Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST album in the world, 23 Nov 2001
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that is one of a kind, I have tried finding others like it but you just don't get any better. Paul Oakenfold is a geneious, mixing classical with trance to form one long, brilliant song that hypes you up and calms you down again and again. The depth to the music is incredible and the mixing is almost flawless. This truely is Paul's best ever and also the best perfecto cd money can buy. Sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece - and a "MUST" buy !, 1 Mar 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
As the other reviewers have said this album is sublime. It mixes music from contemporary film sound tracks with house/trance (not classical as some reviewers said).
I bought this album on cassette when it first came out but it got chewed up. I did not hesitate forking out for it a second time especially now it's been deleted according to the shops.
Two of the best tracks that it contains send a mesmerisingly joyous tingle of anticipation down your spine. Mystery Traxx that you may recognise as the track that Oakey always used to open his set with and Prophase (the track just goes on and on and is one of the most rewindable tracks of all time).
A very haunting, ethereal and cerebral album once you've heard it.
Buy it and be VERY glad you did - spread the word.... (in other words it's not too bad) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oaky Computer, 31 July 2003
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
Glad to see that other people hold this album in such high esteem as me! It really is a very special piece of work, transcending the mid-90's era in which it was recorded to become a very solid statement of just how powerful dance music can be. Sadly, once you get hold of this everything else seems like a disappointment, even releases from the Maestro himself. (though his Global Underground: New York comes a close second).
And why the dickens doesn't he drop breaks from film soundtracks into his mixes any more? In any other, lesser DJ's hands this would be a cheap way of raising excitement, but in the hands of the most talented DJ in the world, it becomes something rather special indeed. Shivers down the spine all round. If you have any interest in dance or classical music at all I strongly recommend you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most influencial album of a celebrated career, 11 Mar 2002
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
I have listened to the Fluro album for some years now, and must say that from the start of the mix you know that it is something special. Paul cuts trance with ambient right down to the harder stuff. Mixed in between the classic house and trance tunes are classical breakdown, which add to the hauting sound paul has created on this master piece of a mix. A must buy as the tunes are timeless and are constantly being remixed. I must say to anyone who does not include this in theyre collection is sadly missing out. Theyre are not enough stars to mark this album 10/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trance essential, 5 Mar 2001
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
I've had this a while, but recently got it out and gave it another listen. It sounds as good 5 years on as it did then. The mix of classic hard and soft trance is a real pleasure to listen to. Classical and choral music is also worked into the mix - and just to think William Orbit was given all the credit for reintroducing Barber's "Adagio for Strings", and here it is 4 years previous. Absolutely classic, up there with Deep Dish's "Yoshiesque" as one of my favourite dance compilations ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top notch mix of Oakenfold during his trance heydey, 14 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
Essentially a sequel to Paul Oakenfold's classic Goa Mix broadcast on Radio 1's "Essential Mix" in 1994, this CD is the same set he did for Radio 1 in 1996. An excellent journey style dj mix showcasing Oakenfold at his best, representing a mix of full on Goa Trance, Perfecto Fluoro cuts, and some more mainstream Perfecto choons. Laced with Music Soundtrack samples, this mix is a perfect companion for a long drive, or just to see what a top DJ mix can really sound like. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect mix of influential music, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
Paul Oakenfold is a legend. I know of no other person who could mix together the classical music of orchestras with the heavy beats of today's dance. This album proves that he will always know what we just HAVE to hear.
The only fault I find with this album is that I compare it to Northern Exposure (Sasha & John Digweed), and it ends up losing. This by no means denies its place in your collection, as it is almost a perfect selection of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God I've finally found it!, 10 July 2003
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
I bought this album on cassette back when I was at school and played it (literally) to death, then bought another which suffered the same fate... At the time I couldn't find it on CD anywhere, so now I've finally found it on CD you can imagine my happiness! This is a truly fantastic album which is one of the few that I don't get bored of and relegate to a dusty shelf somewhere to be forgotten in the mists of time. Buy it and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Masterpice, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
This is without doubt the greatest modern dance music album. From the seamless mixing of classical music in to true trance music, this album has it all. This is far from the trance-by-numbers of Gatecrasher and God's Kitchen. Listen to "Sugar Rush" or "Legend B" and remember the goofd times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold (Audio CD)
This is truely one of those albums that does not have a single bad track on it. Every one of them will make you feel good. The mixing is superb with enough ambience to make it truely unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold
Perfecto Fluoro: Oakenfold by Paul Oakenfold (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews