guitar on stage at the Heartbreak Hotel Club on Ibiza (Phil Carson's gaff) when the band backed .... Robert Plant (with a little help from Tony Kaye and Chris Squires of Yes): and that in the sixties the Boys outsold the Beatles in many counties.

This run through of their greatest hits shows that they could sing and play to perfection, with fantastic vocal harmonies, honed by what must be a million gigs over the last 40-plus years. "Hold Tight", "The Wreck of the Hesperus", "Xanadu" are all great pure pop songs and the only tragedy is that they were all written by Ken Howard and Alan Blaikley, the Stock Aitken Waterman of the day, and that the Boys' own songs were largely unrecorded until late in the day.

Remember that these lads shared the stage with everybody, and I mean everybody, from the Beatles to the Stones to Hendrix to you name it and never came off second best. A fantastic and overlooked band, with a lot of these songs being recorded in a few hours in one or two takes.

Do yourselves a favour, I dare you - listen to this disc and then get tickets to see Dave Dee, D B M and T at Salisbury City Hall in March 2006. This still-gigging band, still huge in Europe, will blow away all your pre-conceptions.

I am absolutely delighted to inform you that The Boys have been honoured with a Blue Plaque on the wall of the City Hall in Salisbury,as from 14th March 2008, to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Xanadu being number one in the UK charts and the Boys having been on the road almost continuously for 45 years. The ceremony included a presentation by the Mayor of Salisbury in front of a large crowd before they played the hall that night as part of a 40-date sold-out tour. Fantastic. Real real class.

Stop press 8/10/08 - unbelievable as it may sound, I am delighted to tell you that the new CD, The Very Best Of DDDBMandT entered the charts this week at no. 24. How about that for staying power? Nice one, Tich and the boys - NOW will you let me borrow your Fender Twin Reverb again? Please?

UPDATE - it is with a huge sadness and a great sense of loss that I have to report that Dave Dee died on 9th January 2009 after a long battle with cancer. This funny, talented and lovely man carried out a massive tour last year without missing a gig and gave his all to every performance. RIP Dave, you left the world a nicer place. Dave, between 67 and 69 the only band to outsell you was the Beatles, and you outsold them in Europe. I hope you meet Eddie Cochran and all those great rockers and have the jam session to end all others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick And Titch - the name sounds daft, but the music doesn't, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
They might have had the longest and silliest name in pop history, but Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky Mick and Titch were a classic band who put out some essential `60s pop tracks.

Full of inventive sounds and great lyrics (both exemplified in their big hit `Xanadu'), they put out track after track of foot tapping, well crafted music - sort of light rock with a tinge of psychodelia. Expertly played by the talented band, with some great vocals, this is great stuff.

This collection brings together 18 original recordings, covering all the big hits (`Xanadu', Hold Tight', `Zabadack!' etc) and a few very worthy lesser known gems. There is a very short essay about the band. The remastering is OK, and the sound pretty good.

All in all a decent budget release, and a great way to get your hands on some essential `60s tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it at this price if only for "Last Night in Soho", 9 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
DDDBMT - one of the best of many groups from the sixties and seventies who are now overlooked. One or two of the pop songs are almost unlistenable to now BUT there are some classics and the guitar work is superb. I always thought it was a tragedy that they got sucked into pop when they were obviously extremely talented and could have made it as a rock band - not that they don't have a huge following in Europe but what they have always missed is for people in general to take them seriously. Listen to "Last Night in Soho" and you'll hear what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love my new CD it`s what I have been looking ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
My Dave Dee & Co CD ;
yes, I love my new CD it`s what I have been looking for a long time thanks Amazon . I play it in my car daily very loud .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 28 May 2014
By 
K. M. Wakefield "Kath the wrinkly" (Hendygwyn Sir Gar UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
At last I can afford to buy tracks of all those records I loved to hear in my youth. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My youth reviseted, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
Now and again I like to buy things that remind me of my youth(*$@#) years ago.When I get a song or a group in my head I have to "you tube" it/them to see if they still interest me.some of the tracks of DD,D,B,M&T still do.Good nostalgic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Legacy, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
Sadly Dave Dee passed away some while ago now; but what a wonderful legacy of pop music DD D B M & T left behind Still played daily on radio stations everywhere. They always managed to change the style with each single release and every one always had atmosphere Can't fault this collection, fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Helena Gray "fun lady" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
Another trip back to my youth when the music was great and the lyrics clear. It is great to be able to buy these cds of the music of that time as I can now store my immense vinyl collection away but still be able to hear the music of the fabulous 60's!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Dave Dee Dozy Mick and Titch., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich (Audio CD)
The best of Dave Dee Dozy Mick and Titch.
It is everything I thought it would be,loved it.Would recommend for a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich
The Best Of Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich by Dave 'Dee' Harman (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews