Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant "classical" rock music, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Renaissance (Audio CD)
The first album from Renaissance, before they transmuted into a soft-rock AOR band, was composed and played by former members of the Yardbirds and is a fantastic mix of classical piano music with what later came to be known as "prog rock" (once Keith Emerson got hold of it and gave it a bad name).

(NOTE: the other members of the Yardbirds formed some minor league band called 'Led something...' and faded into obscurity - or maybe not!)

This was my first introduction to the glories of classical piano, and the tunes from this first album have haunted me ever since the early '70s.
Fabulous vocals from Jane Relf, brilliant keyboards from John Hawken and delicious bubbling bass lines from Louis Cennamo.

A very successful mix of Classical themes and Rock music - at least on this first album. There was a second one (Illusion) which appears to be more a collection of half-rehearsed demos and outtakes. I thoroughly recommend the first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered Masterpiece, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
Dipsy Dave (Thatcham, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Renaissance (Audio CD)
I originally heard and bought this album when I was in my teens. For whatever reason, whether it was because I deemed it to be no longer fashionable, or perhaps because I was just tired of it, I disposed of it a few years later. Even though I'd not heard the album for over thirty years, some of the tunes would still occasionally surface in my head. With this in mind, when I saw it at a bargain price on Amazon, I decided I had to buy it again.
Having just played it this evening, I have to say that if this album were to be released today, it would cause a sensation. There are more ideas crammed into its five (admittedly lengthy) tracks than many of today's bands would come up with in their entire careers. It encompasses everything from rock, to classical, folk, a hint of jazz, and even some early ambient-style music. OK, so some of the classical passages have been plundered, without much alteration, straight from the likes of Beethoven, but the overall effect is never less than mesmerising.
This album certainly doesn't seem to have dated anywhere near as much as some of its contemporaries, partly because of its standard of production, but also because its musical ideas did not, in the main, become cliches of the "progressive rock" genre. Listen to the final track, Bullet, for example. Throughout its duration, you can hear echoes of 90's bands like Primal Scream, hints of Robert Fripp's guitar solo from King Crimson's Moonchild, but this time played on the bass, and a precursor to the kind of ambient sounds that Tangerine Dream would come up with a few years later.
If you're not familiar with this album, but want to hear something interesting and adventurous, and are not put off by the "prog" connotations, then I heartily suggest you buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yardbirds, to one of the first of progressive rock bands, 2 Jun. 2004
By 
R. J. Heath "djaitch" (Loughborough, Leics, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renaissance - Renaissance (Audio CD)
Whilst the new comer to the legendary Yardbirds' line-up, Jimmy Page was the one who took the band's name only to quickly evolved into Led Zeppelin. In the meanwhile, the majority of the Yardbirds became Renaissance.

However, as Renaissance they had largely abandoned R'n'B and instead discovered Beethovan in the company Jim Hawken. As a result their music was a sophisticated hybrid of "Beethovian blues rock". As memories now fade it is difficult to remember whether this album or King Crimsons "Court" was released first in 1969, (and both by Island Records, and "Court" being only a couple of digits lower in Island catlogue numbering). So nowadays when debates comes up about the first true prog album, "Court" is often cited, when in fact the eponymous Renaissance album was originally released about the same time.

Back in 1969 undeground or progressive music fans recognised both albums as ones introducing new ideas played at the highest levels of musiciansship and on well-recorded LPs, - which had only been suggested by the likes of the Moody Blues'" Days Of Future Past", (who were largely ignored in the UK as album-artists at the time) - or more roughly presented by Nice.

Renaissance were picked up by the overground media, and so became more than just a band with an underground following. In particular, the previously straight Jim Mossman, presenter of the new BBC 2 TV's art series broke the rules and had this group of "pop musicians" on his show to discuss and play their music. The public became aware that young, long haired musicians were capable of making more than just 3 minute hits, that were normally forgotten 3 months later. Renaissance and this album opened doors, to be pushed further open with Crimson exposure to the masses through the Rolling Stones Hyde Park free show.

A groundbreaking album, indeed a seminal album: nothing like it had been heard before. Hawken's piano work here is a loud echo of a Beethovan piano concerto played forte, with a sprinkling of the blues Yardbirds had developed and Jane Relf's lovely voice (which I much prefer over Annie Haslam's). As the track listing suggests, there are a couple of long pieces, adopting the so-called symphonic prog structure and allowing these tunes to develop into 10 minute complex arrangements. And the artwork, a picture of Icarus's fall, long lingered in the mind.

As a footnote: This line-up of Renaissance did start to record a second album "Illusion" soon afterwards, some of which was previewed on a BBC Radio One live gig. That album was to be belatedly released. Keith Relf moved on, formed Armageddon, joined Medicine Head and alas died in a tragic accident. They lost the name and found themselves now as Illusion, in competition to the new variant of Renaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneers, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance (MP3 Download)
I saw Keith with Renaissance at the Marquee in late 1969. Their style was unique. I already have the vinyl album but haven't played it for ages. The cd takes me back to the Marquee gig - superb musicians and, for the era, innovative arrangements plus Louis being silly..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Renaissance, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Renaissance (Audio CD)
Yes; of its era but very listenable even now. Some elements might be considered precious today, but the majority of tracks are really lovely. Jane Relf's voice is almost ethereal on "Wanderer"...........that alone made this a worthwhile purchase for me :-)

Not for everyone: suited me sir!

Graham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical meets Rock, 27 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Renaissance (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the first real experimental albums which try to embrace rock music with the culture and pure musicianship of the classics. By the time the first track (Kings and Queens) has ended, you will wonder what has hit you! Then wonder how you managed to live your life so far without this mind opening music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it but then one of my favourite groups, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance (MP3 Download)
As a fan I have to say I love this, but then as a fan I would. I am slowly buying digital copies of their songs although I still have my vinyl.

If you have never heard of them then why not splash out on this one song and see what you think. It won't break the bank and you might find yourself a new band to enjoy.

Being able to buy the albums by individual songs is great, you can download them all or just the favourite songs from that album, and as already said gives the options to those that had never heard of the group to try them out without spending a fortune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable., 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Alan C. Harris "70s man" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance (Audio CD)
This Renaissance is quite like the later development of the band, but the songs are more rambling, a bit less structured. But I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renaissance - Renaissance
Renaissance - Renaissance by Renaissance (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews