Customer Reviews


29 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack of life, 10 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Bless the Weather (Audio CD)
I picked this album up second-hand in about 1980 because I remenbered seeing him on Whistle Test in the 70s. Shortly after that I met my partner (subsequently my husband) Dave who also proved to be a JM fan and this album and Solid Air became the background music to our courtship and life together. Quite often played for sentimental and slightly stoned reasons.... When Dave died earlier this year I played selected tracks at his funeral because it seemed appropriate to end as we began. A gorgeous gentle ramble of an album best appreciated in the company of like-minded souls. It instils a feeling of well-being in the listener and is well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best, 5 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless the Weather (Audio CD)
Stunning album whose power to evoke the time in which it was conceived grows stronger with each passing year. The songs are remarkably open and innocent, the playing sublime. It all floats by as though borne on a breeze ... Solid Air also has some nice things, but nothing to touch this one's glorious outpouring of light, hope and youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine "Must Have" Album, 4 Oct. 2008
By 
A. D. Thorne "DT" (Warfield, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bless The Weather (Audio CD)
This is one of the best nouveau folk albums of all time. Still fresh and meaningful in today's cynical times, with a range of beautiful songs, simply crafted with total integrity. This really is a must have album for anyone interested in quality songwriting, singing and musical craftsmanship.
It still inspires, enlightens and fills my heart everytime i hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised .....after all this time, 12 Oct. 2004
By 
MR Gil HOLMES (Brentwood, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bless the Weather (Audio CD)
I saw John Martyn live on a number of occasions as a student in Hull 1971-4. I always thought he was cool and very complete as a solo artist. I never actually bought his records at the time. However, living now in an era of reissues I bought Solid Air and Bless the Weather.No disappointments from either, but somehow this album has the edge. Glistening Glyndebourne... I expected this to be self indulgent but .. what a track. There are many gems in here and the album is, if you are in the right mood, totally inspiring and positive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bless the McGeachy, 27 July 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bless The Weather (Audio CD)
Iain David McGeachy, aka John Martyn, has left us a far bigger and more mixed legacy than his one time pal Nick Drake. 1971s Bless The Weather was his third solo album (after a couple with his then wife Beverly and a spell living in LA), and is described by allmusic.com as "a transitional effort". Nick Drake only got as far as three, ending his run with the truly sublime Pink Moon. For me, whilst I know what allmusic.com are getting at, this is his first properly authoritative masterwork, where he's found his own voice, both literally and more generally.

Bless The Weather is almost like a microcosm of Martyn's larger career, inasmuch as it's diverse and perhaps even somewhat varied in quality. But the best music herein is so good it's right off the scale. Tens stars wouldn't do it justice. Go Easy, using one of his most sonorous open-C tunings, is is one of my all time Martyn faves, and indeed, an all time favourite, period. Beck, a more contemporary eclectic experimentalist, has, to his great credit, covered this, showing excellent taste methinks! As well as Go Easy there are also a number of other gems, like the title track itself, May You Never (Martyn's best royalty generator, thanks to Clapton's version of it on Slowhand), and an exquisitely charming alt. tuning version of Singin' In The Rain.

There's such a wealth of musical treasure here I almost forgot to mention the soothing, calming beauty of Just Now (or Back Down The River, come to think of it). Considering what a troubled soul Martyn was - as is mentioned in the liner notes, he strove to live the intense life of the archetypical jazz artist (and combined an unhealthy lifestyle fuelled by drugs and booze with a healthy disrespect for musical categories) - he sure knew how to make mellow soul balm music. When it comes to the bluesier side of Martyn's output, or the textural guitar improv, there are tracks like Sugar Lump and Glistening Glyndebourne. These aren't my favourites tracks on this superb album, but they're still extremely good (also I feel he's done this sort of thing better elsewhere).

A very diverse and varied set, but considering how mindblowing the best stuff on this disc is, undoubtedly a five star affair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on par with solid air, 29 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bless the Weather (Audio CD)
this cd is like a wonderful dream.with john at his coolest folk-jazzy voice.with acoustic guitar intro on the first track go easy,& that's the way this disc goes.with john's long time companion danny thompson on bass,his playing is a constinant throughout this cd.there is not a bad track on this cd.from the stoney bless the weather,the bluesy sugar lump,the precussion on the love song head & heart,the harmonies of then wife beverly on let the good things come,to the instrumental jamming on glistening glyndebourne,the comedown on singing in the rain.quite a trip.thanks john
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at 3 pounds buy it now, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless The Weather (Audio CD)
If you are reading this and the price is still 2.99 UKP then dont hesitate, actually dont hesitate at any price, this is Martyn at the peak of his art, with songs like "head and heart" and "bless the weather", this is better than any best of, best ofs by Martyn seem to me a very bad place to start listening to him and one of them prevented me from years of enjoying his music, each record by Martyn is a special adventure and captures his art at a certain moment and a certain state of mind, and trying to pin different records into one cd mostly fail (although I thought that John Martyn So Far So Good - Blue Label UK vinyl LP ILPS9484 vinyl had one consistent side), but then it was taken from 3 records ca. this time), Ok fine I am wasting your time, just buy this cd if you have even the slightest interrest in Martyn or folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Bless The Weather", an album to quell those storm clouds, 2 April 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bless The Weather (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1971 "Bless The Weather" was, according to the extensive sleeve notes included with this version of the album, recorded very quickly and spontaneously. That's a surprise, as the music feels meticulously crafted, as if a great deal of time and love has been spent on it. I suppose that's what great musicians can do. Consummate performers such as Danny Thompson from Pentangle who played bass, Richard Thompson and Tony Reeves from Colosseum contribute noticeably. The most obvious impact is Danny Thompson whose double bass and jazz influences permeate the album and he was to go on and become a long time collaborator of Martyns.
Though a product of a burgeoning folk scene Martyn was always keen to infiltrate other musical styles and influences into his music and "Bless the Weather" sees him, as well the jazz nuances, percolate experimentation with electronics into his songs. However two truly stunning more traditional folk tracks open the album. Both "Go Easy "and the title track are impeccably arranged with some wonderful performances and Martyns simple yet effectively poignant voice. "Sugar Lump" is a looser jazz composition and comes as a bit of a shock after the incrementally lovely openers , it's verging on the honky tonk rhythms don't really work for me . It seems awkward and out of place but not to worry because the following song "Walk To The Water" underpinned by some languid bongo and piano is reflective and poised. More carefully sprinkled notes of piano and artful brushes of guitar dominate the beautiful and reflective "Just Now" which leads to the albums superb centrepiece "Head And Heart" a love song of stunning escalating power with some perfect hand percussion and twanging double bass. "Let The Good Things Come" has eerie vocal backing courtesy, I think, of his wife Beverly and some expertly picked acoustic guitar. "Back Down The River" is another lovely simple lilting folk number but "Glistening Glynebourne" an evocative instrumental sees Martyn playing his guitar through the echoplex over dappled motes of piano and some rough and tumble percussion. There follows a short prissy version of "Singin, In The Rain" which leaves me cold, as rain is wont to do.
The extra tracks are different takes on previous numbers. These are generally unembellished, just recorded with guitar, bass and percussion and are starker obviously, but do seem to lack the intensity and emotional depth of the versions proper. The "Band version" of "Head And Heart" feature an extended instrumental intro and clocks in at over ten minutes which even for a song as gorgeous as this is pushing it a bit. An extra song "May You Never" which was released as a single to general indifference and cropped up later on "Solid Air" is the last track , featuring some half hearted saxophone and a sloppy melody , it's easy to see why it failed as a single. It's an album track, and not a very good one at that.
Martyn, like Roy Harper, is a much revered artist who I have only recently discovered. "Bless The Weather" is a very fine album which falls just short of being an essential classic , but it's the sort of album people will cherish for it's smoky intimacy, wonderful mix of songs ( generally) and Martyns pristine unaffected voice. And the albums best songs remain with you for days, imbibing you with a cosy comfortable feeling. In fact just what you need when things aren't going your way and the storm clouds are gathering. "Bless The Weather" is a warm hazy summer day of an album and everyone likes those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
David Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bless The Weather (Audio CD)
This is a seminal album of 1971 that was born in the time when an explosion of new musical styles was evolving, and this is one of those styles. There was nothing like John Martin before John Martin. This is a beautiful and enagaging album that hasn't aged one bit across the years. Its an album that has influenced dozens of famous musicians over the years but has rarely been copied as its difficult to do so.

It is a shame John has passed away, but he has left us a marvelous musical legacy in this and a host of other classic albums, but this was a landmark with a style of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bless him., 9 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bless the Weather (Audio CD)
Amazing album from mr martin.. Bless the weather is as good as solid air, listening to them in succession (bless the weather first, then solid air straight after) is the ultimate j.martin experience for me. especialy when its raining outside and you have a cup of tea in one hand and a smoke in the other.. mmmmmmmm :)
bless the weather an solid air are similar vibe compared to his later stuff which has more of an 80s feel, so if you want that folk style buy it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bless the Weather
Bless the Weather by John Martyn (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews