Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Cliff's golden period a 'musical autobiography'
40 GOLDEN GREATS was the first definitive compilation to gather Cliff Richard's biggest hits from his first three decades in music upon its initial release in 1978. This collection can also be observed as a musical autobiography of sorts, tracing his growth as a vocalist while remaining essentially the same.
Disc 1 features his rock 'n' roll years from 1958 to...
Published on 16 July 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST COLLECTION FOR CLIFF FANS
THIS COLLECTION WILL PLEASE CLIFFS MANY MILLIONS OF FANS AND THE CURRENT INVESTIGATION BY THE POLICE AND FILMED BY THE MEDIA IS A TRAVESTY OF HUMAN RIGHTS HOW DID THIS COME ABOUT? SOME DEMENTED CHRISTIAN NOW HAS IDEAS OF COMPENSATION FOR AN ALLEGED INCIDENT THAT HAPPENDED 30YRS AGO .IT WAS PROVED WITH THE SHAMED DCI APRIL CASBURN ALSO A DEVOUT CHRISTIAN THAT THEY CAN...
Published 1 month ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Cliff's golden period a 'musical autobiography', 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
40 GOLDEN GREATS was the first definitive compilation to gather Cliff Richard's biggest hits from his first three decades in music upon its initial release in 1978. This collection can also be observed as a musical autobiography of sorts, tracing his growth as a vocalist while remaining essentially the same.
Disc 1 features his rock 'n' roll years from 1958 to 1963. Most of his great rock 'n' roll moments are here, including "Move It" (his first hit), "Gee Whiz It's You," "Lucky Lips," his excellent cover of Jerry Lee Lewis' "It'll Be Me" and the Elvis-influenced "Nine Times Out of Ten." Some of Cliff's early movie recordings are on this disc as well, like "Livin' Doll" (his first UK #1 hit), "The Young Ones," "Summer Holiday," "Bachelor Boy" and "The Next Time." The rock-driven recordings feature the distinctive guitar picking from The Shadows, who would go on to be Britain's most successful rock 'n' roll group of the pre-Beatles era.
Disc 2 covers the period between 1964 and 1977, with Cliff further developing his craft and maturity as a vocalist. There are fewer uptempo rockers and more of the mellow pop ballads that have dominated his career ever since. The sublime "Visions" and the harmony-laden "Miss You Nights" stand out as flawless performances of well-conceived ballads. This disc also presents his foray into contemporary Christian and inspirational pop, with "Throw Down a Line," "Sing a Song of Freedom" and "Power to All Our Friends" appealing to a mainstream audience. The disco-influenced pop-rock of the secular "Devil Woman" would be his biggest hit in the US, peaking at #6 on the Billboard chart in 1976.
40 GOLDEN GREATS remains one of the best compilations of Cliff Richard's hits. The sound quality on these CDs, however, is horribly inconsistent. But throughout this collection, he manages to retain a youthful vocal style, even when confronted with lightweight material. (Does anybody remember "Wind Me Up [Let Me Go]"?) His phrasing and ability to convey soul and depth of feeling puts many of today's popular singers to shame. They could benefit from Sir Cliff's example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper mono and proper stereo - all original versions as well!!!, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Ian Shepherd (Ickford , Aylesbury, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I finally purchased this double CD after owning a vinyl copy for over 30 years, just to see what versions of the tracks I would get.

I was delighted, therefore, to find that: -

1) With one exception (The Young Ones), those tracks only ever mixed in mono (Living Doll, Move It etc.) are also presented here in proper mono, and not mono reprocessed to stereo. This is a big plus over the vinyl version which gave us the mono mixes overlaid with stereo effects that made Cliff and The Shads sound like they'd recorded their tracks in a shower booth. (Even some of the true early 60s stereo tracks on the vinyl version seemed to suffer from the "shower booth" effect.)

2) Some of the early tracks found on the vinyl release in mono reprocessed to stereo (Theme For A Dream, Do You Want To Dance, etc.) are now available in true stereo, i.e. they've used the genuine stereo masters for this release.

3) The real biggie for me is that this is the only Cliff CD compilation that I've found that uses the right take of "Bachelor Boy." It's presented here in discrete stereo, suggesting that it was mixed down onto two tracks prior to producing the mono mix. The vinyl version of 40 Golden Greats, the Singles Collection CD box set and The Whole Story double-CD all use a different take wherein Cliff gives us a meant-to-be-rousing "Yeeeeaaah" before he launches into the final chorus. This "Yeeeeaaah" wasn't there on the original single. The only other non-vinyl-single release that I have with the correct version on is a stereo vinyl re-issue of the "Summer Holiday" soundtrack LP.

