Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Man and a Guitar - Simply Stunning
I first heard this album in 1983 on vinyl (it's lyrics were pertinient to my situation at the time)and fell in love with it. 18 years on, and rediscovered on CD, the music is still as refreshing as it was then. Watt, a superb lyricist by any standard, pours his heart out on this album, it's melancholy feel hiding the catchyness of some of the tunes. Others, more simple,...
Published on 8 Jan 2002

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag..
This album is a mixed bag, I think if it had a instrumental version it would be great. Ben watts voice, it doesnt quite work. For the most part i can see what he was going for(a kind of english folky Harry Neilsen and simon&garfunkal), but it ends up being whiny and yes, out of tune and somewhat ridiculous at times... I agree with the other guy. Some track are just...
Published on 27 Jun 2009 by W. J. Lorrimore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Man and a Guitar - Simply Stunning, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
I first heard this album in 1983 on vinyl (it's lyrics were pertinient to my situation at the time)and fell in love with it. 18 years on, and rediscovered on CD, the music is still as refreshing as it was then. Watt, a superb lyricist by any standard, pours his heart out on this album, it's melancholy feel hiding the catchyness of some of the tunes. Others, more simple, all get the Ben Watt sound, simple haunting tunes tinged with a little sadness. If you enjoyed "The Night I Heard Carusso Sing" from Everything but the Girl's "Idlewild", then this album is definitely for you! 5 additional tracks too - simply a hidden gem!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Wattage, 20 Jan 2003
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
I first heard "Some things don't matter" on a Cherry Red compilation in 1983. The chord sequence was so beautiful that I had to buy the album it was taken from - the wonderful, satisfying "North Marine Drive".
All the songs thereon are simple, memorable and beautifully played. There are few records which capture the feelings of early love so deftly. The pathos of Last Train...the exhilaration of Box Hill. This man can play the guitar.
The four bonus tracks with Robert Wyatt combine the mysterious, quintessentially English element of both artists' best work. Buy and play and play and play. This is composition at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Boys Got A Heart Of Gold, 10 Sep 2002
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
Quite simply the best album I have. I was given it as a present on 12" and that was it. This album has seen me through some rough times and some really special times. Listen to the lyrics and remember how it feels to be painfully in or out of love. Remember girls "This boys got a heart of gold and golds the most precious thing you could ever hold".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly gorgeous!, 12 Aug 2005
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
This album is so wonderful, it`s astounding that Ben Watt had anything good left in him to sustain a 23-year career with Everything But The Girl and as a world-class DJ and remixer. You may have heard other, less stellar albums described as 'aching with poignancy' - "North Marine Drive" is the avatar of every lovesick, heartbroken, English-autumn-euphoric song ever written. Quite simply, listening to it makes you glad to be alive. Whether you`re leading a happy, relatively carefree existence, or deep in an emotional mire, this album IS your soundtrack.
Part of the appeal lies in Watt`s voice - it`s sinewy and gorgeously plaintive, almost to the point of self-parody, but any move towards self-consciousness immediately fails. Lyrically, this album reads like a particularly clever teenage boy`s romantic diary. It`s possible that Ben Watt looks back on this album and feels rather embarrassed at its candid, almost sophomoric phraseology, but there really is no need. There are TUNES here, brain-muddling, chest-warming TUNES, no anthems - an anthem would be nothing but vulgar on this album - but beautifully crafted chord changes, and the sort of guitar playing that makes seasoned "pluckers" eat at their own livers in sheer jealousy. Perhaps the two highlights are 'Slipping Slowly', lyrically a confrontation with an overbearing mother, but musically you`re in my-entire-back-and-neck-is-tingling mode and it seems almost criminal when it ends after just under three minutes - and "Empty Bottles", which could almost typify the whole album, and is toe-entwiningly fabulous. And the whole thing is so English you can almost smell cucumber sandwiches and Earl Grey tea on damask tablecloths! OWN THIS ALBUM - and also get (Ben`s girlfriend) Tracey Thorn`s "A Distant Shore" which answers and asks most of the questions Ben answers and asks on this superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old friend returns, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Marine Drive (MP3 Download)
Being an old git I have this in vinyl but it's been tucked away for years...then got thinking about Ben Watt when listening to some Buzzin Fly tracks. One thing went to another and I down loaded this album - and listening to it again reminded me why I use to play it relentlessly. His voice brings alive cleverly constructed songs into what is a beautiful pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I was on Box Hill!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
I had a vinyal copy of the album in the early 80's so this is a re-vist for me, it brings back so many memories, easy to listen to and an early show case of his song writing talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classico, 9 July 2006
By 
Mr. Jm Dixon "markofthe lakes" (Lake District) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
Magnificent - this really crystallised the early 80's for me. Clear, emotional and a touch fey but really, really good. I wish he had done some other solo stuff before geting going with EBTG but hey, you can't have it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
By 
B. T. Bradbrook "bbradbro" (hillbank south australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
I have the original vinyl -now with bonus tracks =great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
Took me back to the eighties. Very prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Marine Drive (Audio CD)
Replaced vinyl copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North Marine Drive
North Marine Drive by Ben Watt (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews