Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this, especially if you're inquisitive about this band.
I don't really know what exactly they've done to some of Talking Heads songs here, bit of studio fiddling mustve gone on, but i will say this, This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) is absolutely jaw-dropping, as are the live versions of Life During Wartime and Slippery People. This is the only truly phenomenal greatest hits album I have heard. If you are sitting there...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by M. Knights

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
its ok ,but i think i should have got there first 2 or 3 maybe 4 albums again
Published 1 day ago by harrylucyjayneelsahallkitten


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this, especially if you're inquisitive about this band., 2 Aug 2004
By 
M. Knights "matt k" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
I don't really know what exactly they've done to some of Talking Heads songs here, bit of studio fiddling mustve gone on, but i will say this, This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) is absolutely jaw-dropping, as are the live versions of Life During Wartime and Slippery People. This is the only truly phenomenal greatest hits album I have heard. If you are sitting there thinking 'I would like to hear something powerful and original and joyous and life-affirming' and you haven't heard this lot, well i think you better go and get this. Go on, get up, walk to the store. Go in, say 'hello i am a keen purchaser of awesome music and am pleased to be as ripped off by you as possible Mr HMV as long as it means i am a step closer to spiritual contentment.' Talking Heads are loved by quirky people the world over, but i am not happy about this. Yes, they are off-centre 'arty' types, but this doesn't recommend a record to most people. It probably does quite the opposite. So what i want to say instead is that this is unbelievably great danceable pop music. The first thing i ever heard of Talking Heads was Road To Nowhere, or rather i knew of the song, thought it was OK, you know like 'Sweet Home Alabama'or the Eagles 'Hotel California.' But sitting down, putting the disc on, going to track 9, hearing the chorus thinking 'hmm thats nice if faintly strange', hearing the thumping drums, beginning to stir in your seat, hearing David Byrne's sly 'yeaah' and then just jumping out of your seat going 'jesus christ i have just seen the light' - and feeling like there is no-where you can go, nothing you can do to express how wonderful this is - Road To Nowhere, yes even that fits into place - defiance in the face of the end, sheer brilliant enpowering defiance........ The only thing wrong with this compilation is the running order - for the virgin listener I mean, because Psycho Killer is not as 'soulful' as the rest and it probably should'nt start the album. But then again, it is a classic. All you have to do is wipe your mind clean and step into the music. Just thinking about this album makes you want to put it on. If you are happy, this album. If you are sad, this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 19 Sep 2007
By 
C. Calisgil "Leyla" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
I was a great fan of Talking Heads during the 80's after watching them in concert on TV. The song that's always stayed with me over the years is 'Once in a Lifetime', which is probably their best known track and should be their signature. I bought this CD when I was feeling nostalgic, but I'm so pleased I did - brilliant - I'm still a fan! 'Road to Nowhere', 'Psycho Killer', etc., I can still imagine the young David Byrne in concert as I happily dance around the living room! It's right on top of the pile now and enjoys a very regular play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once in a lifetime: Iconic, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
I've not always been a huge fan of Talking Heads but the title track is definately an iconic song of our times without doubt.Remember the video that accompanies the performance?Beautiful!

This is a terrific compilation of their hits both big and small,and Amazon currently have great prices for the CD.An excellent way to catch up with the band's work.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
brilliant all round, talking heads excellence..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Compliation, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
I liked this CD a lot after seeing TH being featured in the film 20ft From Stardom singing Slippery People, an interest was born to get to know more about TH and their music. This CD gave me a wonderful insight into their music and style. I liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd of talking heads, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
now if you like or like me absolutely love talking heads this 1 is for you...what an amazing cd..well worth the price as there isnt a bad tune on it ...well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
Nice to hear these tracks again, still sounds innovative!
Would recommend to fans and converts alike, a vital album for any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant cd, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
if you love talking heads you will love this cd. having lost mine years ago I was delighted to be able to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it for the ones you know, love it for the ones you didnt, 17 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
This CD has all the best talking heads songs on it, I first bought it for 'once in a lifetime' but ended up changing my favourite from 'and she was' to 'nothing but flowers'. Pop with 'O' levels. fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trip down their alley, 27 July 2001
This review is from: Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads (Audio CD)
This CD is absolutley fantastic. This has been my anthem CD for many of my student years, and since then has been on top of my pile of CD's. Although mostly undiscovered (I believe) amongst the "modern generation", they have such a fantstic collection of songs that anyone that "gives it a go" will find at least one song they absolutley go mad for; and will find an absolute treasure somewhere on the collection. I love them ... really because of this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads
Once In A Lifetime: The Best Of Talking Heads by Talking Heads (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews