Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Clear
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2002
Tim Simenon crashes headlong into William Burrough's Naked Lunch world with Bug Powder Dust, the outstanding single from the album. The rest of the album follows suit. With the accompanying single Darkheart being one of the 100 most evil things of the 20th Century. Will Self covers himself in glory narrating the seminal 5mm Barrels. "bloody flyovers" indeed. Each track leaves its own mark on you and you will feel by the end of the album that you need to wash, take more excercise and possibly move to the country. (Quick antidote is to put on a St. Etienne CD instead).
Whilst all the other are good eery painful tracks, and Empire & one-to-one religion (Peppers & Rogers?) stand out, you will keep coming back to the fact that Bug Powder Dust is one of the best songs ever penned, despite is silly boxpop references, despite its unashamed naked lunch spoilers, it just ROCKS. So now that you can't buy the BPD singles box set, you'd better get Clear.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tim Simenon's 1995 album could be compared to Massive Attack and Portishead albums from around the same time. It's definitely got that Bristol sound, rolling dubby basslines, crisp vinyl-sounding beats. The fact it's got that feel makes it seem a bit dated but overall it's very serious but it just shines with quality from a brilliant producer. It's also good that there's a few tracks with a bit more 'kick' thrown in for good measure.

There's some high-quality guest appearances as well- Sinead O'Connor, Benjamin Zephaniah, Will Self, Justin Warfield. Well worth a listen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
If you've bought this album after hearing a sample of 'Bug Powder Dust' off the Dirt Chamber Sessions, as I did, then prepared to be suprised.
Rather than being a collection of raw, bass-heavy big-beat style tunes, 'Clear' is a somewhat weird collection of spaced-out dubby tracks featuring random people such as the rastsa poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Don't let all this put you off though as the tracks on 'Clear' are as original and well constructed as they are odd. If you are into the more obscure end of dance music then this is a must-have. Production quality is a little sub-standard and it may well take you more than one listen to get used to.
Enjoy, I do.3/5
LP
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
Well what can you say. I only bought the album because I'd been looking for Bug Powder Dust for ages and had never got round to getting it. I listened to the rest of it then ignored it for a few months. Then when I had a few spare minutes I went back to it. To be honest I'm amazed. Ignore tracks 2-5 and go straight in at number 6 from then on its a rollercoaster of an album with no two tracks the same. On realising what the band were trying to do, it became obvious I'd seriously underestimated them on my first play of the CD. Well worth 5 stars if only for rhyming 'brain damage' with 'underneath the mash potata the kids hide the cabbage'.
You'll not see that anywhere else.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Initially bought to fill out my Bass collection ( bought this once before, couldn't get my head around the fact that this wasn't the Bomb the Bass of "Megablast," more fool me, and chucked it like a spa, ) this is now a firm fave.

Blasts out of the gate with the excellent, dark, and full-on "Bug Powder Dust," a song that manages to reference hip-hop, trip-hop, William Burroughs ( a theme throughout the album it seems, ) Joseph Conrad, and vibrators. The album then swirls through a number of equally dark - thematically speaking - tracks that wind around guest players like tense snakes.

Stand outs are the stripped down, coldly dubby "Dark Heart" and the hugely weird "If you reach the border," a Burroughs-esque trip of filtered poetry and dry, crispy instrumentation.

The only let down is Sinead O'Connor's hammer-home politics on the dreadful "Empire." Vampire indeed O'Connor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Bomb The Bass, blast from the past. I ordered this after listening to the title music of an old Amiga game entitled 'Xenon II'. And the sheer brilliance of their music came flooding back. Recommended if you like sampled, brilliant drum track music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Bought this on the strength of the iconic 'Bug Powder Dust', one of the best tunes of the 90s. Unfortunately that is pretty much the only track of any merit on the album. The rest is not particularly hateful (though the bizarre Will Self voiceover track has only novelty value, will grate after a few listenings), it acts as a fair-enough background CD if you're in a 90's electro mood but every track falls way, way short of the brilliance of Bug Powder Dust. At £1.79 though it was worth the purchase just for that track.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2000
To be honest, I only bought this album for the first track Bug Powder Dust, which is quite possibly one of The Best Songs Ever. The rest of the album has its charms: Will Self on 5ml Barrel, and Dark Heart among others. Every song is completely different to the others, so if you've heard Bug Powder Dust, don't expect anymore stuff like that. But it is worth it just for that.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Great item good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)