Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More enjoyable than it has been for a long time
Given that this album is 20 years old and has been subject to no small amount of discussion regarding its status as "the best album ever" and whether it deserves that title (it doesn't; what does?), it would seem churlish to talk about the subjective quality of the songs on it. You probably know them, and know whether you love them or not. I loved them passionately 15...
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Sick Mouthy

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS
This is a waste of money.

There's no denying the original album is fabulous, and with the remastering job it sounds even better. This re-release is the earlier, slimmer version. Later versions of the CD also included 'Elephant Stone', and the longer version of 'Fool's Gold'. This new version does have the longer 'Fool's Gold'-- it should also have 'Elephant...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by David P. Weber


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. James J. Arnott (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There ain't much that can be said about this album that hasn't been written before but here goes. I didn't think you could improve on perfect but i was wrong Leckie and Brown have done a fantastic job of remastering this "Classic" album. The bass is clearer as are the vocals, and Squires guitar sounds as fresh as it did all those twenty years ago.

Anyone that hasn't heard the roses or believe the hype should listen to this. Nevermind Oasis, Radiohead, Coldplay or any of the numerous pretenders to the Indie crown. There has never been or ever will be a debut album that swaggers in its own self-belief as the Stone Roses does from the opening of "Adored" with that wonderful rumbling bass-line through to the last jingles of Squire's guitar on "Ressurection" this is a masterpiece. Well worth sitting in anyones cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best debut album ever made, 16 Dec 2003
By 
Wilich (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
This album remains six years after I originally bought it one of my favourite albums. It has a timeless feel to it and is an album you never ever tire of hearing.
Very rarely do bands hit the road with their best album but this is certainly the case with The Stone Roses. From the build-up in I Wanna Be Adored through to classic I Am The Resurrection this album just gets better and better. Every song, including Don't Stop, is fantastic with Waterfall and I Am The Resurrection standing out as perhaps the best. In fact it was so good that they took five years to create a follow up which whilst being good could never compete with perhaps the best debut album ever made.
If you haven't already bought this album buy it because it will not fail to dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that changed the world, 16 Dec 2003
By 
B. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
The Stone Roses grew out of the cold hard working class streets of Manchester, in a time when the only good music around had been made 10 years previous and electronica was turning the world an foul dayglow pink. This album saved music, like an oasis in a barron landscape the roses were a shot in the arm for anyone with taste in the 80's. Along with the Mondays and Joy Division the stone roses brought Manchester to life and changed music forever.
Every track on this album would be the stand out track on any other indie/rock since. If you like any brit pop from oasis to Coldplay you have this album to thank for there existance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a vintage album, 8 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
Now all the people of Manchester who was going out to The Hacienda, Hippodrome and anywhere legal will have stumbled across the best band from Manchester, The Stone Roses, this album escalating from the world-famous Madchester scene (with the likes of the smiths, 808 state, happy mondays and so on). This album brings together the best underrated guitarist of his generation and the best bassist of his generation (John Squire and Mani) and with that added Ian Brown's vintage vocals made this the seventh best selling album of all time and with tracks like Waterfall, I Wanna Be Adored, I am The Ressurection and She Bangs The Drums make this an electrifying album which should be owned by every true music fan and for those who don't own it. or worst still who have never heard of The Stone Roses, one phrase for you, 'Wake up and smell the coffee'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only have one album..., 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
I'd give it 6 if I could. I've never listened to an album so much - you can listen to nothing else for months and never bore of any of it. A main thing about the 'Roses is that the more you listen, the more you realise how perfectly timed and complementary the make up is: driving fill-in beat, softly drip-drop bass and Pollocked scale guitar. The music all fits perfectly but is still distinct enough to unlock. And with lyrics delivered by someone who seemingly believes them, somehow the confidence/arrogance rubs off. And at the back of it all, Reni is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Adorable, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
10 years after its initial release, The Stone Roses' debut album still sounds tremendous. I Wanna Be Adored remains almost perfect with its adulation demanding lyrics lifted by John Squire's liquid guitar shimmer, Mani's portentous bassline and Reni's funky drummer shuffle. Waterfall sees Squire pulling off inspired solos and Sugar Spun Sister is the perfect love song. She Bangs The Drums, I Am The Resurrection and This Is The One are all still simply stunning. To try and describe the feelings sewn by listening to this album is impossible. Here was a band - and an album - in a million. There are videos, pieces of artwork and rarities thrown on here, but it is the original CD that still fascinates and makes you wonder, was it all really so easy? Looking back, The Stone Roses couldn't hope to top this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time, it grows on you, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
Yep, this is the one, THE stone roses album that everyone raves about. You put it on, and some of it sounds quite nice, but somehow you don't get it. But play it a couple more times, and suddenly something clicks and you hear the beauty in it, the harmonies, the guitar, the dark lyrics, it's all there. OK so the first track isn't the best, but after that they are all good. "This is the one" must be one of the best tracks ever recorded. I used to be a big Beatles fan, I have every original album they issued in the UK, but I prefer this to the whole lot of them. Magic. Perhaps inevitable they could never match it, but what a waste. Ah well. It only makes the beauty more poignant. This is a moment of glory - in fact, history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable celebration, 2 Oct 2009
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, we all know the album, the music, the era - love it or hate it you can't ignore it or deny it's importance. I personally think that it is one of the most perfectly crafted albums of all time - but many will disagree!

So what of this reissue? Well, it's the middle priced package of a set of three 20th anniversary editions, and is a limited edition of goodness knows exactly quite how many. The basic edition just features the remastered CD, this Legacy edition has an additional bonus CD and DVD, and finally the Collector's edition has more goodies than anyone could possibly need or want- including 180g vinyl LPs!

I bought this Legacy version and found it to be reasonable value for what you get. The remastered CD does sound a bit different to the original recording - but I personally never found the original to have been particularly badly recorded! Unlike the new Beatles remasters where you can actually hear a sonic improvement in the new versions over the old - with the Roses the versions are just different, and some people will still prefer the original release.

The bonus material is interesting rather than essential, and the second CD will not stand up to many repeated playings. The DVD features some videos as well as the Blackpool gig and is nice to have. The Stone Roses is an important album and Sony were right to commemorate an anniversary for it - whether the 20th was the right one, however, I'm not sure! The album itself is undoubtedly worth five stars, but I'll knock one star off this package at Sony's asking price. A bit cheaper and it would have been better value and warranted the full five stars. Not a bad package but one for the fans really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been the best band ever....., 6 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
I first listened to this 'album' on vinyl back in early 1991. The opening throbbing bass of 'I wanna be adored' capitivated me in a way no opening of an album ever has before or since.
As the album progressed through Waterfall, Bye Bye Badman, Elizabeth my Dear, Made of Stone, Shoot you Down and penultimately This is the One, I knew that I was listening to something special and didn't think it could get any better.
I listened transfixed and remember that I was so astounded at 'I am the resurrection' that I sat there for a good 10 minutes afterwards taking in what I had just heard.
I still get the same feeling when I listen to 'I am the resurrection' on CD nearly ten years later(The vinyl long since worn out!)..... The Second coming is a great record but it did not have the same impact as the first(Although I would still highly recommend that CD to anyone). I felt that the Stone Roses could have achieved and were capable of so much more.
I cannot recommend this album highly enough as it should be in every CD collection. The Stone Roses by the Stone Roses is a truely defining piece of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, brilliant, wonderful music, 28 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. A. Miles "Al Ov N.H.E." (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stone Roses (Audio CD)
I'm sure no-one who has heard this album will doubt that it deserves five stars. Every so often a band comes along whose every member brings something irreplaceable to the music and the stone roses are in this category. all the "critics" say that ian brown has a weak voice but this album wouldn't have worked with jeff buckley on vocals would it? i first heard the hypnotic guitar of john squire when he guested with oasis at knebworth in 96. i was 14 and i twagged school to buy this record 2nd hand the next day. it remains in my top ten albums of all time and i'm now 22. it is simply wonderful, wonderful, life-affirming pop music. it is not "indie" or "alt-rock," it's simply pop. in the same way as oasis, along with the flaming lips and (i mean this) michael jackson, the stone roses are capable of conjuring up music that defies any sort of negativity. there is absolutely nothing wrong with this disc. even the sleeve is great. it would be stupid to pick out a best song as i change my mind about which one it is every day. there isn't a worst song, obviously. if you don't already own this record you're an idiot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac639e58)

This product

The Stone Roses
The Stone Roses by The Stone Roses (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews