Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2002
The first seven tracks cannot be faulted and show a variation of styles all underpinned by Rea's superb guitar playing and, in Joys of Christmas and Gonna Buy a Hat, witty lyrics of the highest quality. After these, the quality varies a bit. However, there is some great work to come in Loving You Again and I Don't Care Anymore. Not quite as consistent an album as Road to Hell or as laid back as Espresso Logic or God's Great Banana Skin but worthy of 4 stars and essential for any Rea fan who picked up on him with RTH.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
This is a quality Rea record - loads of catchy, atmospheric tunes. "Joys of Christmas", "Windy Town", "Gonna buy a hat", "Loving You again" and "Lets dance" are all superb. To be honest there are no dud tracks on this one and Rea is at the top of his game.
This LP was the half way through his run of 80's Classics and this is a great purchase alongside "Wired to The Moon", "Shamrock Diaries", "On The Beach" and "Road to Hell".
This CD is a must buy - so go on BUY IT!!!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
I've had this in my life (on vinyl, cassette and CD) since it came out in 1987. For me it's the best body of work Chris made during the 1980s. Yes, even more so than The Road To Hell. There are no weak moments, although it has to be said that September Blue never fails to leave me weak, emotionally... it's such a simple, poignant, beautiful song. An album that reminds me of a great time, it still gets regular plays at home and in the car. Highly recommended, especially to a Rea newcomer.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
An excellent album with some truly standout tracks such as "Windy Town", "Curse of the Traveller", "Loving You Again" and of course "Let's Dance".

It is one of a string of classic Albums that he released in the 80's (including "On the Beach", "Road to Hell" and "Shamrock Diaries")

Some of the tracks from this album (Windy Town and Let's Dance) were re-recorded and it is the newer versions that appear on the (many) hits packages. These original versions are well worth checking out.

The "Bonus Tracks" that were issued on the CD but not the LP (12-14 I think) are pleasant, but are not essential.

Although not my favourite Chris Rea album (Shamrock Diaries takes that title), it is up there with his best work and well worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
In my opinion, Chris got going properly with 1985's 'Shamrock Diaries'. From then on his music just got better. 'Dancing With Strangers', the last of his albums before his mainstream popularity, is definitely his best.
It starts brilliantly with 'Joys of Christmas' - an accurate view on the struggles of christmas. From this song the album sounds like a band playing together, rather than dubbing. It is clear now that 'I can't dance to that' is Rea's rant at his record company. 'Windy Town', 'Gonna Buy a Hat', 'Let's Dance', 'Loving You Again' all follow, and are all examples of Chris at his best. The songs in-between don't disappoint either - 'Curse of the Traveller' is a haunting tune, and 'Que Sera' is unsurprisingly nice and upbeat.
Having heard Chris's latest album, the 'bluesy' 'Stony Road', it is clear when listening to earlier albums, what his original intentions were - where blues form the main root of many of the songs ('Let's Dance', for example). As ever, his slight guitar is brilliant, as are his lyrics.
An excellent album all-round. A must for any Chris fan (if there are any who still haven't got it!) and anybody who likes his mainstream hits. This album won't disappoint.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
still has songs that stand the test of time, love September Blue, he is an amazing performer, hopefully he will continue to
delight his fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
A lot of Chris Rea's music is excellent and a lot of the album material is far better than the singles released
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
Album no 3 in Chris' 'imperial' phase, and the all-important one before The Road To Hell set the seal on the legend. A splendid album, with something for everyone. Of it's time, yes, but none the worse for that. 'Side One' is just about faultless, with each song a sign of styles to come, combining pop, rock & blues just so (I Can't Dance to that being a particular favourite). 'Side Two' kicks off with the always great Let's Dance (the slightly superior original version to my mind), and while not quite as strong as the first half, still holds it's own. The album may be a couple of tracks too long, but it's an artist in fine form, with the best yet to come . . .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
i bought this many years ago when it was first released and it was time to replace it as the cd had become scratched.....it never dates,fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 October 2014
I've always rated Chris Rea as one of Britain's finest, and for me, this album is the perfect demonstration of just how assured he had become as a songwriter and performer by the mid 80s.
Just like the previous year's "On The Beach", the album is a showcase for a collection of top quality songs, performed in Chris's trademark smoky voice, and underpinned with the trademark Rea guitar style. As with "On The Beach", the production is faultless.
Sounds as good today as it did way back when; the mark of a classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)