Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The joint is jumpin'!
The Orchestra's 3rd album, best described in Brian's own words as 'rockabilly swing'. Stray Cats classic "Rock this town" gets a stunning new arrangement that will wear holes in any dancefloor, "This ole house" is clearly inspired by the Shakin' Stevens version but takes it in new directions. "Switchblade 327" is a classic Setzer Kustom...
Published on 7 Dec. 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
Having listened to the album a few times now I certainly cannot rate it as highly as other reviewers, for me there is something missing. It seems to lack passion and class. If you like this type of music - which I do - you can listen to it without being offended but there are better examples of the style.
Published on 28 Feb. 2009 by Steve F


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The joint is jumpin'!, 7 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
The Orchestra's 3rd album, best described in Brian's own words as 'rockabilly swing'. Stray Cats classic "Rock this town" gets a stunning new arrangement that will wear holes in any dancefloor, "This ole house" is clearly inspired by the Shakin' Stevens version but takes it in new directions. "Switchblade 327" is a classic Setzer Kustom Kool song, mixing hotrods and violence and painting a neo-50s word picture as only he does.
Oh yes, and Grammy winning performances on "Jump jive and wail" and "Sleepwalk" - although I prefer the version of the latter on the Stray Cats' "Choo Choo Hotfish".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 2 Feb. 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
This fantastic CD is the work of Brian Setzer. Until recently, Brian was most known for his work with the rockabilly band, the Stray Cats. However, Brian's first instrument was the euphonium, and he always dreamed of forming his own big band. Well, Brian had his chance, and who hasn't heard his smash-hit, Jump, Jive, An' Wail? This CD is a collection of thirteen of the Brian Setzer Band's best works, all harkening back to the age of Swing! Heck, there's even a Swing version of Rock This Town!
This is a great CD, one that will please anyone who likes that old and new Swing sound. I highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 reviews for a 2 million selling album????, 26 Dec. 2007
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
There's more reviews on Amazon.com of course (as that's American) but i am surprised that this cd has been out ten years (1998) and only 3,(now 4) people have bothered to review it! Why? This album is five stars from start to finish. 'This cat's on a hot tin roof' is just about as exciting as a song gets. Then 'The Dirty Boogie' does for swing what Lara Croft does for 'Tomb Raider'...in other words, it was meant to be. How can anyone not say that this isn't the best version of 'Sleepwalk' ever recorded? Apart from 'BSO live in Japan'! We didn't get the 'Gap commercial' in England but apparently 2 million Americans did! Therefore 'Jump, jive and wail' became a monster hit. The only minus on this incredible album is the big band treatment of 'Rock this town. Brian's 'Stray Cats' win that song hands down. But the pluses are so much it doesn't matter. 'Check out 'Switchblade 327' for some motoring guitar work...that's if you can bare to stop dancin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An very good cd with lots of great swing sounds, 15 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
If you like the sound of swing and big band music, you will definitely enjoy this album. Almost everyone has likely heard "Jump Jive an' Wail" from the infamous gap commercial and some of the songs are very reminiscent of that one. (The video for the song is ten times more energetic than the gap commercial and definitely inspired many a swing lesson.) There are also a few remakes of popular songs such as "Since I Don't Have You" and "Rock This Town" which was performed by Setzer's former band, The Stray Cats. This is a fun party cd as well as the tunes make everyone want to dance and hey - who wouldn't want to pretend they too are in a Gap commercial?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 28 Feb. 2009
By 
Steve F (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
Having listened to the album a few times now I certainly cannot rate it as highly as other reviewers, for me there is something missing. It seems to lack passion and class. If you like this type of music - which I do - you can listen to it without being offended but there are better examples of the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
I've been a hard rock/metal/punk fan since my teens (now a grumpy 40) but always had a fondness for a bit of rockabilly so I knew who Brian Setzer was and liked a bit of Stray Cats now and then.

My better half decided we'd start Lindy Hop lessons 6 months ago and to try and get into things a bit more (I wasn't known for my love of dancing) I took a punt on this. In those 6 months, I've hastily bought any BSO stuff I can get my hands on and have listened to very little else since. The combination of great swing/big band music with that lovely Gretsch guitar sound up front is a total winner for me! I love every BSO album I've bought but this one will always be my favourite as it was the first one I got....it's a bit of a bargain, too. My only regret is not discovering this years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BS - You're the Boss, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
The Dirty Boogie

So good - I bought it twice, one for me and one for the little woman.

The stray cats are all grown-up now, mix-in a twist of Louis Prima a dash of Duane Eddy and you have a happy, up-beat, rock 'n' swing cocktail worthy of 5 stars.

The cost of the album is worth paying just for the BSO version of "Nosey Joe", other standout tracks are; This cat..., Dirty Boogie, Jump, Jive & wail, Rock this Town & Switchblade,.... It was criminal that this album only reached No 34 in the UK charts.

Chronologically, this album is sandwiched between "Guitar Slinger" & "Vavoom", to me, these three albums are the holy trinity of the BSO collection: class, pure and simple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality fun, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Mark Somers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable and lively cd, great combination of spirited guitar playing with classic big band arrangements, quite a unique sound and great for in the car or while doing the dishes.
Setzer got me into playing Gretsch !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super present and well appreciated., 27 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
This was bought for a present and went down extremely well both by us because it was easy to buy through Amazon and a good price but also by the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirty Boogie (Audio CD)
Great Album. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirty Boogie
The Dirty Boogie by Brian Setzer (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews