Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2014
I don't understand the dunderheads reviewing this CD as if it is just a compilation - its their hits done LIVE!
I bought the CD to get a flavour of how they might have sounded like when they were young fresh and relevant. It's an unpleasant reminder for me of another amazing band I wished I'd seen live!
Cool album brothers and sisters - buy it!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
i have liked the specials for a while now after hearing Ghost Town on TV and being completely engrosed. this album is kind of a best of record with a lot of strong and catchy song that make you want to shout 'rude boyz' at the top of your voice :) if you like modern ska/punk, then find out where it came from by listening to these guys.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
My first LP (that I will admit to!) and I still remember the black and white mini skirt my mum made for me..... This brought back all the memories of walking down carnaby street trying to look hip! Great music.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
If you like Ska, and if you like the Specials in particular, then you should buy this. It will have you dancing befoer you know it..terrific.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
a good cd with various ska songs, if you enjoy or used to enjoy ska and want to relive this again, then this is a cd you must get.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I love the specials and have recently seen them in concert and they still have it in spades all these years on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
the band that kicked off the ska music in 1979 most of the classics here ,terry hall and the lads in good form
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Not as good as the original with some great tracks missing but at the price definitely worth a look
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
Why bother?
This is simply a mash of the tracks from 2 great albums.
The Specials is the classic album. More Specials is 2nd best. You need to hear all the tracks. That leaves the non-album tracks. Which aren't here. So its worthwhile getting for 2 kinds of people: people who only like the hits and people who already heard the albums (vinyl owners?) and only like the tracks here.
People who want to complete their hits collections after buying these two albums should look elsewhere for collections including the Special AKA hits- see Free Nelson Mandela, Gangsters (on the US The Specials release)
People who haven't got those tracks or have only The Specials should get More Specials. Not as good, but again it has a unique atmosphere created by the attitude of the songs. Definitely NOT this.
11 comment18 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Too Much Too Young' is a good companion to the `Specials Singles' album but useless as a `Best of' as it contains fourteen tracks culled from across the two studio albums `Specials' and `More Specials' plus the 45 `Rat Race' and the very rare remake of `Rude Boys Outa Jail' (limited edition 45 given away with `More Specials'). It doesn't contain the number one singles `Ghost Town' or `Too Much Too Young' (it does feature the tamer album version of Too Much) or debut single `Gangsters'.

So although it cannot be recommended as an introduction to the band it is a cheap way to get a flavour of both the Specials LP's for a bargain price. At this price it would be rude not to buy it.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.