Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2000
Profoundly entertaining, Cabaret outshines every musical ever! It is fun and dangerously catchy, but has sinister undertones of Nazi Germany's dark political influence, as it is set in 1930s Berlin. The tales it tells, the songs the wonderful characters sing; they are sexy, seedy, depressing, uplifting and stirring, but ALWAYS with a point. Almost every song relates to the issues in 1930s Nazi Germany. 'Money' is about inflation, 'If You Could See Her' is about German-Jewish relationships being outcast from society, and 'Two Ladies' reflects the sexual promiscuity of the time. The actors/singers are truly unique and talented-Alan Cumming (The Emcee) forever changes our views of normality and abnormality, not only singing marvellously, but enchanting us with every part of his dirty charisma. Natasha Richardson (Sally Bowles) gives a memorable and inspiring performance, leaving you with a chill in your ear. Cabaret captures the saccharin happiness, made by the Berliners to deny the gnarly (sur)reality of what was happening at the time, and turns it into a series of wonderful songs, full of emotion and humour. So, if you enjoy musicals, history, glamour, sexuality, debauchery, anything 1930s, and a story to die for, then you're wasting time reading this review-buy the CD now! I guarantee you, CABARET will positively change your life.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
A tough act to follow but the new cast bring it to life once again with Cumming having enough energy to cope with the baggage of having to follow the remarkable Joel Grey (the re-imagining of Money is brilliant). Natasha Richardson allows you to rethink the character. Was Minnelli almost too good to play the part? Excellent all round soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I ordered this DVD thinking it would be interesting to hear Natasha Richardson (RIP) sing... I was blown away by how beautiful her voice actually was... if you like musicals you will LOVE the 1998 Broadway cast recording of Cabaret and I would HIGHLY recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I realy do not like comparing this version with the two earlier recorded versions and or the many live shows that made it under the radar like the one at Casa Manyana in Fort Worth, Texas. But except for first time buyers the comparison may be important. Every one will have a favorite. The first is usually the standard by which the others are measured. And for those that grew up with Lisa Minnelli it is hard to imagine another Sally until this version was made. Some call this more real and dramatic not thinking that so were the others for their time. Even the son mix changes with the version.
The most striking difference is with the song "Tomorrow Belongs to Me". The original Broadway version was cut down but has a great impact as the waiters joined in. The movie was even more dramatic as not only did it start out with one lad (a great solo by the way) then the tempo builds up as others join in to give an ominous feel. This version loses much of the original charm and threat. However its harshness fits perfectly into the balance of the play. So I must say that as stand alone music this is not my favorite.
The pamphlet that comes with the CD is 18 pages of pictures from the play. There is a cast list and a list of Musical numbers. The lyric to the songs are in order of play. This helps with the German parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This production equals anything from the Donmar. Amusing Spooky and very tense in all the right places. Excellent. I would certainly recommend this. The contemporary references are very clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Excellent CD.Captures perfectly what Cabaret is all about, and the cast is stellar! A must-have for musical theatre lovers! Perfectly MARVELLOUS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
not as good as film, my fault, made a mistake with the order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
As good as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Great production
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)