Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2001
I was already a Change fan having purchased a couple of albums in their hayday of the early to mid eighties, but even I was suprised just how good many of the tracks sound today. Change may not be an artist all are familier with, most will be pleasantly surprised to unearth a classic and I mean CLASSIC from the past, of which there are at least 5 on this album, "Change of Heart" and "Searching" to name but two. Although in my opinion the quality dips in the middle of the cd the tracks either end will bring memories flooding back. Obvious comparisons are to be made with Chic but the tracks on this album have a harder edge with the same infectious groove. The tracks do evolve through the 80's from the early disco bias, with help from Luther Vandross through the Funk era and on to the mid eighties soul sound. I thought the later tracks, represented here by the brilliant "Lets go Together" were as good as their early work, proving Change to be one of the greatest acts of this genre of all time.
This is as good as funk gets, I have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2007
Change were a band incredibly well named. Their line up never seemed to stay the same from one album to the next. Despite this though the overall standard of a lot of their albums was high. Sadly however the first three tracks on this cd (all from their first album 'The Glow Of Love') are all 7" edits and NOT the full length versions which is a shame and a negative pointer for DJ's. 'Paradise' 'Hold Tight' and 'The Very Best In You' are all great classy dancers and most of the other tracks are pretty good too (Though 'Hard Times' and 'Don't Wait Another Night' were not Change's finest hour). Another minor complaint being the omission of the bands best ever ballad 'Sharing Your Love' but, if you are looking for a hits collection this will do you nicely. Buy this and then buy their excellent 'The Glow Of Love' and 'Miracles' albums too!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
If one band could out-do Chic its gotta be Change. A strange hybrid of Italian house mixed with the sound of New York, but it works to great effect and almost every track on this wonderful c.d is a classic in its own right - listen out for early Luthor V on some tracks - A must buy for any serious soul/dance fan and if you adore Chic, you'll flip with Change.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2005
Change made some outstanding tunes full of funk, soul & energetic rythmns. There's a nice selection on this compilation.
The Jam & Lewis classic "You are my melody" still sounds as good as it ever did. "Let's go together" is a good choice for the albums finale. I would've loved to have seen "Mutual Attraction" & "Oh what a feeling" on this collection, but you really cannot argue with the choices. Class stuff indeed
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
What a great CD - from start to finish it's a classy 80's funk CD that will still have you tappin' your feet to the tunes you grew up with.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
A good collection of tracks from the wonderful Change. The Glow of Love is just a wonderful classic anthem featuring the legendary Luther Vandross - Awesome.

Remember first hearing A Lover's Holiday at The Warehouse in Leeds and it just blew me away.

Other great tracks include Paradise - (who can resist dancing to this.) The Very Best In You, Change of Heart, Let's Go Togther.

Shows how Change changed from the initial album to the last. A must for all Change fans, only disappointment is the fab track Angel In My Pocket is not included. Buy it and I dare you to keep still.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
As a researcher of the music empire of Jacques Fred Petrus Change was the crown jewel in that empire that also included other great acts like The B. B. & Q. band, High fashion and Peter Jacques band. Let's start with a brief history of the band that could be nice to have before buying this record.

It all started in Italy in 1979 when the Guadeloupe born businessman and (executive) producer Jacques Fred Petrus (1949-1987) and his closest companion, the Italian mastermind musician Mauro Malavasi, decided to launch a new band after working together a couple of years (formed Goody Music Records around 1975). They decided to call their new project Change and released the debut album in 1980. The album became highly successful including five Grammy awards.

Right from the start Change was a merge between Europe and U.S.A. as Petrus and Malavasi used Italian musicians (Mauro Malavasi, Davide Romani and Paulo Gianolio among others) and American vocalists (Luther Vandross, Diva Gray and later James "Crabs" Robinson and Timmy Allen for example). It was the efforts of Luther Vandross on the debut album that made him one of the biggest names in soul music a couple of years later.

From the beginning Change was just a studio concept though, with several "Change" touring around America, but in 82 they got a more solid band structure. A studio concept or not Change made some really strong albums between 1980-1984 but after a poor release in 1985 they split up and Change was history. Jacques Fred Petrus was sadly murdered in 1987 at his home in his native country of Guadeloupe after an argument outside his club in Saint-Anne that got out of hand. Mauro Malavasi however, is today a successful songwriter and producer in Italy that been producing Andrea Bocceli and other great singers.

This lovely and brilliant CD, recorded in a superb and professional way with some generous liner notes, covers a tasteful mix of tracks from all their albums between 1980 and 1985, from the early disco influenced albums to the later much more R&B influenced ones. You can for example hear "A lover's holiday" and "Searching" from 1980, the smooth dance track "Hold tight" and Chic-like "Paradise" from 1981, the slick dance gem "The very best in you" from 1982 and the Jam/Lewis hits of "Change of heart" and "You are my melody" from 1984 (one of the best albums that year by the way).

The only downside is that the three tracks from the 1980 debut album are not full album versions, just single versions. Luckily though the rest of the tracks are full album versions. Despite that mistake this CD gives nonetheless an excellent introduction to Change for the never-heard-of-it persons and a comprehensive collection of their best music for the already convinced ones. But even if you like dance music the slightest little bit, try it out, you wont be disappointed!

Music is a universal language of peace!

(This review can also be seen at Amazon US)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2004
Nothing but the best of Change. All the tracks you remember like 'Glow of Love' to 'Best of You' and the very soulful 'Say You Love Me Again'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
Some describe the 80s period as a let down to black music with many tunes ending up in the "cheesy tune" genre on there mp3 players. For me Change although not on the scene for as long as other funk/soul bands made a big impact on clubbers in the
early part of the decade.By shuffling vocalists and the introduction of different musicians,the band kept things fresh for
the majority of there lifespan.The final aces were played in 1984 with the introduction of Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis with two
monster tracks "Change Of Heart" & "You Are My Melody". Although i already have all these tunes on Vinyl it was great to
stick it on the CD player and turn it up while having a Garden Party with my 40 something old funksters !

Buy it and take a trip down memory lane back to the 80's & mix it up with some Kleer,Cameo,Fatback,Slave,Brass Construction
and maybe a few beers - The 80's was great , enjoy this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2006
I remember Change from "back in the day", this CD sounds as good today as when the singles were released. I own most of the singles on Vinyl, and wanted to convert them to CD, why bother, when you can get something as good as this ready made. The best tracks for me are A lovers Holiday, searching, the glow of love, change of Heart, say you love me again and you are my melody. If you only buy one Change CD, buy this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)