On the downside, some of the masters used are a bit rough in quality, lacking in both the bass and the treble departments. I'll forgive this, however, because the upsides make the purchase so worthwhile and get right a load of things that even "The Singles Collection" gets so wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 and then some!!, 10 Aug 2007
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
Whatever your thoughts on Cliff Richard, you can't deny that he knew a good song when he heard it and turned it into a piece of pop history.

The number of different styles registered in this superb selection is amazing. The infectious groove of "Move it", the heart breaking "Visions", the finger clicking "Do you want to dance", The sheer pop of "Throw down a line" right through to the insanely addictive "I could easily fall in love with you"................have I left anything out? Oh! About another 35 top tracks!

There are so many top tunes here that, like the Beatles, you tend to forget the sheer quality and quantity of his output. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a die hard Cliff fan, I only have the one CD and this is it. However, you can't put a foot wrong with this purchase.

A shame however, that "All my Love" a particular favourite of mine, isn't included. I suppose you can't put 4Ibs of sugar in a 3Ib bag!

Either way, if you're a fan, or like me an admirer of a lot of his work, this is a cracking buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Richard 40 Golden Greats, 4 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I have purchased this album 3 or 4 times now. I had the double album and have renewed the CD several times. It is probably my favourite album.
If you are a Cliff fan, especially if you are over 40, this is a wonderful way of reminiscing throughout his long career, and your own long life!
I intend never to be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Recordings with the true sound, 6 July 2011
By 
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
This is a very fine compilation of Cliff's many hit records but the real special thing about this compilation is that it contains all the original mixes from the period they were originally released in other words the mastering is warm and full of depth as they were originally intended later compilations have been changed and sound brittle with added reverberation, this compilation is highly collectible with audiophiles at a very affordable price grab this while you can as I suspect we will never hear these tracks in such good authentic sound again as modern mastering doesn't suit these tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Cliff, this is excellent, 5 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (MP3 Download)
Some of the tracks are not original, but remastered or remade; and I would not say they were all 'Greats'. However, at this price, it would be good value if you only got 10 that were missing from your collection. The other 30 were a HUGE bonus. I would have paid a lot more to get songs that had been lost from my collection. Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC that stands the test of time, 16 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I bought this as a birthday present for my husband, he plays it whilst cooking . Has the best of Cliff Richard and is timeless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff's hits from 1958 to 1977, 24 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
This set was the definitive Cliff Richard hits collection at the time of its original release on vinyl. Even back then, Cliff had too many hits to include them all, but all the essentials are here, although some might argue about that. A number one hit (I love you) is missing, as is Voice in the wilderness (a number two hit). Brilliant as they are, they are not as revered as some of the other songs that didn't make the top two in the charts, but which are included here. In the comprehensive six CD set covering all Cliff's singles, the first twenty years of his career uses up 75 tracks compared to the 40 here - and it omits Throw down a line (because it's counted as a duet with Hank Marvin, and the boxed set omits duets).
Apart from Throw down a line, this includes all the classics that you want from the first twenty years of Cliff's incredible career including Move it, Living doll, Travelling light, Please don't tease, When the girl in your arms, Young ones, Bachelor boy, The next time, Summer holiday, Lucky lips, One the beach, The minute your gone, Visions, In the country, The day I met Marie, Miss you nights and Devil woman - not forgetting his two Eurovision entries, Congratulations and Power to all our friends. If I haven't listed your favorite among them, don't worry - every track here is a classic.
Of course, for a really comprehensive collection, you must buy that boxed set, but if you are mainly interested in Cliff's sixties music and you don't need to have all the hits from the period this is the compilation for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars important, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I have liked cliff's records ever since I was a child
this album is fantastic, it's only fault being the limited scope
only the hits up until 1977 are included
which means no 'We Don't Talk Anymore' or 'Mistletoe and Wine'
I am pleased to see 'Throw Down A Line' is included
I have always thought this sounded like proto Metallica
this compilation should be updated to 60 Golden Greats in Blu-Ray audio
these songs are an important part of the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found what I was looking for, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I grew up in the 80's listening to my older siblings music. There were a few that I really liked but didn't know the name of the song or artist. I recently found out that Cliff Richard sang 1 of my favourites and as I like some of his other songs decided to get the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40 Golden Greats
40 Golden Greats by Cliff Richard (Audio CD - 1977)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews