Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure, raw, Pixie power!
They gave us Death to the Pixies a double CD anthologyfrom the Boston quartet. This BBC session is live recordings taken from The John Peel Show in England between 1989-1991. There are 15 songs on offer here which of two are covers 'Wild Honey Pie and In Heaven'. The first song is as you may know is written by the Beatles and then a legendary filmmaker David Lynch writes...
Published on 5 Oct. 1999

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not worth it
being a big pixies fan i gave this cd a chance but i rate it lower than the b-sides album. the only track that's any better than the original versions is 'hey'.wild honey pie is ok first listen but rubbish after that.there goes my gun is faster but the singing in the chorus is annoying.all the tracks especially from doolittle sound better produced, more polished but arent...
Published on 27 Jan. 2004 by ben_23


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure, raw, Pixie power!, 5 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
They gave us Death to the Pixies a double CD anthologyfrom the Boston quartet. This BBC session is live recordings taken from The John Peel Show in England between 1989-1991. There are 15 songs on offer here which of two are covers 'Wild Honey Pie and In Heaven'. The first song is as you may know is written by the Beatles and then a legendary filmmaker David Lynch writes the last song. The songs on this album are well recorded and have a powerful presence. If this is a first time glimpse at the Pixies for you the BBC sessions should be a great introduction to that the Pixies could do live with all there raw energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 28 April 2005
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
This is a live album, it is what it is, therefore don't expect this to add anything new to the old songs or take them in any new coherent direction. With that said however, I have to say that I much prefer this CD to the live Pixies DVD. Hey in particular is excellent (much better than when I actually saw it live incidentally) and I particularly like Levitate Me and In Heaven. Another reviewer seemed to object to the fact that some of the songs are a little fast and Kim's singing is a bit ropey in Down to the Well and I'll certainly agree that Down to the Well is probably the weakest of the songs here (my favourite version is on the purple tape) but this is a live album and you have to expect that. For a live recording the sound is great as far as I'm concerned and not only is this better than the Pixies DVD in giving you the experience of hearing the Pixies play live, but it also serves as, in my opinion, a much better compilation of some of the Pixies best songs than the official "best of" Death to the Pixies - most likely because the songs here were selected by the Pixies themselves and not by a record company based on their commercial value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What was all the fuss about? Start here..., 18 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
Seminal, groundbreaking, influential, founders of a genre... You may have heard all this and more about the Pixies. You will have heard similar things about other bands, authors, whatever then bought the material and wondered what the fuss was about.

This is an album of recordings made "live" or one-off in sessions for BBC radio. The song selection and more particularly the song order could be described as eclectic at best. We start firmly in chainsaw guitar and screaming mode. This is the Pixies I guess but after a couple of songs we start to reach a tone more typical of the whole. That tone is one of thoughtful presentations and at times re-workings of some of the best known Pixies songs. The remarkable thing about these is that almost without exception they better the studio originals in honesty, life and even quality. Couple this with the fact in many places the selection is almost a "best of" and you can understand why I listen to this album as much as all the other Pixies albums put together.

Don't buy it because the Pixies are name checked and referenced repeatedly, buy it because you want to hear undated brilliance. They sound better "live" than "studio recorded" - surely passing an acid test of any great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great cd from an immortal band, 6 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
Firstly I'll get my only complaint about this dicc out of the way: at 35 minutes it is a little on the skimpy side. That aside this compilation highlights just what a fantastic band the Pixies were and indeed how superior they were to ANY of today's bands. If you found the songs on any of the studio albums a little rough and ready (especially on Doolittle) then the 15 songs on this cd are much more polished and sound amazing. I'd nearly buy this album on the strength of the song 'Hey' taken from Doolittle alone. On that album it doesn't stand out but here it's simply one of the best songs ever, SERIOUSLY! Songs like 'There Goes my Gun', 'Levitate Me' and 'Letter to Memphis' also sound spectacular here. I've absolutely no hesitation in recommending this cd, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Brilliance, 15 July 2002
By 
Mr M E Leese (lLoughborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Quite simply, no Pixies album can emulate what they achieved in their live shows, not even 'Surfer Rosa,' which tried to. This, however, hints at their power. 'Thetre goes my gun,' an undemanding album track, suddenly bursts to life and breathes, gasping to rejoin its parents. The version of 'Wave of Mutilation is wondefully slow, 'Is she weird,' like most tracks ( bar 'Letter to Memphis,' which holds ground) gains something in the rawer the production, not to mention the simply awesome 'Hey.' How has this blinder been hidden from people so long? It builds beautifully, and if you would say it loses control on the live live version it is only as it is less aneasthetised than the studio version- make no mistake, this needs six stars- All in all, the Pixies benefit from the extra emotional scape they gain here, even at the loss of poorer production. BUY THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALWAYS PIXIES, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
All the irreverence and enjoyable experience of a fantastic 80's underground group joined in this special edition!!!! Of course I recommend, I always recommend Pixies Issues to all people!!!!Pixies always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
This was a BD present, which was well received. Great for any Pixies fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say?, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
Sweeeeeet album really love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine outing for the Pixies..., 22 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Pixies At The BBC (Audio CD)
This showed some superior versions of songs seen elsewhere. It has more refinement then surfer rosa, which was a bit rough around the edges, but also more energy then doolittle, which seems a little duller in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pixies at the BBC
Pixies at the BBC by Pixies (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews