Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god!!!!
If you have any clue about music then this is the c-d 4 u. Just look at the track listing! If the three generations of my household fight over it, then surely theres a good vibe in the c-d. Top tune, top order, top musicians, top everything, TOP ALBUM!!!!!!!
Published on 17 Dec 2003 by Sophie l

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy some new socks instead
Most of the music on this CD is excellent, but a lot of it isn't what I'd call Motown. With the title "No.1 Motown Album", Universal had a chance to compile an excellent Album, if only they'd tried a little harder. Literally half the songs feature either Marvin Gaye, Lionel Richie, Diana Ross or Michael Jackson (with or without their respective bands). How creative! And...
Published on 14 Feb 2003 by straw_hat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy some new socks instead, 14 Feb 2003
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
Most of the music on this CD is excellent, but a lot of it isn't what I'd call Motown. With the title "No.1 Motown Album", Universal had a chance to compile an excellent Album, if only they'd tried a little harder. Literally half the songs feature either Marvin Gaye, Lionel Richie, Diana Ross or Michael Jackson (with or without their respective bands). How creative! And why are there 5 average songs from the 1990's instead of more 60's gems?
What's more, the digital remastering is absolutely awful. The songs don't sound crisp, the vocals are too distant and the bass is too loud and muffled.
The lack of effort that was put into the artwork sums the album up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god!!!!, 17 Dec 2003
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
If you have any clue about music then this is the c-d 4 u. Just look at the track listing! If the three generations of my household fight over it, then surely theres a good vibe in the c-d. Top tune, top order, top musicians, top everything, TOP ALBUM!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally relaxing!, 5 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
I just can't stop listening to this compilation. Motown relaxes anyone, any time, anywhere, and this collection is the perfect example. It doesn,t matter what music you like, you cannot deny the genius of The Commodores or the fact that Gladys Knight has just put sex on a plastic disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs to smile by..., 20 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
Uncomplicated, mood-lifting, sing-along motown classics. A spin of this CD will never fail to get your face smiling and feet tapping. For dance or romance give this a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remaster Disaster, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
One of the main events of a Motown hit is the production, this collection manages to bypass that in favour of the beat. It brushes aside those hours of delicate studio work for drums and stifled vocals. Spend hours trying to puzzle the music back into it on an equaliser or buy an old Chartbuster version. Two stars as they kept the original songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 1 Motown, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
If you like music you must like Motown! All the great names here singing your old favorites and some less well known. What can I say other than proper music sung by experts for our pleasure!! Just go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Compilation!, 27 July 2009
By 
Mr. I. English "I.J. English" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
This is a review for soul + r&b fans, who want an excellent buy - this double CD will definately do the job! All of the compilation reminded me of what happiness can be made from. The digital remastering is excellent, and brings back the great sounds that Motown Records were achieving when they originally released the songs between the 1960s and 1990s. Don't forget that Motown Records was releasing new singles and albums as regular as clockwork. Being possitive about gems like "Being With You" by Smokey Robinson, "Easy" by Commodores and "Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing" by Marvin Gaye with Tammi Terrell are fine examples of what Motown expected from their largely black performers. Purchasing this double CD would definately be a recommended suggestion, especially if you want to try out a type of soul that makes you think "where can I get more from?". You'll be very pleased if you do get it!! It was a re-introduction into music that I was originally unsure about. Hunt around if you want to hear more about Motown Records, and their glorious past - because their future looks bright and rosy to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
As promised in the promotional material; this is a good-quality album of Motown greats, across a good range of artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed the music, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
excellant cd, enjoyed the music, most of my favourites. Many thanks, good service and good value.

Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The NO:1 Motown Album (Audio CD)
Tatty insert and disc one jumps. Bought second hand before and not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The NO:1 Motown Album
The NO:1 Motown Album by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews