Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yello - gloriously quirky 80's pop/electronica, 27 Jun 2009
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
the other amazon review i feel under sells the importance of how great the the swiss electronica duo Yello actually were.. this cd collection of tracks from yes 1980-85 is firstly - great fun bristling with more ideas than other "pop" acts manage in 20 - 30 years careers (as mentoned in one of their other cd reviews on amazon)than yes mainstream stalwarts :basement jaxx, tiesto, coldplay, oasis, could ever imagine .and yes this collection towers over 80's electronic acts: erasure,omd,pet shop boys, if not kraftwerk of course (although i much prefer Yello to them). intelligence and eclecticism is at work here a-plenty. marvellous!

styles used by Yello on this cd include : cha-cha (Pinpall Cha-cha),swing (thats jazz to you),moody/ironic noir (the Evening's Young),euphoric (the quite brilliant Angel No),proto-acid (I Love You) and yes great inventive ironic pop. most famous track :The Race isn't included here but most tracks surpass that anyway. buy in the confidence you may smile,dance and have yr ideas of what "mainstream" pop can do.

marvellous,funny,inventive, electronic pop !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yellow cd, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
This band have many cds but in my opinion this is the best one. Its very hard to describe I would call it funky electro pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Yello, 31 May 2013
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
This was my first Yello album, and you should make it yours too. And even if you have some of the standard Yello albums, you should still consider it. It includes all of the best tracks from the groups first three or four albums, but several of them are the far superior versions that have come from editing the 12" mix single versions. Yello were quite an experimental synth group, so the regular albums have great ides and production, but the songs can be rather arrhythmic at times. However on the 12" single releases the duo push for a more commercial/danceable sound. And for me that makes them better! So, you get the fantastic souped up madness of "PinBall Cha Cha" and "Vicious Games" and "I Love You", etc. instead of the limper album versions. The collection focuses on the singles, but includes the more accessible album tracks, like "Angel No" (using female vocals - Rush Winters - is another aspect I like), "Domingo" and of course the collection includes the rather more famous "Oh Yeah" as well.

Some of the songs are mixed together, which put me off a bit, but its not the case with the whole album. Still, the versions here are not as long as the original vinyl versions - the original 12" of "Vicious Games" is nearly 7 minutes long - but all the edits are done well, and anyway, the selection is miles better then the so-called "Essential Yello" album, which has too many lame singles from the later years. Personally I think Yello peaked by the time they released "One Second" in 1987 (sadly too late too have anything featured on here).

Anyone interested in Yello should most certainly buy this album, as it's well worth the price, and treasure it. The only way I would replace this would be with an album called "Yello - The Full 12" mixes 80 to 85"...that would be awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good retrospective, 7 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
Although populated for the most part by remixes, this is still a good retrospective on Yello's major works and gives the listener in a single collection (double album on vinyl) a consumable potted history. As remixes they're not heavily changed by any means. 'Desire', for example, merely has a subtle and slightly more complex backbeat on it. Perhaps 'Tweaks' would be a more appropriate title. An album to enjoy in the car, perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, good actor and good quality item., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
Good music, good actor and good quality item. It is a CD that every fan must to have. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
Bought this for my other's half's birthday and he says it's a great collection. All his favourites are on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Jun 2013
By 
R. Smerdon "robs-shop" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go (Audio CD)
Echo other reviewers. never has there been such marvelously inventive music/musicians. A must-have for anyones' collection; Feeling down? Play a Yello track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
By 
M. Henson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go
Yello, 1980-1995: The New Mix in One Go by Yello (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews