Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2015
I was delighted to rediscover this album, which is as fresh now as it was then. The title track is a great combination of classical and rock, better imho than Court of the Crimson King, Mocking Bird, or Atom Heart Mother all of which are in a similar vein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
This is a very beautiful CD. I already have the live "Renaissance at Carnegie Hall" album. However, this CD provides the studio version of the songs and is perfect. Scheherazade is just amazing and one of my favourite Renaissance themes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
A great album especially the title track. I remember hearing this for the first time back in the late seventies and have always liked it. I had a good listen to the album on Spotify recently and it became a must purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
I'm a great fan of Annie and renaissance and this is probably my favourite album. The music is fantastic, well sung with a real feel of 'excitement' and 'atmosphere'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Renaissance should be part of your music collection. Just great sounds from a time lost in history. Annie Haslam's voice is mesmerising - never to be repeated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This is music that doesn't easily fit into an easily explained single genre, which of course is mostly a good thing.
I remember them vaguely from the early to mid 70's but for whatever reason i have always categorized them (in my head) as folk. However when reading Stephen Lambe's book 'Citizens of Hope and Glory-The Story of Progressive Rock' i was surprised to see this album highly recommended as "neo-classical prog rock" so i took the plunge and bought it.
Having listened a few times now i can just about see the prog-rock reference but for me it's more in the vein of symphonic/pomp/folk and although a good album i'm not (yet) totally convinced by it.
Only 4 tracks but one is nearly 11 minutes and the piece de resistance, the title track, nearly 25 minutes.
I think the folkiness comes from Annie Haslam's beautiful voice as she could easily be the singer for Steeleye Span or Fairport Convention etc.
The opener 'Trip to the Fair' has a dramatic piano (an instrument used extensively throughout the album) introduction lasting 3 and a half minutes and sounding at times a lot like Keith Emerson, and also includes an hysterical laugh before settling down into a lovely ballad with hints of jazz and a fairground sounding ending.
The next 2 tracks 'The vultures fly high' and 'ocean gypsy' are more standard affairs with the former having a rockier tone and the latter being more orchestrated although both are quite catchy.
I actually prefer these first 3 tracks and can't get that excited over the closing multi-faceted piece 'Song of Scheherazade' as although technically very clever i've never really been a lover of strings/orchestras and i thought they were too invasive.
I'd give 3.5 stars if i could or 7 out of 10.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Kevin Grey's mastering ticks all the boxes. A beautiful rendition of this mid 70s Progressive Rock classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
Renaissance are one of the best art prog bands ever. Even their different lineups did not change the quality of music they produced. Annie Haslams voice is amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Some great classical influenced songs on there, beautiful vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Great album always was, always will be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)