Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Deep House mellow vibe masterpiece!
This is a singularly brilliant album. I've had it now for 3 years and still get lost in its sumptuous variety. If you want quality deep house that will hold your interest and carry on revealing new facets of itself over time then this is a must. If you like commercial 1234, bang, bang, thump, thump, stuff then you might find it a little bit too subtle for your taste. The...
Published on 24 Nov 2000 by mathew.sullivan@gtonline.net

versus
7 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much like hard work to list too
I like Saint Gemain a lot but this album did nothing for me and came as a big comedown compared to Tourist and Des Pres Cafe Vol.3. The sound quality was also a little too harsh and saturated and the bass level is far too high. It lacks tunefulness and becomes too much like hard work to list too.
Published on 27 Jun 2003 by Johan De-silva


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Deep House mellow vibe masterpiece!, 24 Nov 2000
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
This is a singularly brilliant album. I've had it now for 3 years and still get lost in its sumptuous variety. If you want quality deep house that will hold your interest and carry on revealing new facets of itself over time then this is a must. If you like commercial 1234, bang, bang, thump, thump, stuff then you might find it a little bit too subtle for your taste. The hidden bass lines and builds creep up on you with such intricacy you wonder how he gets away with it. Mr Navarre is a genius without a doubt. The more recent release "Tourist" has had quite a lot of coverage and is itself pretty damn good but "Boulevard " is a better album I reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's cool... and very very funky, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
All I can really say is... GO AND BUY THIS ALBUM. Ludovic Navarre has produced something here that is quite out of the ordinary. After a long hard stressful day, come in, throw everything on the floor, and put this on to sooth your senses. Tracks such as Thank you Mum (4 Everything you did) and Street scene (4 Shazz) are sensational - the chilled groove with jazz snippets slowly bubbling their way up through are mindblowingly excellent. If that ain't good I don't know what is! You can find equally funky tunes on St Germain's newer albums 'Tourist' and 'From Detroit to St. Germain'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the meaning of life, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Boulevard [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I believe this is the best jazz house record ever made or ever to be made. Even for jazz fans , this record shows a quality and taste in beautiful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best house music with serious jazz sounds, 23 Dec 2001
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
I've had it now for six years and I still think it's the best house/jazz record haver made it.Just put the cd on your stereo, close your eyes and just start feeling the power of this record. I sincerely recommend it to every real house music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent contemporary jazz/house crossover., 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Boulevard [VINYL] (Vinyl)
St. germain provide an excellent selection for searchers of contemporary electronic music, following the example of US3's jazz sampling practice, St. germain stick to jazz more than their blue note peers US3 and explore the sounds of modern sampling and beat producing machinery combined with live saxophone, guitars and piano. A truelly marvellous recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent listening in the car!, 10 May 2000
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
A cool, sometimes funky mixture of soft house and open jazz. This record in excellent in-car listening. The creative use of sax and muted trumpet blends well with effective bass / beat and vibes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Jazz, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
Have had Tourist CD since we first heard it on a beach holiday in Turkey, Decided to buy Boulevard and like it as much if not more than Tourist. Great for background sound for evening BBQ parties or just chilling out. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Jazz Fusion, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
Love this album! have always enjoyed Tourist so decided to dig further, and plan to dig further on Ludovic Navarre who writes under other aliases. Only sorry there aren't more albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, 5 April 2013
By 
Barry Spall (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
Was recommended by a friend as not my usual taste in music. But very impressed so bought his other album as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St.Germain-Boulevard, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Boulevard (Audio CD)
I have only just come across Ludevic Navarre aka St. Germain but what a find, stunning album. This cd along with 'The Tourist' are definitely my current favourites, can't stop playing them. Considering these albums are 10 years old they are still very fresh sounding easy to listen to and not too deeply jazzy. Am now going to work my way through the others in this series. Happy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Boulevard
Boulevard by St. Germain (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews