Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude!
This is simply a masterpiece. Crop circle sets an extremely high standard as opener, and not a single track fails to meet that standard. I cannot really classify the style of this album as anything other than biker-dope-rock. The riffs are excellent throughout and combined with the superb production they make an atmosphere that no other album can. The lyrics are worth...
Published on 23 Nov 2001 by unclelester

versus
4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have split up after 'Dopes to Infinity'!
I've been a Monster Magnet fan since their very early stuff on Glitterhouse Records, but this album sucks (as do their subsequent ones)!

Its just not heavy enough and there's too big a departure from the Hawkwind/Sabbath/Stoner Rock template - it just sounds weak.

Wolfmother proved that they could do a successful homage to big dumb 70s Stoner Rock...
Published on 29 Jun 2008 by MG Metcalfe R. Sperry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dude!, 23 Nov 2001
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
This is simply a masterpiece. Crop circle sets an extremely high standard as opener, and not a single track fails to meet that standard. I cannot really classify the style of this album as anything other than biker-dope-rock. The riffs are excellent throughout and combined with the superb production they make an atmosphere that no other album can. The lyrics are worth listening to as well, always bizarre and sometimes profound. It is a diverse album with the heavier songs like Powertrip, the more melodic and insightful ballads Baby Gotterdamerung and Your Lies Become You, the sinister, atmospheric and entirely instrumental Goliath and the Vampires, the plain doped out rock that makes you want to shout "Get down!" like Bummer and See You in Hell and the songs which just plain rule. Defintely Monster Magnet's best album, i can't believe they aren't more well known in the UK when they are producing music of this standard. A must buy, if you like anything from the world of rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cashing Satan's cheques, indeed, 10 Sep 2004
By 
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
Whilst many other stoner albums (including some of Monster Magnet's back catalogue) often seem repetitive, self-indulgent and somewhat uninspired, Powertrip sees the standard reset. Whilst sticking firmly to their rock/sci-fi/stoner roots, Dave Wyndorf and co have created a highly original album that is immediately accessible to fans of many styles of music, the main reason being that Dave knows how to write a good song. Whether it's a drug-fuelled epic (Bummer), a total out-and-out barnburner (Powertrip) or contemplative soulful number (Baby Gottedamerung), I can guarantee you will be humming the tune for weeks to come. The sheer originality of this album had me listening to it time and time again, and I normally bore easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Freakout!!!, 26 Nov 2000
By 
PG Henn (Basildon, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
It's a VERY, VERY rare thing that you hear an album which, on first listen blows your mind and gets better every time. Powertrip is one such album. Opening with the chugging "Crop Circle", the band (led by the mercurial Dave Wyndorf) unleash what has to be one of the greatest records....EVER. Songs of psychadelic energy "Space Lord", insane grooves "Bummer" and serious rock'n'roll FUN! (The Rest), "Powertrip" kicks you in the head and makes love to your soul-At The Same Time. Yeah, some say Magnet are Stoner, but this albums got WAAAY too much energy! Seriously psychadelic, sounding like every great band of the last 30 years whilst, crucially sounding like no-one else at all.Full of extra-heavy (In an old school way!) guitar and laced with lashings of groove, This album has been an essential part of my life for the last 2 and a half years. Make it part of yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Lord landing, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
In a decade better remembered for the rise and fall of grunge and the birth of nu-metal, this gigantic slab of unapologetically overblown sleaze-rock stuck out like a leather cod-piece amongst all the plaid-shirted relics and sportswear-clad jocks of the time. The New Jersey group's fourth album proper, Powertrip was a veritable feast of crotch-thrusting anthems and tongue-in-cheek egomania that finally propelled the band into the big league, leading to high profile support slots with Marilyn Manson and Aerosmith - as well as an incendiary performance at the Big Day Out in 1999.

Up until this point, Monster Magnet had been the archetypal stoner rock band, famed as much for spiking their audiences with hallucinogenic drugs as their addictive blend of Sabbath-esque riffs and 60s psychedelia. But following a series of fairly low key releases, Dave Wyndorf - frontman, Space Lord and self-styled `Bullgod' - decided to relocate to Las Vegas, where he penned the entire record. Previous effort, 1995's Dopes to Infinity, had spawned the ultra-catchy, Beavis and Butthead-endorsed hit, 'Negasonic Teenage Warhead', but this one really had it all. Colossal riffs, song-writing suss -- and a lyrical content that pointed to the fact that Wyndorf was not only someone who walked it like he talked it, but genuinely believed in rock `n' roll as the saviour of mankind. "I'm never gonna work another day in my life" he roared on the title track, seemingly without a trace of irony. On the album's opener, meanwhile, he demanded that listeners "Come to me, I'm your living crop circle, yeah!"

Musically, Powertrip marked a significant departure from the lo-fi stoner metal fare of earlier albums, taking the band in a far more commercially viable direction. While the band's trademark groove remained very much in tact, guitarist Ed Mundell's savage riffing was now coupled with some hugely danceable beats, and the whole thing was treated to a slick production job courtesy of Matt Hyde. Even the less bombastic tracks, the introspective 'Baby Gotterdammerung' and prescient closer, 'Your Lies Become You', sounded totally convincing and Powertrip was hailed by many as a modern masterpiece upon its original release in 1998.

Unfortunately, with their follow-up, 2000's God Says No, and 2004's largely forgettable Monolithic Baby! Monster Magnet failed to secure the universal acclaim Powertrip looked to set to bring them. But as far as big, bold, unreconstructed rawk music goes, any band would be hard pushed to top this, and as such it surely deserves a place in every rock fan's record collection.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Space Lords deliver cosmic record, 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
Monster Magnet's 1998 release Power Trip clearly heralds the arrival of a more produced and polished sound. Nevertheless, the leather-clad crew stay true to their roots, maintaining as they do the hard rock backdrop coated with psychedelic sprinklings and spaced jams borrowed from the likes of classic 70s space rockers Hawkwind. This is also the biggest commercial success for Dave Wyndorf and the boys to date, selling well over 2 million copies world wide. I must say after many years of good records and touring, Monster Magnet (name taken from a Frank Zappa track entitled Son of Monster Magnet ) deserve the success they are now enjoying along with a fantastic wave of other so called "Stoner Rock" bands such as Fu Manchu and Queens of the Stone Age and large amount of hype surrounding the Genre.
Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on, 29 April 2004
By 
Paul Simpson (Penkridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
You are only likely to buy any Monster Magnet album if you have already heard their music, but what a waste. This album truly represents theirstyle of pure rock. In my opinion, they are the Led Zep of today, andthey rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another MM classic, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
This album, I believe their latest, is by no means any less excellent than their earlier realeases such as Dopes to Infinity, etc. In a word its just GREAT, but it has more to it than that, it really is a good listen. The music on Powertrip switches between hard core MM rock, to a slightly slower, and to a degree calmer rock in songs such as Atomic Clock - and although not my one of my persoanl favs, still a great song! I didn't feel their were any songs that really let down the album, always a good thing, tho there were of course some tracks better than others - altho I preferred some over others I love them all! My particlar favs on this have to be Space Lord and Temple of your Dreams as they capture the essence of the best of Monster Magnet's music and are listenable to over and over again. If you've heard any past MM you'll love Powertrip too, but its also great for anyone whos hasn't heard them before as well - you can't help but like it! It will appeal a great deal to anyone who's a fan of Nine Inch Nails or Stone Temple Pilots, my pal was and he's a fan of both of the above! My recommendation - get this now! Great rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalyptic Metal For True Hearted Rockers, 28 Feb 2001
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
Simply awe-inspiring uncompromising genius. Gooseflesh-causing all the way. Do yourself a favour and listen to the album straight through. Like a novel it deserves this treatment - well produced AND kick-ass ! Revolutionary rock and unexpected, like ELECTRIC by the Cult in the 80s, another album that blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster Magnet are Powertrippin' - Timeless quality rock!, 9 Nov 2010
By 
River (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
Released in 2001, this is a timeless piece of Rock that stands the test of time! People who get to hear them keep asking me who they are. Having heard one of their most famous songs myself, namely, 'Space Lord' (off this CD), and having, most definitely been blown away by that, I looked them up. With Amazon's preview listening facility I liked what I heard enough to buy the whole CD. I wasn't disappointed. If you're into Rock from Black Sabbath and beyond, you owe it to yourself to have this as part of your collection.

From the forceful opener of Crop Circle, this is a lesson in ROCK of the heavier kind. The next song 'Powertrip' reeks of attitude and has humourous lyrics without being meaningless. This is a common theme for Monster Magnet songs anyway, the sort of glint in your eye humour while making a relevant point. "I'm never gonna work another day in my life...God's told me to relax...and said I'm gonna be fixed up right." 'Space Lord' is another prime example with the words..."when I don't get my bath I take it out on the slaves...so grease up your baby for a ball on the hill...". Perhaps not everyone's cup of tea, but definitely humorous.

I also love the mellow mix of acoustics before the electrics and all the rest come in like fireworks exploding overhead. This is indeed 12 songs made of the most powerful witches' brew. Speaking of which, there's even a song called '19 witches' and I'm sure they had something to do with the creation of these songs ;-) The 19 witches song has an amazing surf-rock feel on account of the reverb drenched guitar sound and playing style (mixed with other guitar sounds) but still with Monster Magnet's impeccable flavour. They end with a calm 'Your lies become you' which is about the only calm song on this CD. It is really good however, with a feeling that is hard to describe, but melancholy and searching would be two words that come to mind. It really illustrates that this band can do more than rock your socks off but the main recipe on this record is diesel fuelled rock to drive that truck down the road with relentless aim. But yes, they end with this calm song which is like a beautiful sunset to a great hectic day.

Monster Magnet may be described as a one trick pony by some (unfairly I would say and completely missing the point) but what they do, they do just about better than anyone else. The bottomline is, this is a quality record with QUALITY SONGS and at the end of the day, that's all that really matters. If it grips you, it'll take you on a whirlwind ride and you'll be smiling wide while trying to hold on...not unlike your favourite fair ride but much, MUCH more dangerous and speedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You like heavy riffs? look no further., 3 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Powertrip (Audio CD)
This wasn't Kerrang album of the year 1998 for nothing. There is no other way to describe this other than heavy. Don't be put off by that though 'cos its musical as well. This isn't anything like that nu-metal stuff. Its very old school and reminisent of Black Sabbath. I've got most of their albums (Monster Magnet) and I reckon this is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Powertrip
Powertrip by Monster Magnet (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews