Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing debut
Formed in 1989 from the ashes of pop-rock combo Terraplane, guitarist and songwriter Luke Morley and singer Danny Bowes had decided to go in a more traditional 'rock' direction than the pop path they were (reluctantly) being led down by their previous record label. Retaining drummer Harry James from the Terraplane days, bassist Mark 'Snake' Luckhurst and...
Published on 15 Nov 2003 by ronster500

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All right.
This was a second-hand gift for a friend, and the vinyl itself seemed OK, but the cover was a bit worn.
Published 17 months ago by Fabelhafter Schneckensaft


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astonishing debut, 15 Nov 2003
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
Formed in 1989 from the ashes of pop-rock combo Terraplane, guitarist and songwriter Luke Morley and singer Danny Bowes had decided to go in a more traditional 'rock' direction than the pop path they were (reluctantly) being led down by their previous record label. Retaining drummer Harry James from the Terraplane days, bassist Mark 'Snake' Luckhurst and guitarist/keyboard player Ben Matthews were recruited and the new band entered the studio with Duran Duran's guitarist Andy Taylor producing.
What emerged was a latter day rock classic; you knew from the first listen that these songs would stand the test of time. Highlights of this terrific album are the slowburner "Don't Wait For Me"; a showcase for Danny Bowes' awesome voice, "Higher Ground", "Love Walked In", and the title track. The material drew heavily on the influences of giants such as Bad Company and the Who (to name but two), the twin guitar attack of Luke Morley and Ben Matthews allied with the rock solid rhythms of Snake and Harry were an irresistible combination. When you throw into the mix the amazingly talented Danny Bowes, a singer good enough to rank alongside the likes of Coverdale and Rodgers in my view, the whole package could not possibly fail.
And fail they did not, after having toured the UK to little response they landed a support slot with Aerosmith, which brought them to wider attention, then in 1990 they opened the Donington Monsters of Rock festival, they went down an absolute storm and it was all systems go from there.
What none of us knew was that a total sea-change was coming to the whole rock scene just a year later, coming out of Seattle the grunge wave spearheaded by Nirvana changed the landscape - not necessarily for the better in my view, but the effect was to cut the ground from underneath everything that had come before, good or bad and alas Thunder were a big casualty of this change. They survived to make more albums and tour for the next decade only because of the strength of their live show won them enough of a loyal fan base (at least in Europe and also Japan, where British bands have long been well received), to make it worthwhile.
The band did take a hiatus in 2000, during which time songwriter Luke Morley released a solo album then a follow up with Danny Bowes, in a more soulful direction than Thunder had taken. They were tempted back into action in 2002 by a prominent slot on the touring Monsters of Rock arena shows, after which they decided to give it another go. Although they went on to make several albums after this classic, all of which are worth having, the amount of songs from this album still played by the band today demonstrates the enduring quality of the material here.
For any fan of blues based rock'n'roll this album is essential - as a debut from a rock band it stands comparison with the first Bad Company album, the first Van Halen album, the debut from Montrose, Dio's "Holy Diver" and G'n'R's "Appetite for Destruction".
I recommend this album, particularly at it's now bargain price, without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so good., 15 July 2003
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
This album gave hope to many rockers who were waiting for an honest band with honest songs, uncomplicated lyrics, and a British feel to come along and pick up where Led Zep had left off years before. Great raw guitars, some of the old blues rock tricks not unlike your Free and Bad Company, soaring raspy vocals, and all pushed up to 11 live. I bought it on CD recently as originally had it on vinyl and hadn't heard it for years. Brought back some great memories; they must have supported every band I ever saw in the 80's. Listening to She's so Fine, and Till my Dieing Day I was left wondering how it could have possibly all petered out as it did. What was the first side of the album/tape (first 5/6 tunes) really get the juices flowing in an 'old skool' as they'd say now, kind of way. The press loved them, the rockers loved them, so what happened? Kirt Kobain. Grunge and indie rock blew out the cobwebs, gave us new vibrant kind of rock and handed it back to the teenagers, took most of the sentimentally away and guitar posing, which left Thunder being a great band, in teh wrong time. If you like old AC/DC, Led Zep, etc, and haven't heard this album, it'll be like you've found a new band. And they're back on tour, so the time gap won't matter a jot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 5 May 2001
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
Thunder I have seen many times at a gig, and everytime they get better. They are nice fellas to talk too. This and many of their other albums are excellent. I wish they were still around. A very get up and dance to albums, Back Street Symphony is one of my favourites. Easy listening stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine modern blues rock release., 5 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
Thunder were formed in the late 1980's by the trio of vocalist Danny Bowes, guitarist Luke Morley and drummer Gary 'Harry' James. All three had served time in the cheesy pop/metal combo Terraplane who died due to general disinterest from the buying public. The trio enrolled the services of Ben Matthews [Guitar and Hammond] and Mark Luckhurst to make up the line-up. The band opted for more English bluesier sound and came up with an album that still sounds entirely credible a decade on. 'Back Street Symphony' has remained Thunder's finest hour and will be remembered as the album that almost got them the riches but ultimately became the noose around their necks. The main problem for the band was that 'BSS' was so right in every aspect that subsequent albums just saw the winning formula become hard to maintain and ultimately meant their demise despite high popularity in Europe and Japan. However 1990 was Thunder's year, they opened the famous 'Donington Monsters Of Rock' festival in England which saw them open a bill containing The Quireboys, Poison, Aerosmith and Whitesnake where they blew everyone away, this gave rise to a wave of popularity that saw 'BSS' go platinum in the UK and saw several high profile international tours [including the US as support for Aerosmith at the personal request of Joe Perry]. Unfortunately America never quite took to Thunder and this was another seed sown for the destruction later on. The main reason 'Backstreet Symphony' remains the bands finest album is purely down to the quality of the tracks, the first 7 in particular highlight just where the bands talents lie - deep down honest blues rock played with a passion with the emphasis more on the songs than virtuoso musicianship.
Well there it is, for the most part Thunder produced an album that made all the right noises and the tracks that don't quite hit the spot are not bad enough to ruin your impression of the album. One thing that strikes you though is that even the bands blunders are better than many average bands best. 'Don't Wait For Me', 'Higher Ground', 'Until My Dying Day' and 'Love Walked In' are the highlights and these 4 tracks alone are classics of this genre and go a long way to making you realise that when the band got it right, they really got it right. Bowes is arguably the best vocalist to have come out of England since David Coverdale, but as Luke Morley writes the majority of the tracks, lyrics and melody lines perhaps all the praise should be put on his shoulders? If you fancy some excellently crafted British blues rock this should be one of your first port of calls and prepare to get an education in finely crafted rock in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as ever., 1 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
I lost my original cd a while ago, so whilst book buying decided to order this to round the pounds up.What a purchase I`d forgotten how good these guy`s were,superb rock with catchy riffs and a good dose of humour thrown in.Thunder must have know when they recoreded this they would never top it ...they did`nt...a bit like The Black Crows and Shake Your Moneymaker....plus I remember these guys ruining Donnington...WHY?...They came on first and just rocked, after that everybody just sucked including Aerosmith.As I said one hell of a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic stuff!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Martin B. Phillips (camborne, cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
what a tremendous debut album! I dont think theres a duff track in sight and everytime i listen to it it takes me back to watching Thunder at the cornwall coiseum in St. Austell in december of 1990. We met all the members backstage and they didnt leave until everything was signed for everybody. This is a reminder of what good rock music should sound like. Sad to hear they are calling it a day. if you down own this you simply have to buy it. their greatest album!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunder Backstreet Symphony EMI Gold Edition, 23 Jan 2009
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
This review is just product detail info.All other reviewers have said it all.This EMI edition is not remastered and sound will be according.There is a remastered edition of this fantastic debut album on the Toshiba Japan label available and am afraid if you want superb sound quality it will cost you a lot more than the EMIGold edition being offered.
I own the original release of this album and would say sound quality is a 6 out of ten its ok but if you can afford the extra buy the remastered edition cos the album is that good.
Hope product info is of help to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album for every man and his dog, 13 Jun 2008
By 
J. Eustice "eustice428" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
After hearing Backstreet Symphony on the radio I decided to give this band a try, with a name like Thunder and the band being unknown to me at the time, I thought this song would probably be the only great song on the disc with a mix of good and average songs, like most albums, but thought I`d give them a shot - How wrong was I!

The CD was put in my CD player and didn't come out for a good week - no - it was a great week! Every song is simply amazing and the more you listen, the better it gets. The album is full of head bobbing, air punching, classic rock riffs that could turn a funeral into a party, mixed with a few epic ballad type tracks, the amazing Love Walked In and Until My Dying Day along with a dash of humour from Englishman On Holiday it's just a great album that you will never get tired of! I only wish I found out about Thunder sooner, way sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock at its best, 14 July 2009
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
Loved this album right from the start. It's chock full of punchy rockers and is awash with the raw power that determines a pure rock album. If you're looking at this you'll no doubt be familiar with the original album so I have no need to go into details. It's stood the test of time exceedingly well and put next to so-called modern rock it blows it out of the water in both performance and production. Andy Taylor certainly left his Duran Duran pop credentials at home and proved beyond doubt that he's a rocker at heart. Probably one of the best produced rock albums ever.
The remaster is unecessary. If anything it's taken some of the rawness of the original away. It's harsh and tinny and not friendly on the ears whereas the original had a nice warm analog feel so well suited (and sorely missed) to rock music.
The second disc is worth the money. A reminder of how great Thunder were live and a few other choice cuts spread across the different single formats of the time. Nice to have them all on one place.
Miserly 8 page booklet lets the side down somewhat but is inkeeping with EMI's ridiculous policy of restricting artwork to 8 pages. For reissues, where packaging is paramount, it is a counter-productive policy and one which is not shared by the other major labels who continue to put out beautifully packaged reissues (Rhino, Sony Legacy, Universal Deluxe editions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thunder CD, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backstreet Symphony (Audio CD)
This is also a great Cd from Thunder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backstreet Symphony
Backstreet Symphony by Thunder (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews