Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael before he went solo
Wham were, possibly, Britain's most commercially successful pop group of the eighties. The duo began recording funky dance manic but their biggest successes came when their music mellowed.
Wham's funky period yielded the UK top ten hits Young guns go for it, Wham rap, Bad boys and Club Tropicana. Their last really funky song, Wake me up before you go go, gave them...
Published on 4 April 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity
Have to agree with the proceeding reviews. Also where is one of my favourite tracks "Blue (Armed With Love)"? - which was only on the double cassette version of the album and has never been released on CD. Good to have the videos admittedly. Shame!
Published on 2 Dec. 2011 by Mr. M. D. Tiller


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
Have to agree with the proceeding reviews. Also where is one of my favourite tracks "Blue (Armed With Love)"? - which was only on the double cassette version of the album and has never been released on CD. Good to have the videos admittedly. Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no remastering no levelling, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
P. De Wagter "Redzone" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again the mastering of a re-issue has been done by amateurs.
First of all the tracklisting is different from the original CD.
A few extended mixes have been replaced by poor sounding edits.
Second big problem is the fact that no one took the time to check the
loudness and colour of the different tracks.
It's bad enough to use the original CD as master without any equalizing
(so you get the typical mid-80's digital sound), but everytime you get
a "replacement" track (like Bad Boys or Careless Whispers), the level drops by a few db's.
Bad Boys for example sounds really bad.
So my advice : DON't BUY THIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael before he went solo, 4 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Final (Audio CD)
Wham were, possibly, Britain's most commercially successful pop group of the eighties. The duo began recording funky dance manic but their biggest successes came when their music mellowed.
Wham's funky period yielded the UK top ten hits Young guns go for it, Wham rap, Bad boys and Club Tropicana. Their last really funky song, Wake me up before you go go, gave them their first UK number one. After that, most of their hits were ballads beginning with Careless whisper, which was credited as a George Michael solo although Andrew Ridgeley co-wrote the song. It made the top spot in the UK and was followed to the top spot by Freedom, credited to Wham.
Next came the double-sided UK hit combining Last Christmas with Everything she wants. Only a charity record (Do they know it's Christmas, on which George joined other celebrities as Band Aid) prevented this single being yet another UK number one for Wham, but Last Christmas remains my favorite Wham song. It is a superb love song although it has absolutely nothing to do with Christmas except that George chose to use Christmas as the date in which to set the song. It returned to the UK top ten a year later.
Three more UK number one hits followed - I'm your man, A different corner (credited as a George solo) and the double-sided coupling of Edge of heaven with Where did your heart go?
Although nominally a duo, Andrew Ridgeley was very much the junior partner and it came as no surprise when the duo split up and George pursued a solo career. Some of that music is not very different in style from the ballads that he recorded with Wham.
This compilation contains all the important tracks recorded while George and Andrew were together as Wham, including those credited as George solos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whamtastic!, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. C. Hutt (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say, not crammed full of songs but every one is a winner and great to see the videos as well! weren't the 80's great!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic 80s CD and a must-have for George Micheal fans!, 19 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Final (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album not only for wham fans, but also for those who enjoyed George Micheal's earlier songs. As well as all of Wham's greatest hits, this album also includes George Micheal's first solo classics 'careless whisper' and 'a different corner'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Final on DVD., 26 Jan. 2012
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A review for the cd/dvd edition.

I'm thinking that the major selling point of this reissue of Wham!'s final album was not only to commemorate the 25th anniversary but to also include a track by track dvd equivalent. In this respect,it succeeds. It's great to finally,no pun intended,have the videos for "Bad Boys" and "Young Guns" on dvd but that unfortunately is the ONLY reason to buy this appalling compilation from Sony. Whoever did the remastering for the cd re-release shall remain nameless,they get no credit on the inner booklet or slipcase and that's probably just as well. If it was me I'd be embarrassed to admit I had a hand in this mess. The first two tracks sound great,then I'm afraid it's all downhill from there. "Bad Boys" sounds like they used the old seven inch single master as is. Where's all the leftover cuts from the cassette and vinyl editions like "Blue" and the relevant alternate mixes,instrumentals and b-sides?

The quality of audio on the dvd is not much better either. Instead of rehashing all the Wham videos,why not finally,no pun intended again,release the excellent documentary "Foreign Skies:Wham! In China" on dvd. My vhs copy of that is now so frail I'm scared to play it (luckily I transferred it to digital a few years back). What should have been an opportunity to put out a bona-fide deluxe edition of this iconic 80's album has been a waste of time and resources. I wonder if George knows how poorly Sony are treating his music or if he even cares?

If it's superbly mastered Wham! audio classics you're after,click here "The Best of Wham!". There is also a dvd (with 5.1 surround sound) that was released in tandem with this best of. If you don't need the videos for the two new to dvd aforementioned tracks,you can't go wrong,click here "Wham - the Best of Wham [DVD]". My advice is to make your own cd of "The Final" using the above best of and the re-released albums. Trust me it will sound better than what's on this reissue. Now...

"Take Me To The Edge of Heaven,One Last Time Might Be Forever...Yeah Yeah Yeah..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wham anniversary edition of "The final), 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Svetlana Polikanova (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sony did good job by including 2 videos (Bad Boys and Young guns) which were never released officially before. Other than that, there are no changes, but reasonable price allows to have it just because of these 2 videos :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd worth every penny payed for i tell any buy this cd, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
L. Tullett "ltullett" (united kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final (Audio CD)
i love this cd very much very quick shipp to me worth ever penny i payen for i say to any who what byy it is great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special about this version - get the cheaper original!, 1 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Final (Audio CD)
I pre-ordered this, expecting something a little special, perhaps extra tracks, or remastered, but no, this is nothing more than the original 1986 version but with a cardboard sleeve added. And it doesn't even have the 25th Anniversary written on it - what a misleading heading this item has! I didn't own any Wham on CD so I do appreciate the album, but wish I had bought the basic version for 4 quid cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Dissapointing, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final (Audio CD)
I was a big WHAM fan in the day , I was really hoping this would have the original Single versions instead of the Album versions , as I thought the single especially of WHAM RAP was a lot lot better than the album version . Still good , but could have been better.....I still want the original single versions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final
The Final by Wham! (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews