Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2016
I love this album but cannot put it on my laptop or Ipod, hey ho back to the old shcool stereo and walkman,
I think it is a shame it is the original copy and protectd as it is a great album, I got Earth vs the Wildhearts and that plays great, (Missing Caffeine bomb) but I have it on here and I love that song, this would be perfect if it had "the Miles away Girl".
A great album but wait for the new issue that plays on iTunes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
The band is good, but you know that which is why you are reading this review!

I like most of the tracksw on the album a lot, but perhaps they just don't show a great band at their best. There are more songs out there which would truly be a best of type compilation, but having said that if you are not familiar, then what a great intro to a very good hard rock band.

More could have been done to get a 5 star album here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2003
The Wildhearts UK label were not fans of the band. Both band and label clashed over almost everything, and when The Wildhearts finally managed to split from EastWest in 1996 the label responded with this Best Of compilation in order to milk the last few drops they could. In all fairness you can't argue with the quality of the songs, but with one look at the Japanese version which was complete with a whole bonus CD (featuring all the B-Sides) you can see that not much effort was made here.
All that said, this isn't terrible. A good song order (as opposed to the Jap chronolgical approach) and an arguably better song selection in some places. Unlike the Jap version the inclusions of dedicated b-movie "Splattermania", excellent "If Life Is Like A Love Bank..." and 120mph "Caffine Bomb", ups the ante in quality Wildhearts songs. In terms of introducing you to the band, this selection is as good a starter as any.
However, to fans such as myself, there are some little things that ruin this cd. The fact the blurb in the sleeve is rather "we were great friends with the band!" when they weren't. The fact that we have the 'radio edit' of "Sick Of Drugs" instead of the original, that's just plain stupid. The remix of "29 X The Pain" is insulting to the band who expressly prefer the original, and the inclusion of the (alright) "Beautiful Me, Beautiful You" as the only un-released song in this country smacks of an obvious attempt to draw in the people who already own all the other songs, and therefore help boost sales for the label.
Lastly, the label's outright refusal to release "In Lilly's Garden" as a single, and then include it here is just hypercritical, (in fact there are at least 5 better songs i can think of that i would replace "In Lilly's Garden" with if i had the choice).
So, if you know nothing about the band and don't care about the guilt, by all means get this and enjoy the sheer fun factor of the amazing back catalogue The Wildhearts amased. If you are a dedicated fan, the Japanese version is worth the extra money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a 'Best of' collection this isn't that great. Many of the tracks are gems but there are quite a few of their best tracks missing. There are some single B-sides included here but there are better ones which could have replaced them. Two of the extra tracks from the vinyl issue of the official release of 'Fishing For Luckies' are also present but even that doesn't help the album as one of the tracks isn't that great and the other is the very poor new version of their classic B-side '29 x The Pain'. The band didn't sanction this release and it's easy to see why. A sloppy track selection for a band who deserved a better representation of their music, it gets three stars due to the excellence of the tracks from the first two albums but it could have been so much better with a bit of thought.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I bought this after seeing Ginger Wildheart's solo band support The Darkness, alongside tickets for the Earth vs tour. Easily the best money I've ever spent, every song is rock music perfection. Thoroughly recommend catching them live if they ever come back round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
I'd heard great things about the Wildhearts, but they were one of those bands I'd somehow missed out on. I bought this 'Best Of' V cheaply through Amazon as a taster. If you like loud, shouty, poppy, punky, rock, with masses of loud overdriven guitar, you'll love this. Fortunately I do rather gravitate towards those very things myself, so guess what......I love it!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
What a fantastic band! The best of the Wildhearts really is the best of the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Play this CD a lot. Can't believe Vanilla Radio isn't on it but every track on it is brilliant. Play perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.