Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best variety of any Scorpions album.
It says a lot for the content of this album that having had two original tapes chewed up I am now buying it on CD. The album has, in my opinion, the best variety of any Scorpions Album. It is worth buying for the first track (Alien Nation) alone. It is probably the heaviest Scorpions song to date and an awsome start to the album. Be prepared for the content to mellow...
Published on 18 Feb 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula rock
This German band has been around since 1971 and created some scorching rock albums down the decades. This was their 16th album and it's a mix of the marvellous and the mundane. Alien Nation is brilliant, a song againt racism with an almost glamrock sound. There are also the MoR ballads like Lonely Nights, which are nothing special. It seems the bnd was treading water...
Published on 4 Mar 2003 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formula rock, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
This German band has been around since 1971 and created some scorching rock albums down the decades. This was their 16th album and it's a mix of the marvellous and the mundane. Alien Nation is brilliant, a song againt racism with an almost glamrock sound. There are also the MoR ballads like Lonely Nights, which are nothing special. It seems the bnd was treading water here. Rather get their classic albums Blackout, Love At First Sting or Crazy World to enjoy the Scorpions at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocrity Rules the Game, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Nev Daimler (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
With `Face the Heat', the Scorpions show some evidence that they still possess the ability to pen a great tune and there are flashes of the brilliance that placed them in the highest echelons of heavy rock just a few years previous. Yet a lot of the album is clichéd material - lightweight melodies and throwaway rockers that are far too flimsy to stick with the listener. Worse, the slow songs are, for the most part, depressingly mediocre, which is an absolute tragedy for a band that throughout a long career had a strong legacy of writing excellent power ballads.
`Face the Heat' certainly starts brightly, with the powerful, brooding metal of `Alien Nation' and the stadium thumper `No Pain, No Gain', but it descends into a mixed bag of half-baked rock songs and cheesy ballads (esp. the bonus tracks). Looking for highpoints, apart from the two opening tracks, `Woman' is a decent love song, thanks to a fine vocal performance from Klaus Meine (though it's no match for `Lady Starlight', let alone `Still Loving You') and `Ship of Fools' has a lively, upbeat and infectious rhythm. But beyond these, it's hard to find much pleasure in this formulaic hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not great but good., 20 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
I would rate all the scorps cd's up to this one as five star. that's 15 solid great metal releases. This was filled with some great songs and alot of average ones. some rock like 'no pain no gain' and others seems more pedestrian. Still a more average scorpions cd is better than some artists best. They wouldn't return to greatness until 'unbreakable'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best variety of any Scorpions album., 18 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
It says a lot for the content of this album that having had two original tapes chewed up I am now buying it on CD. The album has, in my opinion, the best variety of any Scorpions Album. It is worth buying for the first track (Alien Nation) alone. It is probably the heaviest Scorpions song to date and an awsome start to the album. Be prepared for the content to mellow more and more from that point until it ends with Daddy's Girl, which is a somewhat disturbing song about child abuse sung in the form of a lullaby. There are the usual Scorpions ballards and the standard rock tracks to keep fans happy. The only downside that I have found is that it is not such an easy album to listen to as previous albums, but you may still find that you listen to it more. If you only have one Scorpions album in your collection I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Face the Heat, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
Another hit with me, loved all the songs on it, again I highly recommend this to anyone.

A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Slab album, maximum doua piese. bune.. ..., 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
Slab album, maximum doua piese. bune....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
my daughter absolutely love the smell,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec 2014
By 
Richard J. Clarke "rjcoffshore" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Face the Heat (Audio CD)
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Face the Heat
Face the Heat by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews