Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great... and not so great
Strange pairing this - possibly Wishbone's finest album lumped together with almost certainly their worst. There's the Rub was their first studio album after Laurie Wisefield replaced Ted Turner, and is an absolute stunner from start to finish. The band sound rejuvenated after the rather tentative Wishbone 4 as they tear through flat-out rockers (Don't Come Back, Silver...
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by Mick the Hat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange pairing
There's The Rub marked the end of the classic Wishbone era. Laurie Wisefield had yet to have an influence on the band's writing and performance, and the album retains the hallmarks of quintessential "Ash" - dramatic & epic music derived from British medieval themes.
Pairing this with Locked In is mystifying - it's hardly the same band, and Wisefield's increasing...
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by taiaha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange pairing, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
There's The Rub marked the end of the classic Wishbone era. Laurie Wisefield had yet to have an influence on the band's writing and performance, and the album retains the hallmarks of quintessential "Ash" - dramatic & epic music derived from British medieval themes.
Pairing this with Locked In is mystifying - it's hardly the same band, and Wisefield's increasing contribution inexorably redirected the band towards producing rather lame, soporific AOR - presumably aimed at the American FM radio market. Wishbone's weakest characteristic has always been their vocals - Martin Turner was never the strongest singer - and they relied very much on the choral approach. The addition of Wisefield did nothing to improve the situation. It's probably not surprising that subsequently their best album is 'Nouveau Calls' - all instrumentals with the original line-up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two quite different records on one CD, 14 Mar 2002
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Many critics think that Wishbone Ash's finest hour was the 1972 album 'Argus' and thereafter they went downhill, which is perhaps a little unfair. 'There's The Rub' is a well written and well-produced album (Bill Szymczyk is the highly-regarded producer who also worked with the Eagles on Hotel California). The playing is also as good as anything on their previous albums. 'Locked In' utilizes the skills of producer Tom Dowd who is more associated with the records of soul artists, and the overall sound is different to TTR, a little funkier and with more of a groove (although I think the material is generally weaker). One important criticism of this band, notable on the two albums included here is that although they were excellent instrumentalists, the vocal offerings are very weak indeed, particularly on 'Locked In'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great... and not so great, 31 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Strange pairing this - possibly Wishbone's finest album lumped together with almost certainly their worst. There's the Rub was their first studio album after Laurie Wisefield replaced Ted Turner, and is an absolute stunner from start to finish. The band sound rejuvenated after the rather tentative Wishbone 4 as they tear through flat-out rockers (Don't Come Back, Silver Shoes) cosmic folk (Lady Jay, Persephone) and extended jams (FUBB). Strong songwriting, inspired playing and great production combine to make this a stone-cold classic... But what happened? Locked In was only recorded the following year and is, quite frankly, a mess. With weak songs, dreadful tinny production and an almost total absence of their trademark lead guitar interplay, they sound like a band at the end of their tether. Thankfully it turned out to be merely a blip, and Wishbone came back the following year with the very good New England. So, 5 stars for There's the Rub - minus one for Locked In.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The High and The Low..., 25 July 2007
By 
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Hmmm, I remember being very worried at the time of Ted Turner's departure from the band, fearing the end of the finest twin guitar sound in rock music at the time, but when Laurie Wisefield stepped up to the plate, at least on There's The Rub, my fears were quietly allayed as he demonstrated himself to be a gifted and versatile player and an ideal partner for Andy Powell. The album, although written with Ted, seemed to suite Wisefield's style, and throughout the six tracks the two guitars blend seamlessly, particularly on Lady Jaye, Hometown and the superb F.U.B.B. (yes, we all know the acronym by now!) Don't Come Back is the only let down, but regardless of this slightly throwaway number, the playing across the album is quite superb, with Martin Turner and Steve Upton never sounding better or tighter behind the trademark twin guitars.
Bill Szymczyk's production is flawless, giving the album a really bright and upfront sound and bringing out the very best in the band, and suggested a great future for them across the water as well as at home. I'd give it 5 stars if it was a stand alone, but........

The spark is simply not there for (or with) Tom Dowd on Locked In. He seems to be trying to produce a Muscle Shoals soul album from the efforts of a rather lacklustre rock band, and it just sounds like everything is imploding.
The material is tired and strained, especially Wisefield's blue-eyed soul contributions, lacking in any original ideas with no one track really standing out; the playing is still pretty good from all concerned, but Turner's bass sounds muddy, Upton's drums dull and flattened, and the guitars lifeless, and while Wisefield may be a nifty little guitar player he CANNOT sing for proverbial toffee. Give it 2 stars for everybody turning up for the sessions. So, one corker and one damp squib, and an overall 3 stars for the pair.
And oh yeah, a real shame about the cheapskate packaging.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a combination, 8 Nov 2002
By 
M. Cassidy "CTB" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Who put these 2 albums together. One album of sheer genius (There's the Rub) and a waste of vinyl (Locked In). If my memory serves me right, even Ash themselves disowned Locked In (one tour programme in the late 70's didn't even mention it). I would have thought New England would have been a better choice. If anyones interested, I think Wishbone 4 (ballad of the beacon - how many times have I sung that song after a few drinks - I've even sung it as a lullaby to my kids) is the best Ash album but There's the Rub (a very different album) comes pretty close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both Brilliant - don't believe the ne'resayers, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Don't believe what you hear about 'Locked In', it's different to the earlier Wishbone Ash music, but absolutely great. I think I'm in the minority, but look beyond Tom Dowd's production and listen to the quality of the music and lyrics. The thing that's so great about Wishbone Ash is that every album is different and the one consistent throughout them all is that they're magnificent.

'There's the Rub' is a true classic and doesn't need me to add anything to what others have written other than one reviewer knocked 'Don't Come Back' - absolute tosh; it's got the best opening and finish of any track I've ever heard by any band. Turn it up to 11 when it starts, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like both cds, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
At the price can't go far wrong. There's The Rub is clearly the better album (FUBB is absolute classic) and Locked In is not bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
What we have here is a bind-up of two albums from a band in transition - each with a very different feel, but both very good in their own way
The departure of Ted Turner from the band after Wishbone 4 could have been disastrous, but Laurie Wisefield fills the gap manfully, and There's the Rub is a better album than it's predecessor, with stand-out tracks like Silver Shoes and Lady Jay, the majestic Persephone, and the odd but fun instrumental of FUBB.
Other reviewers on here, as well as in Classic Rock's Buyer's Guide, seem to dismiss the follow-up, Locked-in as an over-produced album with poor songwriting. I disagree wholeheartedly. Granted, it's not a particularly "Wishboney' album, and I have to agree that the vocals are strained in places, but when were Wishbone Ash all about the voice. What we have here is a band showing it can have a crack at other styles and nail them. Some of the tracks here could sit nicely alongside Little Feat or Steely Dan. Rest in Peace is fairly close to the Wishbone tradition, with a nice dual guitar line. "It Started (In Heaven) is one of my favourite Wishbone songs, a cracking piece of country rock ideal for the car with a classy but economic guitar solo. Half Past Lovin' is at the funkier end of the scale, with some searing guitar work. In fact, the guitar playing throughout is excellent - not as drawn out as other albums, but concise and effective nonetheless. Give it a second listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia (again), 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
more nostalgia ,I actually bought this cd for there,s the rub so locked in is a bonus ,back in the seventies I even went to see Wishbone Ash a few times and enjoyed the music of the times as I do still ,their brand of progressive rock is not as egocentric I think ,not to heavy and not satanistic more laid back ,nuff sed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 13 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: There's The Rub / Locked In (Audio CD)
Just to confirm that Andy Powell, Laurie Wisefield and Martin Turner do the vocals. Turner sings lead on this album. Anyway, superb album from Ash with some brilliant guitar work from Powell and Wisefield. If you like any of the other albums and you havn't got this one get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's The Rub / Locked In
There's The Rub / Locked In by Wishbone Ash (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews