Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here Is A Very Under-rated Singer, 9 July 2009
By 
Stuart A Shaw (Glengowrie, Sth Aust) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This is just about the only way you can source Crispian St. Peters A & B sides, plus much of his later, and quite excellent work on one CD. I bought this mainly for "Your Ever Changing Mind", missing from the Follow Me set I had purchased earlier. This song was a reasonable hit in Adelaide, Sth Aust and I was surprised to learn from the terrific booklet that comes with this CD, that the track was the B side in the UK. St.Peters deserved better sucess sales-wise and one is left to ponder why Decca failed to promote him as they did with others like the Rolling Stones and Marianne Faithfull. What is even more surprising is the quality of some of his later work. Tracks such as ""Wandering Hobo", "Oh Caroline" and "It Ain't The Same" are really very good and must have suffered from total lack of airplay in the UK and evidently didn't even get issued for the Australian market. A real pity, they are quality songs. Even if you only have a passing interest in Crispian St. Peters ("Changes" is a beautiful song) this CD is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk-pop singer of the sixties, 28 Oct 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Crispian, a former soldier, was expected to become a major star but didn't. He once told the world that he could write better songs than the Beatles and declared that they were past it. He also said he could sing as well as Elvis Presley and he could make him look like the statue of Liberty. He also claimed to be more exciting than Tom Jones. If he'd come even close to being right about all that, he would indeed have been a major star.
As it was, his first two singles (At this moment, No no no) both failed to chart. Having failed with two self-penned songs, he was persuaded to cover an American song - You were on my mind, a major American hit for We five. This became his biggest UK hit, peaking at number two. It remains the song he is best remembered for in his homeland. A year after its UK success it made the American top forty.
The next single, Pied piper, made the top five in Britain and America. It did even better in Canada, where it went all the way to number one. With a major international hit behind him, Crispian looked as if he was well set for stardom. It didn't happen. The follow-up. Changes (a cover of a Phil Ochs song) was a minor UK hit but that marked the end of his UK chart career. Crispian's boastful image had upset too many people in the music business and those people were able to wreak their revenge.
Crispian had several more singles, all but three of which are included in this set. Several B-sides and album tracks are also included. Crispian's life after stardom is sad but it seems that he has come to terms with his situation.
Crispian's style began as folk-pop but later tracks have a country influence. He even wrote and recorded a sequel song to Take me home country roads (Country roads I almost made it back). Crispian also covered John Denver's original song but that cover is omitted from this set.
All the essential tracks are here. I am not familiar with Crispian's other recordings but if (as one reviewer suggests) they are better than what's here, I'd certainly like to hear them. For somebody who only had two major hits, this is a brilliant compilation.
If you are interested in folk-pop music of the sixties, Crispian is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology review, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Knowing Crispian St Peters because of "You were on my mind" and "The Pied Piper" plus another track on You Tube did not prepare me for this album. I have played it virtually ever since because there are many unknown songs that are of a very high standard. There is a strong country influence in many of the tracks which could suit a wider audience than 60's nostalgia and his rendition of the Patsy Cline classic "I fall to pieces" is perhaps the best male rendition of this I have heard. "Changes" and "But she's untrue" are great songs that deserved to be big hits Phil Och's lyrics on "Changes" and the lovely guitar work on "But she's untrue" are outstanding. Crispian's "Country Roads" follow up and "Caroline" are both catchy songs that keep on your mind. All in all this is a great album and well worth the asking price if you liked his music or enjoy country music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising CD, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I only know of Crispians main hits so I need to play this cd a few more times to get to know the other songs. I was pleasantly surprised when I first listened to the cd to realise how talented he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I JUST BOUGHT IT ON SPEC' MAINLY DUE TO THE COUPLE OF HITS HE HAD WAY BACK, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
NOT LIKE A LOT OF THESE OLD ACTS THAT I TEND TO BUY THIS WAS A PLEASANT SURPRISE WHICH MEANS THAT IT WONT GET LOST IN MY COLLECTION BUT WILL BE PLAYED AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modest & melancholic beauty, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Opens with 'You Were On My Mind' ("I've got troubles whoa woe I've got worries") and (with a slight nod to Elvis) it shows that Crispian has a gentle modest sounding voice more suited to folk protest & C&W rather than pop but it's a strong start. 'The Pied Piper' one of the most special songs from the 60s...but alas with those sinister words "that your life has kicked you" indicating not quite the jolly song that the flute seemingly suggests. Then an anticlimax via 'Free Spirit' which was a fairly poor choice as a single. 'But She's Untrue' (a pity Repertoire didn't compile this in true chronological order) the follow up to 'Changes' is a fine enough song though really not single material. Now comes 'Changes' which is for me anyway the best single that Crispian released. Written by Phil Ochs (brilliant lyrics) & sung in Crispian's soft melodious voice(s) (counter to himself) it still sounds brilliant today. Then comes 'Carolina' which was a 1968 A side & actually quite excellent & is followed by the strident 'At This Moment' & 'No No No' being Crispian's first two singles which are each pretty good (Crispian wrote both). 9th up the Fortunesesque 'Your Ever Changing Mind' is fine & after (the following 20) then things dip a little but with 'Do Daddy Do', 'It Ain't The Same', 'Sweet Lies', 'Please Take Me Back', 'Country Roads (I Almost Made It Back)', 'Sailing Deep Water' still working some magic. A couple of his better ones 'My Little Brown Eyes' & 'Almost Persuaded' are missing, but with at least 6 brilliant tunes then still a very impressive collection. Sung beautifully & modestly with a melancholic feel you can't help but like them. Crispian St. Peters will be greatly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crspian St' Peters. Anthology CD, 5 May 2012
By 
Michael Mullen "Michael Mullen." (Northern Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I have been looking for Crispian St' Peters on CD for ages So I was very happy when this CD was released as well as the other CD 'Follow Me' The Anthology CD has a very good collection of songs including the hit 'You Were On My Mind' etc. This CD will please many of his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH IT, 16 Aug 2010
By 
E. SMITH (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a very good Album it has all Crispians hits including
Pied Piper
on it plus other songs I dont know, but I like this album.
definately worth buying if you like Crispians music!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old time music, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I liked this cd as i remember growing up with the music being played on the radio and dancing or humming along to the tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crispian St Peters, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Excellent cd from your services
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology
Anthology by Chrispian St Peters (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews