Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naughty , naughty , very naughty
I'm not too impressed with the second CD with the suspect remixes , the first CD however is brilliant . They were not just a dance group the Shamen , they have some good rock style songs in this album , and in some of the songs the lyrics really are good thought provoking messages and themes . This is a best of album with all their greats and some songs I had never heard...
Published on 19 May 2003 by Mr. D. Mccluskey

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but not the best of The Shamen
A "best of" album that does not include any tracks from their two earlier albums is not really a "best of". This release serves its purpose for those that discovered the Shamen when "Ebeneezer Goode" and "Boss Drum" were relaeased and gained chart success. But for those of us who remember The Shamen from the late 80's with such glorious albums as "In Gorbachev We Trust"...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by Mr. Robert P. Kane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naughty , naughty , very naughty, 19 May 2003
By 
Mr. D. Mccluskey "Danny McCluskey" (Sun Soaked Kilmarnock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
I'm not too impressed with the second CD with the suspect remixes , the first CD however is brilliant . They were not just a dance group the Shamen , they have some good rock style songs in this album , and in some of the songs the lyrics really are good thought provoking messages and themes . This is a best of album with all their greats and some songs I had never heard of , but turned out to be better than their better known songs . A must have for fans of Ebeneezer Goode etc and fans of the Old School dance scene . Great price also ; considering it's a best of and it's on two CD's .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Can still move any mountain!, 15 July 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
Im sure most people around my age can remember "The Shamen" from such classics like "Move any Mountain" and "Ebenezer Goode". The shamen had their unique style that you just ended up singing along to even if you didnt really like their music :)
This cd has all their tracks which includes "LSI, Phorever People, Boss Drum and their first hit Hyperreal".
What sets this apart from just being an old classic is the second cd which boasts remixes of their songs in the form of "Alternative, House, Acid and Drum & Bass mixes by famous DJs. If you love the Shamen then this really should be in your collection by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its OK but not the best of The Shamen, 11 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. Robert P. Kane "robkane" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
A "best of" album that does not include any tracks from their two earlier albums is not really a "best of". This release serves its purpose for those that discovered the Shamen when "Ebeneezer Goode" and "Boss Drum" were relaeased and gained chart success. But for those of us who remember The Shamen from the late 80's with such glorious albums as "In Gorbachev We Trust" and "Phorward" as opposed to the commerical Shamen stuff shorn of its hardcore edge this "Best Of" is to be avoided.

Its only saving grace is the inclusion of the superb Omega Amigo, but as I said, where are the real Shamen classics ? "Synergy" "Reraptyouare" "Jesus Loves Amerika" and the astonishing "Transcendental".

This is a disappointing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surprise gem., 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
I was pleasantly surprised by how good, and fresh this album sounded. I was of course looking forward to hearing the well know stuff again, and that was as expected, if a little better. However, it was the rest of the album the was even more interesting. Lots of great depth and production. A real surprise gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
Excellent quality for second hand cd, good price and reasonably fast delivery for the price of postage, well worth paying 20p to keep my other half happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So strong, keep coming on..., 14 July 2013
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
Excellent collection which more than compensates for lack of material from the first two albums (the glass is full, not half empty!) The bonus remix disc is (a few weak moments aside) pretty damn good, & there's only a couple of duds on the hits side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
Loved the Shamen and this brings together all there chart successes. The mixes are decent too!!

It is said you should never get back with an ex it's never the same!! There is a little of that with this,, good but not the mind blowingly, earth moving tour de force I remembered. All the idealism, experimentation feeding my head must have played it's part . Great value take a trip down memory lane then buy Hempton manor a much more contemporary timeless offering from the Shamen...if the truth can be told so that it can be understood it will be believed ... Pity Terrance McKenna missing check himout on u tube wow I forgot how mad a time it was.... Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, happy, fun. Great if you like being happy., 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
I hope that you appreciate my rhetoric there.
If you need a bit of energy while you work, play or reproduce (which I'm given to understand is a mix of both), this is great. There is a hint of the 80s roots of the band but just a hint! Otherwise, this is a tour de force of (pilled up?) club positivity.
If I've anything against it then it's only philosophical and probably not approriate here - being plain happy isn't always enough for some of us!
If you've heard the Boss Drum album and like it, you'll like this!
This is a title I'm very pleased to have in my collection and will continue to play and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luv' it!, 19 Dec 2003
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
You gotta love the Shamen, they bring a big grin to your face and their beats just make you shuffle up those feet. Most people know them for Mr C's cheeky chap rapping on Ebeneezer Goode, but the track that first flagged them up for me was Move any Mountain, a bouncy bubble of positivity that makes me dance every time I hear it. Both are included on this jumbo collection of hits and bits which has just about all the tracks that you need. Enough to satisfy the people who just want a good introduction to the Shamen anyway. Get your mitts on it now before it vanishes from the shelves. I'm off to listen to it again! ;-) Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHOONN!!, 10 Oct 2014
By 
JONATHAN COOPER (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shamen Collection (Audio CD)
This is pure excellence. They don't don't make 'em like this anymore. I reckon some of these tracks would give some modern artists a run for their money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shamen Collection
The Shamen Collection by Shamen (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews