Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one, 8 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
An undertones Album that is! I bought this to replace my worn out copy of "All wrapped up" (Tape, Yeuch!)It has all the well known loved tracks, "My perfect Cousin", "Teenage Kicks", "Jimmy Jimmy" et al. If you dont have an Undertones album then this will do the job nicely, its almost perfect. I say almost 'cos it is missing "She can only say no" one of my favourites, I also would have liked to see a few more B side tracks included but I'm a sad muppet. this album covers the raw early tracks right through to the more sophisticated stuff like "Julie Ocean" which was less popular with the masses but still good. If you dont have an undertones album then do yourself a BIG favour and buy this, it will leave you hungry for more! P.S. For maximum enjoyment place CD in car stereo turn up loud and drive around with a silly grin singing along at the top of your voice to "Mars Bar"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irrepressible, loveable, indispensable, 24 Nov. 2007
By 
J. Moxley "already_taken" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While their peers whined self-consciously about boredom and being misunderstood, The Undertones (who, being from Derry, had legitimate grounds for complaint) addressed instead the far more pressing issues of girls, subbutteo and mars bars in songs of formal perfection and deceptive simplicity. Their sophistication and self-awareness was already apparent in everything from their choice of name, which perfectly suggests pop cheesiness and a hint of menace, to lyrics like their "difficult second album" introduction, More Songs About Chocolate and Girls where they unapologetically state their limitations, in homage perhaps to Talking Heads (whose '77, incidentally, has a similar guitar sound to much of Hypnotised although that's where the similarity ends). This incipient sophistication was allowed a more musical outlet on their third album and, while the immediacy and humour of its predecessors is largely absent, it still has a handful and a half of great pop songs. Admittedly, by the time of The Sin Of Pride, they had lost the plot somewhat. You only need to look at the cover to see how far removed from the fairisle jumper-wearing, mammy-haircut sporting lads they'd become.
As an introduction, this is pretty flawless and if it has faults it doesn't matter because I'm willing to bet it won't be the last Undertones record you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A teenage dream's so hard to beat", 1 July 2007
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undertones Best of (Audio CD)
Five scruffy herberts from Derry with zero dress sense and bad haircuts, The Undertones really shouldn't have been one of the best UK singles' groups EVER should they? And yet this 25 track compilation offers ample evidence why they were.

Ignoring the trendy punk concepts of anarchy and rebellion, The Undertones simply set about writing wonderfully melodic pop music - 'More Songs About Chocolate And Girls' (in the latter's case, usually unobtainable ones).

Feargal Sharkey had a marvellously distinctive voice, one of the things that so endeared the band to John Peel who allegedly blubbed like a baby on first hearing 'Teenage Kicks.' That song is still their finest moment, 3 minutes of lusty yearning as brilliantly simple as 'Tutti Frutti' or 'Satisfaction' from previous eras.

Now I know it's 2007 and most of the great tunes have been written, but when was the last time you heard a guitar riff as momentous as that on 'You Got My Number?' Or such a life-affirming burst of joy as 'Here Comes The Summer?' Or a pop ballad as affecting as the psychedelia-tinged 'Julie Ocean?'

The lyrics are damn funny too, Feargal positively revelling in shouting out "I wannna wanna be a MALE MODEL!" or slagging off his horrible cousin Kevin for cheating at Subbeteo.

Even when their initial burst of punk energy had subsided they could still craft songs as fine as 'Wednesday Week' and 'It's Going To Happen.' Plus they inspired the title of the nation's funniest footy magazine, 'When Saturday Comes.' Really, what's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ACE all round, Undertones heaven, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undertones Best of (Audio CD)
this album is ace ! even if you have never heard of the undertones its just a great listen.. if you only know one song by them get this album, it will widen your view and you will be so happy that you heard more, not one dud song on it, i like the undertones anyhow but this album just wraps up the best of them and is a brilliant all rounder, get it .. ! stick it in the stereo .. rack the volume up .. and prepare to enjoy ..! it made my day, very big grin on face. one of my best amazon buys yet.. ENJOY x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this band! they are excellent at making well crafted 3 minute songs. i really love their energy and tounge in cheek attitude. great album from a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of my teenage years, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks (Audio CD)
I sent for this as i had through changing careers & house moves lost 'all wrapped up' album which i used to love, this has all those tracks on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music of my time, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks (Audio CD)
I love this music, I remember them so well and they were so so good, so pleased I got this! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great music, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks (Audio CD)
great but wanted to buy a few CD as gifts in bulk to cut down on postage etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks (Audio CD)
another great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks
The Best Of: The Undertones Teenage Kicks by Undertones (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews