Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2004
Yes, this album is 20 years old and does sound pretty old production wise. The lyrics, however, are just as relevant now as they were then. Along with other anarcho bands of the time such as Dirt, Crass, Amebix, Rudimentry Peni, the Mob, Antisect were a breath of fresh air.
Combining music heavy enough to knock over an elephant with lyrics that acually meant something (and still mean something) this album kicked ass!
Do yourself a favour and but it now! The buck stops here!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
This is by far one of the most important anarcho punk albums ever recorded. The band although influenced by discharge, also had a very original style of their own. The churning crass type stlye is replaced by a hardcore punk,fused with at times a melodic style (listen to a midsummers night dream). The lyrical content is well thought out and beautifuly written. From the opening seconds through to the excellent "buck stops here" this is a show of a band who weren't afraid to try something new.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2003
Sounds like a silly thing to say, but when it came out in , I think, 1984, I was in my early 20's, living in Germany.
Aside from being a complete, genuine, one-off, punk masterpiece, this record turned me on to a form of politics I could actually relate to. I bought it originally on vinyl but wore it out, and the eventual cd re-release was long overdue. It's brash, loud, reflective, angry, sad and utterly relentless. The sound has been likened to somewhere between Crass and early Discharge, but I would say it's a bit heavier than both and much more varied than either of them. An absolute gem.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2003
This album, this band are so ahead of their time. "Is life better than death? Then surely peace must be better than War".
No band of this era were able to make an album to match this one, and a debut album. Top quality production, quality politic and the music is just so good.
This album ranks as one of the best I own.
Shame there was not another.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
This is a very dark album, almost trance like - this was at a time of repetitive chordal structures and fairly long songs, and when punk was moving towards a more metal / drug fuelled / pagan sound. The simple riffs are built upon with interesting variations so that the album flows nicely and never gets boring. The production is heavy and thick, with lots of guitar layers, and is probably one of the best sounding albums of the genre. I'd go so far as to say it sounds pretty fantastic, even today.

The vocals are generally harsh and yes, political / philosophical, but lack the sanctimonius feel of other acts of the time. Some of the subject matter is relevant today and some of it isn't quite such a problem anymore, like for example 'Education or Indoctrination', but the poignant 'War is Oblivion and the Ghost of Mankind' isn't the kind of lyric you'd hear repeated over and over in a song these days is it? And the track 'They ( the Eternal Myth and Paradox)' is a concept introduced to me by this band at 16 years old that has served me well for 24 years since. Grasp this lesson and learn it well, for most people haven't.

The songs themselves are arranged really well and there is no filler material. The tracks all have a different identity and work well as an album, which of course is becoming something of a lost medium.

My copy had side one and side two of the original album recorded as tracks one and two on the cd, which was a bit annoying at first but this is an album that you'll listen to all the way through. I don't think younger people interested in this British genre ( which inspired a lot of bands overseas ) would have a problem liking it. Excellent CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
This is the best Anarcho Punk LP (or whatever label you want to stick on it) recorded. Period.

Almost a concept album, it has all the usual political sentiments (anti war / poverty / vivisection / religion / tv / institutions etc..)but what separated this album from the 'chaff' was the intelligence and in places the speed of the music.

The opening track is a relentless blast in the face and from the introduction you are taken on a 'musical' rollercoaster via poetry, church bells, televisions, and heavy heavy riffs.

Antisect now admit to their diversity in influences and how they were of a time, which makes this recording even more special.

RIP
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
I am probably understating the impact this album and band had on me in the early 80s. This was and this still is a musical sledgehammer of anger, and resistance, but still offering hope and togetherness. In a period where a number of similar angry politically motivated bands stood up as flag wavers for a generation who would no longer blindly accept the deal that had been offered, this to me was the best of the best. There were earlier albums by others who changed my life before Antisect but this beautifully summed everything up for me.

They are back in 2011 and I will be back 24 years later to see them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I MET ANTI SECT AT STONEHENGE SAT IN A BENDER HAVING A DEEP DISCUSSION WHILST USING PSYLICIBIN(MAGIC MUSHROOMS) ABOUT THE WORLD AND MANKIND,I FOUND THEM TO BE DECENT HONEST DOWN TO EARTH PEOPLE AND YOU COULD PUT THEM INTO THE CRASS CLIQUE THO I HATE TO SAY THAT....BUT THOSE IN THE KNOW WILL GET MY DRIFT. THIS ALBUM IS HEAVY FULL ON PUNK WITH POETRY AND LYRICS TO EDUCATE YOU AND ENTERTAIN. TRULY A CLASSIC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)