Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to the ways of old skool ska
i have liked the specials for a while now after hearing Ghost Town on TV and being completely engrosed. this album is kind of a best of record with a lot of strong and catchy song that make you want to shout 'rude boyz' at the top of your voice :) if you like modern ska/punk, then find out where it came from by listening to these guys.
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by sjewkestheloon@hotmail.com

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why bother?
Why bother?
This is simply a mash of the tracks from 2 great albums.
The Specials is the classic album. More Specials is 2nd best. You need to hear all the tracks. That leaves the non-album tracks. Which aren't here. So its worthwhile getting for 2 kinds of people: people who only like the hits and people who already heard the albums (vinyl owners?) and only...
Published on 25 Aug 2004 by Johanus Parr reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to the ways of old skool ska, 18 Aug 2001
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
i have liked the specials for a while now after hearing Ghost Town on TV and being completely engrosed. this album is kind of a best of record with a lot of strong and catchy song that make you want to shout 'rude boyz' at the top of your voice :) if you like modern ska/punk, then find out where it came from by listening to these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why bother?, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
Why bother?
This is simply a mash of the tracks from 2 great albums.
The Specials is the classic album. More Specials is 2nd best. You need to hear all the tracks. That leaves the non-album tracks. Which aren't here. So its worthwhile getting for 2 kinds of people: people who only like the hits and people who already heard the albums (vinyl owners?) and only like the tracks here.
People who want to complete their hits collections after buying these two albums should look elsewhere for collections including the Special AKA hits- see Free Nelson Mandela, Gangsters (on the US The Specials release)
People who haven't got those tracks or have only The Specials should get More Specials. Not as good, but again it has a unique atmosphere created by the attitude of the songs. Definitely NOT this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but No Ghost Town, 1 May 2008
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
`Too Much Too Young' is a good companion to the `Specials Singles' album but useless as a `Best of' as it contains fourteen tracks culled from across the two studio albums `Specials' and `More Specials' plus the 45 `Rat Race' and the very rare remake of `Rude Boys Outa Jail' (limited edition 45 given away with `More Specials'). It doesn't contain the number one singles `Ghost Town' or `Too Much Too Young' (it does feature the tamer album version of Too Much) or debut single `Gangsters'.

So although it cannot be recommended as an introduction to the band it is a cheap way to get a flavour of both the Specials LP's for a bargain price. At this price it would be rude not to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
No ghost town here!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a LIVE album folks!, 21 Jun 2014
I don't understand the dunderheads reviewing this CD as if it is just a compilation - its their hits done LIVE!
I bought the CD to get a flavour of how they might have sounded like when they were young fresh and relevant. It's an unpleasant reminder for me of another amazing band I wished I'd seen live!
Cool album brothers and sisters - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
a good cd with various ska songs, if you enjoy or used to enjoy ska and want to relive this again, then this is a cd you must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
I love the specials and have recently seen them in concert and they still have it in spades all these years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back my 1980's memories so well!, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
My first LP (that I will admit to!) and I still remember the black and white mini skirt my mum made for me..... This brought back all the memories of walking down carnaby street trying to look hip! Great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plain crap!, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
What's the point in buying this album? For those owning both original Specials albums plus the singles collection it's needless to buy this patchwork CD which only includes one previously unissued track (nerve wrecking "rude boys outta jail")that I haven't had in my collection yet. It's even a let down for new listeners since double features of both original albums exist and instead of buying this crude compilation that doesn't even have a proper booklet, you should go for the original recordings. There isn't an underlying concept here - if they had jumbled up live versions, demo tracks alongside with bbc recordings in order to portray the band's career it would have been worth a buy, but this here is just another odds and ends production lacking ideas and concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Too Young (Audio CD)
Arrived quickly brother loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Much Too Young
Too Much Too Young by The Specials (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews