Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional - What more can I say!
This is undoubtedly the best of William Orbit's fantastically palatable ambient music. It features (like Strange Cargo III) the dulcet tones of the lovely Beth Orton and is more imaginative, creative and entrancing than Orbit's previous work.
Published on 19 April 2000 by tenches@netscapeonline.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not one of his best bar one track
Published 2 months ago by aero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional - What more can I say!, 19 April 2000
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
This is undoubtedly the best of William Orbit's fantastically palatable ambient music. It features (like Strange Cargo III) the dulcet tones of the lovely Beth Orton and is more imaginative, creative and entrancing than Orbit's previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 31 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
It's hard to decide which is better, Strange Cargo III or this latest offering by William Orbit. I strongly suggest you buy both. Strange Cargo and Strange Cargo II, are also both worth a listen but if you don't already own them, I would suggest just buying his 'Very Best Of' Album instead, as his latest albums are far better. I bought Strange Cargo Hinterland (along with S.C. III) while at Uni and they are both still amongst my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever., 29 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Good and unique are two words that drift to mind. The clever combination of high-pitched, good feeling sounds with some, not-too-loud big beat bass and swishy vocals is.. well, clever. Good album to chill out too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fourth In The Series, or first ?, 18 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
This is really the fourth in the series from William Orbit. The artiste's own name has been removed and replaced with the Strange Cargo label. This co-incided with the birth of the N-Gram label that saw William Orbit release Albums by Torch Song and Caroline Lavelle. A fourth Album was due for release but was removed from the shelf on it's first day of sale due to Copyright problems. It has taken around 4 years and the final album from the label has just been released - pieces in a modern style. For those of us lucky enough prior to the album releases a four track sampler was distributed giving a taster of one song from each album. This album shows how far Orbit has moved since the first Strange Cargo, he even manages to improve uppon the excellent third album and the glorious 'Water from a vine leaf'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying this album., 16 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
I have been a big fan of William Orbit since back in my university days, I would say that this is his best album release, probably only the first in the Strange Cargo series comes close.
I have come back to this album so many times, there really are no particularly bad tracks at all although Montok Point is probably worth skipping past. It is full of some wonderfully haunting sounds and great guitar work (particularly on El Ninjo - my favourite track by far).
I guess this does fit in under the general 'Chill Out' category but putting this work into the context of when it was released, it is a really original piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite William Orbit album, 18 Sept. 2003
By 
Robert S. Truesdell (Costa Mesa, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Can't buy this in USA. I swear we have such a provincial and limited scope of awareness in this country. Anyway, easy enough to pop over here and buy it.
This album is very refined and sublime. It slowly grew on me for about a year, then sort of leveled off to a still very high appreciation level. The masterful craftsmanship and studio acuity serve to puctuate the quality of the art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised..., 26 Oct. 2012
By 
TechMick (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Not because I was expecting it to be poor but I had no idea, having not heard it at all, what it would be like. It is excellent. There are are a few which stand out for me. Million Town and She Cries Your Name are two, but there is hardly a duff track on it. The Name of The Wave really stands out for me. I have had problems stopping myself from overplaying it. Just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars correction, 10 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Actually, I think you'll find this is the fourth in the Strange Cargo series. There is also a best of album, though this is missing the excellent "Million Town".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle but not bland, good to be alive sounds. I like them!, 4 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Tugging gracefully like a boat trying to be a ship, hinterland is never less than melodic and always engaging, despite its misleading 'ambient'tag. Million Town, track one,tries its hand at oriental living before moving cheesily away to a completely new neighbourhood where pianos line up with the ghosts of influences past, providing a familiar landscape that feels instantly comfortable and reassuring. Why the volume suddenly increases 2/3 rds of the way in is a mystery though.
'She cries your name' familiar to those possessing the debut album by Beth Orton, follows the same pathways as the gentler Orton version, but is a much richer brew of swirling sound incorporating the hallmark touches of William Orbit who layers sound for England. Beth Orton once again provides the vocals and for me ,this is a more satisfying mix altogether.
William Orbit is a creative force to be reckoned with, this album provides a good opportunity for those unfamiliar with his work to get a slice of where his head is at. It has its faults, the background talking in 'Montok Point'is distracting and adds nothing to the work and the style has been heavily copied.
Hulaville has to be cranked up to neighbour irritating levels to be fully appreciated but well worth the aggro. Kiss of the Bee is,well so pretty it shouldn' be allowed out on its own.With a bit more effort it could have made it to a reggae track as the bass line grunts looking for syncopation that never materialises-pity.
I suspect you get the drift-gentle without being bland,dancey without breaking into a sweat.Early morning sun coming up behind you, feeling good to be alive sort of sounds. I like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Cargo: Hinterland (Audio CD)
not one of his best bar one track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Cargo: Hinterland
Strange Cargo: Hinterland by William Orbit (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews