Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2001
Following on from the pretty much home-produced "Recovery" and "Heartland" albums, "The Cutter and the Clan" was a full-frontal assault on the growing folk-rock market of the 1980s, and remains probably the edgiest of the band's numerous albums. Gaelic pride is writ largely across the album from the opening bars of "Alba", but this is much more than a nationalist rock-out - the band have a global social conscience as well, never more powerfully expressed than in the brilliant protest anthem "Protect and Survive". Much of the album reflects on the experiences of the Scottish emigrants to Nova Scotia in the 18th and 19th centuries, and how the heritage of their descendants mingles with the heritage of modern Scotland, making this a sublime storytelling album as well as one of the best pieces of raw folk-rock ever recorded. There are gentler moments too, in the sublime "Worker for the Wind" and "Hearts of Olden Glory" - a sort of nostalgic look at the past, with a yearning for the future to be better.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Probabaly the best Scottish Rock LP of all time . From start to finish melodic , sung with feeling with a whole lotta soul about what life must be like on the outer hebrides . From where i am listening it must be pretty good . A MUST BUY !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This (1987) is my second favourite album by Runrig, with Searchlight (1989) as the first.
Diffently from Searchlight I don't appreciate fully all songs but surely few songs are great, for example the movimented "Pride of the Summer" and the slower songs are great due mostly to Donnie Munro great voice ("Worker for the wind", "Hearts of golden glory" and "An Ubhal As Airde").
It is more of a 4.5 for me than a 5 but I can't give a 4.5 so I'm giving a 5, reserving 4 for less performing but still good Runrig albums.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I bought this as I'd already had "Mara" since the 90s. I was not disappointed. This is even more proudly nationalistic than Mara but very stirring, drawing on Scotland's history as well as the present day.
As a Scot I simply love the bagpipes and play it at full blast with the roof down in my car much to the bemusement of my French neighbours!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Reacently found out about this band through see one of the band on tv.Brillant album will be buying more from this band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Here, a very fine Runrig disc of wonderful music from yesteryear, another excellent second -hand buy : great value!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Love this album but ave been Runrig follower for a lot of years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
Awesome album from the Kings of the Highlands....especially The Cutter...which benefits from being played really really loud :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 1999
A great collection of songs from Alba - a all time classic, to the slower A worker for the wind. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
This is one of the earliest Runrig albums I bought, and in fairness it contains some of their strongest songs. Unfortunately the production is about the weakest of all of the albums I own. In the more upbeat numbers it has plenty of energy, bordering on being raucous, but the quieter ones are drowned in unnecessary wispy atmospheric effects and reverb. The songs are strong enough to be listened to without all the additional distractions added to them. It's a great shame, but the album is stil worth buying anyway. I prefer "Heartland" and "The Big Wheel". Their best album still has to be the live "Once in a lifetime".
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)