Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album if you take the time to listen to it.
Well what can you say. I only bought the album because I'd been looking for Bug Powder Dust for ages and had never got round to getting it. I listened to the rest of it then ignored it for a few months. Then when I had a few spare minutes I went back to it. To be honest I'm amazed. Ignore tracks 2-5 and go straight in at number 6 from then on its a rollercoaster of an...
Published on 10 Feb 2001

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, original and generally pretty good
If you've bought this album after hearing a sample of 'Bug Powder Dust' off the Dirt Chamber Sessions, as I did, then prepared to be suprised.
Rather than being a collection of raw, bass-heavy big-beat style tunes, 'Clear' is a somewhat weird collection of spaced-out dubby tracks featuring random people such as the rastsa poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Don't let all this...
Published on 8 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album if you take the time to listen to it., 10 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
Well what can you say. I only bought the album because I'd been looking for Bug Powder Dust for ages and had never got round to getting it. I listened to the rest of it then ignored it for a few months. Then when I had a few spare minutes I went back to it. To be honest I'm amazed. Ignore tracks 2-5 and go straight in at number 6 from then on its a rollercoaster of an album with no two tracks the same. On realising what the band were trying to do, it became obvious I'd seriously underestimated them on my first play of the CD. Well worth 5 stars if only for rhyming 'brain damage' with 'underneath the mash potata the kids hide the cabbage'.
You'll not see that anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Long, 22 Oct 2002
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
Tim Simenon crashes headlong into William Burrough's Naked Lunch world with Bug Powder Dust, the outstanding single from the album. The rest of the album follows suit. With the accompanying single Darkheart being one of the 100 most evil things of the 20th Century. Will Self covers himself in glory narrating the seminal 5mm Barrels. "bloody flyovers" indeed. Each track leaves its own mark on you and you will feel by the end of the album that you need to wash, take more excercise and possibly move to the country. (Quick antidote is to put on a St. Etienne CD instead).
Whilst all the other are good eery painful tracks, and Empire & one-to-one religion (Peppers & Rogers?) stand out, you will keep coming back to the fact that Bug Powder Dust is one of the best songs ever penned, despite is silly boxpop references, despite its unashamed naked lunch spoilers, it just ROCKS. So now that you can't buy the BPD singles box set, you'd better get Clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, original and generally pretty good, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
If you've bought this album after hearing a sample of 'Bug Powder Dust' off the Dirt Chamber Sessions, as I did, then prepared to be suprised.
Rather than being a collection of raw, bass-heavy big-beat style tunes, 'Clear' is a somewhat weird collection of spaced-out dubby tracks featuring random people such as the rastsa poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Don't let all this put you off though as the tracks on 'Clear' are as original and well constructed as they are odd. If you are into the more obscure end of dance music then this is a must-have. Production quality is a little sub-standard and it may well take you more than one listen to get used to.
Enjoy, I do.3/5
LP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality album with 'the Bristol sound', 18 July 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
Tim Simenon's 1995 album could be compared to Massive Attack and Portishead albums from around the same time. It's definitely got that Bristol sound, rolling dubby basslines, crisp vinyl-sounding beats. The fact it's got that feel makes it seem a bit dated but overall it's very serious but it just shines with quality from a brilliant producer. It's also good that there's a few tracks with a bit more 'kick' thrown in for good measure.

There's some high-quality guest appearances as well- Sinead O'Connor, Benjamin Zephaniah, Will Self, Justin Warfield. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Bryn (Shoreham by Sea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
Bought this on the strength of the iconic 'Bug Powder Dust', one of the best tunes of the 90s. Unfortunately that is pretty much the only track of any merit on the album. The rest is not particularly hateful (though the bizarre Will Self voiceover track has only novelty value, will grate after a few listenings), it acts as a fair-enough background CD if you're in a 90's electro mood but every track falls way, way short of the brilliance of Bug Powder Dust. At £1.79 though it was worth the purchase just for that track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains one of the best songs ever. Get it., 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
To be honest, I only bought this album for the first track Bug Powder Dust, which is quite possibly one of The Best Songs Ever. The rest of the album has its charms: Will Self on 5ml Barrel, and Dark Heart among others. Every song is completely different to the others, so if you've heard Bug Powder Dust, don't expect anymore stuff like that. But it is worth it just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clear (Audio CD)
Great item good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clear
Clear by Bomb The Bass (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews