Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dense, rhythmic, and transcendent.
The Colour of Spring is one of those great records of the 80's that most people seem to forget... too busy trying to reunite the members of Berlin or gearing up for a new release from Duran Duran, and so on. It sounds like nothing else, or at least, it sounds like nothing else in comparison to the majority of mid-eighties rock... with Mark Hollis creating a sublime...
Published on 11 Sep 2005 by Jonathan James Romley

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transitional piece
I only got this album recently having already been familiar with either end of Talk Talk's career. Being around when the band first appeared, I always felt they had more than the average New Romantic act - Hollis's voice, the quality of the song structures and highly charged lyrics all gave their music that extra class.

On that basis and despite the at-times...
Published on 17 Jun 2009 by Martyn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Talk Talk Talking, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
A genuine classic. Everything came together for Talk Talk on this album after the dance oriented cuts prevalent on earlier releases. It was quite the step forward. Brilliant compositions - the uplifting Happiness Is Easy; the inspired single Life's What You Make It; the driving Living In Another World; the atonal Chameleon Day (a foretaste of what was to come on the groundbreaking Spirit of Eden); the anthemic Time Is Time. Every track a gem. Unusual arrangements, diverse instrumentation, massed choirs, fantastic rhythms, and the amazing Variophon. Of all the so-called New Wave bands of the '80s, Talk Talk were genuinely the most experimental, and by that very token, the most interesting and lasting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of pop, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
Having got into Talk Talk after their hit 'Today' I was greatly surprised by this album, which was another departure from their previous two styles. Although 'Spirit Of Eden' is also a masterpiece it's not a pop album and is totally introspective. This however, has a perfect combination of upbeat melodic songs and more introspective pieces, it's also strong lyrically, which features less on 'Spirit...' If you only bought one of their album i'd say it would have to be this one, wonderful, complex, melodic, timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl many moons ago and bought this as a replacement. As good as ever, if not better as no crackling on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stone cold classic, 29 April 2013
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
Re-discovered after a long absence when I lost the CD and found it again.

It's as much about the space between the music as the music itself. Extraordinary music that we'll still be listening to in 30 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spring has come!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
One of the best spring music albums of all times. Though released a long time ago, the album still catches with its freshness and mysterious mood. And the evergreen "Life Is What You Make It"... Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 1980s?, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
I think so - and ordered this album from Amazon having lost my original copy some years ago. Colour of Spring was Talk Talk's big hit - but already you can hear the direction the band was to take in tracks like April 5th and Chameleon Day. The final song Time it's Time is transcendental. Very evocative - and a reminder of times and friends past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definititive & Iconic musical work of art, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
There is undoubtedly great art of all types created in all eras generating a wide range of subjective opinions.
The 80's is no different and the Pop music arena of the time was the breeding ground of many great bands
and their repertoire.

For me what stood out was one album which I don't think it would be over stating the mark to say was a work of art
and created by a true genius - the sadly all too long reclusive i.e Mark Hollis.

Ground breaking and ahead of it's time 'The Colour of Spring' would have been a world class creation
in any decade a true test of greatness. The album tugs at the very sinews of your soul and being
and plays almost like a symphony of connected moods to the very heart of dreams.

Not so much an album of crowd pleasing hits designed to satisfy the rapacious commercial demands of record companies and teenage girls ( brave in itself and suicide for lesser artists in the 80's)
it is one magnifcient step in the creative journey of Talk Talk and Mark Hollis.

Everyone should own a copy of 'The Colour of Spring'. It is a unique musical creation. A work of true genius. No one else came as close in the 80's and arguabley ever since.

I should know I recently spent a not inconsiderable amount of money buying the original artwork for the album by renowned artist, James Marsh

Always keep a copy close because it really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best album of the 80s, 30 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
i still rate this as the best album of the 80s and is by far and away my favourite ever album, abbey road is second and whos next is third. Its just perfectly crafted and at the time was revolutionary, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST ABOUT PERFECT, 24 Jan 2012
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
this is almost perfect started off an 80's pop band but gradually evolved into their own style ambient jazz rock call it what you want brilliant spirit of eden offten get name checked but this is just as good .hear something different every time i listen cant praise it highly enough. i think i was only 16 when i first heard it saw them live in newcastle hasnt dated one jot GENIUS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever recorded.... ever!, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Colour Of Spring (Audio CD)
How I wish Talk Talk would reunite! My favourite album of all time. Not one poor track on it with Give it Up just taking the honours! Saw them in '86 in Manchester.
25 years later I still love this album as well as the two classics that followed. Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colour Of Spring
The Colour Of Spring by Talk Talk (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews