Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All bar one
I agree wholeheartedly with all the other reviewers here: A luxurious singles album that contains just about everything one could want from a Roy Wood career retrospective. The only omission is the single '10538 Overture' from Roy's brief time with ELO, which may be due to copyright issues (although it was issued on the EMI/Harvest label like the Wizzard sides that are...
Published on 3 Oct 2008 by J. J. R. Isaac

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
I love some of the tracks, which are classics. However, there is some dross too! The classics make the album worth the purchase and take me back to my teens!
Published 11 months ago by Shankleygates


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All bar one, 3 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
I agree wholeheartedly with all the other reviewers here: A luxurious singles album that contains just about everything one could want from a Roy Wood career retrospective. The only omission is the single '10538 Overture' from Roy's brief time with ELO, which may be due to copyright issues (although it was issued on the EMI/Harvest label like the Wizzard sides that are included here). But that's not enough to dock the album a star. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Mr Wood, 2 Feb 2005
By 
M. Maguire "greyhound2008" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
This is a terrific twenty-one compilation for Roy Wood fans. All the best early "Move" hits through to the sensational "Wizzard" tracks. An absolute MUST-BUY. If you like Roy Wood - you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish it could be Christmas every day, 7 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
Roy Wood first achieved success as a member of the Move, a typical British pop group of the late sixties who had success with such songs as Flowers in the rain, Blackberry way, Fire brigade, Night of fear, I can hear the grass grow (all huge UK chart hits) and other excellent songs. The first ten tracks on this compilation are by the Move.
This group evolved into the Electric Light Orchestra, but Roy only recorded one album with ELO, after which he quit and formed his own group, Wizzard, which had significant UK chart success in 1973 and 1974 with their brand of glam rock music.
Wizzard started their run of hits with Ballpark incident, a top ten hit. They had two British number one hits, See my baby jive and Angel fingers, plus two other big hits - Rock and roll winter and Are you ready to rock.
The song Wizzard (and Roy Wood) will forever be remembered actually peaked at number four. It is, of course, the classic song I wish I could be Christmas everyday, perhaps the finest Christmas rock song of them all. It features a children's choir used effectively and well and is frequently included on UK Christmas compilations along with those other perennial Christmas rock songs by Slade, John Lennon, Mud, Shaking Stevens, Cliff Richard, Paul McCartney and others. Because of that, there cannot be anybody in Britain of school age or above who has not heard the song.
Roy also recorded some excellent solo songs, particularly Dear Elaine and Forever. This compilation serves as an excellent overview of Roy's career. The Move and Wizzard were both excellent groups but this compilation contains all the essentials of both groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De dum De Dum De Dum, 1 Nov 2007
By 
A. Brighty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
Sometimes I think it's criminal that Roy Wood is so often overlooked. The bloke was an absolute master in capturing what was appealing to the discerning ear at the time. Whether it be Phil Spector-like productions, visual imagery, Beach Boy harmonys or the seemingly obligatory 'De dum De Dum De Dum' part in most of the Wizzard tunes.
Haven't got enough good things to say about this collection. It's not only the Beatles who had the kahunas to write such imaginative stuff coupled with some quality chord progressions. Throw in one of the 60's finest middle-eights from Fire Brigade, and it's perfect pop.
God bless ya Woody mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Paul (Middlesex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
So many classic songs on one CD. What's not to like ? All of Roy Wood's best are on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic our Morris, 2 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
A blinding collection of one of the most under acknowledged singer/songwriters in recent music history. It contains the best of his well known 70's hits,"Fire Brigade", the horn fest that is " Ball Park Incident", and also to the sublime "Curly". In a nutshell buy it and you will never have a dull arse party again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
as you `Wood` expect !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars roy wood, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
I love this cd! It takes me back to my school days .All the tracks are fab and I play it constantly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
I bought this for my husband, well worth it, great tunes. They may be old songs but would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROY IN TOP FORM, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roy Wood Singles (Audio CD)
ALL HIS HITS ARE FIRST CLASS BUT I WISH IT COULD BE CHRISTMAS EVERDAY IS MY NO1 I CAN SAY BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roy Wood Singles
Roy Wood Singles by Roy Wood (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews