Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great contribution
Squeeze had its roots in the same UK lyricism and wit as late 1970s Elvis Costello. These charming songs succeed through their deft characterisation and catchy tunes. There is also plenty of stylistic variety, from the plaintive rock of Goodbye Girl to the out and out country of Labelled With Love. Other great songs here include Tempted, Pulling Mussels From The Shell, Up...
Published on 27 Nov 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
great songs but poor rendition on cd - disappointed. Big fan of squeeze in 70's and 80's - the songs stand the test of time but the standard of the recordings on this cd by modern standards are woeful
Published 24 months ago by P. Bradshaw


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great contribution, 27 Nov 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Squeeze had its roots in the same UK lyricism and wit as late 1970s Elvis Costello. These charming songs succeed through their deft characterisation and catchy tunes. There is also plenty of stylistic variety, from the plaintive rock of Goodbye Girl to the out and out country of Labelled With Love. Other great songs here include Tempted, Pulling Mussels From The Shell, Up The Junction, Tale Me I'm Yours, Hourglass, King George Street and Trust Me To Open My Mouth. This is fine pop music, quirky and charming, especially when Squeeze go into story-telling mood as on Labelled With Love. The sound is peculiarly British but the songs have universal appeal. Squeeze emerged during the punk revolution but they outlived that era and their memorable songs have stood the test of time very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Very Cool For Cats!, 20 Sep 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Originally released around a decade ago, this album chronicles the evolution of the band, from the hard sounds of the late 70's (Take Me, I'm Yours, Cool for Cats) to the refined, pop sound of the late 80's (Hourglass etc). As someone who had never hear dany Squeeze until a few weeks ago, this album provides the variety and originality needed to soothe the new listener, whilst stir and rouse the die hard fans as well! When Crowded House's Greatest hits came out a number of years ago, the advertising slogan was something like 'it's amazing how many Crowded House songs you know'... wsell, in my opinion, this can also be applied to Squeeze. Labelled with love, Black Coffee in Bed, Up the Junction and Another Nail In My Heart to name a few. In the words of the first track... 'Take Me I'm Yours, because dreams are made of this'... Top marks to Difford and Tilbrook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 19 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
i may only be 19 yrs old and probably not really old enough to know them properly, but they were an awesome band. i love every single song of theirs. its still ace now. so go, go buy it. u will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sample this and you'll be hooked, 2 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
File under Unsung Heroes - Squeeze can have a right go at the title of the UK's most under-appreciated pop/rock band of the last 30 years. This collection showcases their finest moments, from the sublime Annie Get Your Gun and Is That Love to the great cockney rock of Cool for Cats, Up the Junction and Take Me I'm Yours. Notwithstanding the geezer personas, Tilbrook and Gifford are gifted songsmiths, and this is one seriously good compilation. Look out for Last Time Forever, an undiscovered classic. A must buy cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality always stands the test of time, 20 April 2010
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I watched Squeeze far too many years ago at the Liverpool Royal Court.Three things stood out,the amazing voice of Glenn Tilbrook,the amazing Jools Holland on Piano and then the appalling language from Jools that continued throughout the entire concert!The music has stood the test of time because the quality of the band shines thro' on every track.This album is at a giveaway price,worth every penny and i just hope Squeeze carry on entertaining is their own unique,quirky way that wants you to hear them time and time again.It's wrong to highlight individual tracks 'cos the whole CD is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of Slap and Tickle, 21 Jan 2009
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I saw Squeeze in concert in 1981 when I suppose they were at the height of their popularity.
This CD brought it all back, it's a 'must buy' for not just the original fans but new fans too.

A great collection of all their hits, some real gems including Tempted, Take me I'm yours, Slap and Tickle, Up the Junction, Goodbye Girl and many more.

I remember most of the tracks on this CD, all of my favourites are there, catchy tunes where the lyrics actually meant something and amazingly I found I remembered most of them. I'd forgotten how great they were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
William Murphy "murpho" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Hadn't listened to Squeeze in years, in fact, I was never really a big fan of them when they were around! On listening to this, however, I realised just what I was missing - superb album that stands the test of time really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best band, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Have treated myself AGAIN to this cd,seems to go missing every time I have a party for some reason....every song is Squeeze class....everybody should own it( at least once)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
Slowly replacing all the records of my teens - love Squeeze and the tracks bring back some really happy memories. Contains all the hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant compilation, 3 Mar 2014
By 
CoogarUK (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Squeeze had been missing from my collection for far too long so I just had to get this early greatest hits compilation. Brilliant songwriting and a unique sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Squeeze (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews