Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most under-rated albums of all time., 23 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
Guitar driven rock at its sizzling best. From the tortured opening chords of Mother of Pearl, to the closing acoustic Candle Light, this album has it all. It's Wishbone Ash's finest moment.
Clear, lucid production gives the album a contemporary feel that is not a million miles from bits of the Chilis.
It's been a fixture in my all time top ten since I first heard it over 20 years ago.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Form, 22 May 2008
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
This contains some of my favorite Wishbone Ash tracks (most notably Lorelei and Mother of Pearl). Those of you who are familiar with the band Home will notice the influence of Laurie Wisefield (who left Home to join Wishbone Ash).

New England has been re-issued on two double CDs - combined with Front Page News in one case, and with Locked In on another. Whilst neither Locked In or Front Page News is anywhere near as good as New England, you may find it a lot cheaper to buy one of these than New England on it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equal to Argus, 3 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
I saw Wishbone Ash live in Sheffield City Hall on their 'New England' tour in 1976 - love this album, especially 'Lorelei'. The album has a great range of styles and is certainly one of Wishbone Ash's finest, equal to 'Argus'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice New England Back Then & Still Is...., 3 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
Certainly one of the bands top albums and along with their debut 1970 album Pilgrimage and Argus the album New England for me was a much welcoming release from the guys back in 1976.

The album kicks off with the blistering rocking pace of "Mother Of Pearl" and then settles down to one of the finest tracks of the album with "(In All Of My Dreams) You Rescue Me" a lush track with purely lush interplaying between Powell and Wisefield. Lovely bass lines too from Turner and the bass is super throughout this album from him. "Runaway" turn up the pace very well and is another fine rocking track.

"Lorelie" is another class track on the album and "Outward Bound" sees the familiar twin guitars working so well together and this is such a trade mark of this band and is quite a stunning instrumental track. The albums then settles down to a more chilled out pace with tracks like "When You Know Love" and "Lonely Island" and end off with a lovely little instrumental ditty with "Candlelight".

Certainly one of the bands stronger albums out of the many they have done over the years and for me an album I still play and get great pleasure out even now where into 2014, and I did buy this on it's release back in 76.

So it's certainly served as excellent value for money for my ears. To be honest I do not think the band could ever match what they did on their first 3 albums, and for me they was in a different field and done at a much higher level. But the album New England is certainly a cracking album and an excellent choice for those who have only recently got into the band, or if your looking out for some well cool chilled out rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New England USA, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New England (MP3 Download)
This album was written specifically for the American market,and the shift in attitudes are clear for all to hear...but dont let this be off putting,as this is one of Wishbones finest.The introduction of Laurie Wisefield,was one of huge importance,not only in his guitar contribution,but also his influences,to this album.The stand out tracks "Mother of Pearl" "Lorelei" are now live standards with the Turner & Powell versions of the band...not forgetting the outstanding "When you know Love"..which is enough to wet any ROCK fans appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Ash For More, 1 Nov. 2013
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
Yes, Argus was a classic, but New England is not far off. There are some great rock songs here in the inimitable Wishbone Ash guitar oriented fashion including a couple of great slower tunes in Lorelie and Lonely Island (check the tasteful guitar here). The first two tracks are two of the best they ever wrote, and then that lead in to Runaway. Yeseree, that's what it's all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ash reborn, 22 Feb. 2012
This review is from: New England (MP3 Download)
This is where Wishbone Ash finally got back to business as usual after the departure of Ted Turner in 1974. With Theres the Rub and Locked In, they seemed to be finding their feet again, some good tunes some bad. With the arrival of New England however, it was all guns blazing, powerful rockers as well as some fine ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisbone Ash New England, 7 Jan. 2008
By 
Gareth York (Barcelona Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New England (Audio CD)
I was fortunate to see Wishbone Ash in Torquay on their home ground in the New England tour. The guitars here are excellent, the slower songs fit in so well - don't let them lull you to sleep as you will be woken suddenly!!! This is a MUST for any lover of great rock music, turn the volume up and sit back to enjoy a top performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New England
New England by Wishbone Ash (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews