Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of GR's Best, deeply emotional and atmospheric
This album reflects gerrys emotions after his marriage break-up. Deeply emotional tracks all the way through this album give insights into the intensity of his situation. A truely masterful work that deserved greater recognition from the general public and music industry at large.Light of love track 11 stands out particularly.
Published on 4 Nov. 1999 by ashlock@globalnet.co.uk

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire
Ive been a Gerry fan for many years but have not listened to any of his work since the Sleepwalking album. After his death I was interested in listening to some of his more recent work and ordered this on the back of the reviews listed here. What a big mistake - this album is awful - he has become the epitomy of elevator muzak, and this over-produced depressing bilge is a...
Published on 28 Aug. 2011 by Skippy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of GR's Best, deeply emotional and atmospheric, 4 Nov. 1999
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
This album reflects gerrys emotions after his marriage break-up. Deeply emotional tracks all the way through this album give insights into the intensity of his situation. A truely masterful work that deserved greater recognition from the general public and music industry at large.Light of love track 11 stands out particularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE great break-up albums..., 26 Aug. 2010
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
If you're reading this you'll already know a bit about Gerry Rafferty, probably via 'Stuck In The Middle With You' and 'Baker Street'. You may even have 'City To City', the album that 'Baker Street' came from, and a huge hit in America. Maybe you would like to try some of his other stuff but aren't sure where to begin; he's done loads of albums, after all?

Well look no further. 'On A Wing And A Prayer' is the one you should go for. Gerry knows his way around a love song; this is the man who wrote 'Right Down The Line' and 'Days Gone Down', remember. It's one of the great cliches/truisms that out of suffering comes great art, and so it proved here. The break-up of Gerry's marriage brought the most powerful and emotional songs of his long career; 'Don't Speak Of My Heart', Love And Affection', 'The Light' Of Love' and 'Life Goes On' are fantastic songs, by turns achingly sad but also incredibly beautiful and eventually uplifting, like all his best music.

Gerry deserves to be remembered for much more than his early hits. This truly is an epic album, worthy of comparison to other great 'break-up' records like Joni Mitchell's 'Blue', Bruce Springsteen's 'Tunnel Of Love' and yes, it even deserves to be heard in the same breath as Dylan's 'Blood On The Tracks'. Yes, it's THAT good. Go buy. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely Well Crafted..., 10 Jan. 2011
By 
D. L. Young "young Danny" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
Gerry Rafferty was a unique vocalist but what really stands out about this album is the musicianship. This man was quite simply a master craftsmen and his music was both polished and yet packed an emotive punch. There is so much beauty on offer here and every track is accomplished and memorable in its own right, not least owing to the uncompromisingly raw lyrical content. Quite frankly a newcomer to the Rafferty canon cannot go wrong with any of his albums but this one is distinctive in that it is quite clearly his most personal work. It also includes the incredibly addictive gem that is 'I See Red', a song I could never tire of. Rafferty's voice is fabulous throughout.

Ironic then that while Gerry Rafferty disliked what fame brought him albums like this deserved to sell so much better then they did. For those in the know his music will remain timeless.

Young Danny, York UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest popular music album of all time?, 16 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Mackie (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
Andrew Whiteside's recent review was right on the money. "A wing and a Prayer" is a magnificent album, and a cruelly overlooked gem. The quality of the songs, the arrangements and the production are simply phenomenal. This album is probably number one in my personal desert island disks, as I can't imagine life without it. Gerry Rafferty's husky voice gives a uniquely emotional pull to these songs. The album is clearly based around his marriage break-up, and as others have said, songwriters often produce great music from such traumatic events.

For an example, check out "Don't Speak of my Heart", a 6-minute epic ballad well worthy of Roy Orbison, which just builds and builds. The song is about hurt, and the lyrics will tear your heart out. The brilliant orchestrations and chord inversions have never been bettered in all of popular music. By the bridge, Rafferty's harmonies envelop you. Then the key changes and there's a harpsichord break with soft pizzicato strings, then the voilinists pick up their bows and sweep in for the first time (in the middle of an instrumental break?!!) and the strongest heart will just melt. At the end of the song, there's another instrumental section where a Hammond organ rides majestically over the strings. Awesome music-making without compromise. Anyone not bowled over by this song must surely be either brain-dead or in a coffin.

"It's easy to talk" is another great ballad, featuring a great steel guitar and a cheeky wee bit of Buddy Holly's "It's so easy". One of the few songs Rafferty has recorded by another writer is Allen Toussaint's New Orleans rocker "Get out of my life woman", the perfect song for a bitter break-up. The intro is a bagpipe-like version of Rafferty's own great song "Her Father Didn't Like Me Anyway", which rather rams the point home. For me, this album is a work of two halves - the first 6 tracks are all about the pain and hurt of a break-up, the second half of the ablum begins with the mandolin-infused toe-tapping country gospel of "Don't give up on me", followed my the sweeping love ballad "Love and Affection" about looking back with longing on a relationship - this track has one of Rafferty's typically unconventional middle sections where you have no idea where's he's going, this one has great harmonies and it all makes perfect sense in the end. Then you get the rocker "Does he know what he's taken on" during which Rafferty's jazzy vibrato shines - at one point he sneers "I doubt it". Ouch!

Towards the end of the album, the mood changes and "The Light of Love" is a beautiful ballad about a new romance, then the album ends on a high with the punchy "Life Goes On". I'm not going to offer a pedantic blow-by-blow account of every track, but as a songwriter myself I will simply say that these are songs of the strongest emotional pull, no filler, every track has something to say.

I think it's a great shame that "A Wing and a Prayer" has never been properly recognised, and I keep hoping that the day will come when someone in broadcasting will open their ears to this wonderful music-making. At nearly an hour long for 12 songs, the album will take a few hearings for all to be revealed, but this could be the most musically satisfying albums you'll ever buy. Perhaps it takes a tortured soul to make music this affecting, but I honestly believe this album to be a masterpiece from a truly great songwriter. I really, really hope that Gerry Rafferty has the will to overcome his demons and gets his life back on track to produce more great music.

Sell your house, your children, whatever - just buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 20 Feb. 2011
Following the untimely death of Gerry Rafferty I came across this album which I had not previously listened to and what a great album it is. By no means as high profile as Baker Street but as good nevertheless. Every track a winner and well worth finding the lyrics and copying into your MP3 as each song has such a powerful message. No GR fan should be without it in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good and Very Emotional, 10 Oct. 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
There for all to see are his feelings and raw emotions on the break-up of his marriage. Hurt and anger and a whole bundle of other stuff also.
Favourite tracks would be "It's Easy To Talk", "Don't Speak Of My Heart" & "Love Affection"
Very raw, very sore, but at times very beautiful also. One of Gerry's best and so much desering of a greater audience.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is Gerry Rafferty's best album.Songs are heartfelt and meaningful.I would highly recommend it to fans of good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 25 Dec. 2013
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
I can say no more than ask you to read the review of J. Mackie. He says it all for me, Rafferty at his rawest brilliance.
I have played this album so many times that I should buy another copy, my one can't last much longer surely.
Why were there not at least 3 top ten hits from this album? Amazing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S THE MAN, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
THIS MAN WAS ONE OF MY IDOLS IN MY HEYDAY AND COMING ACROSS THIS CD WAS SHEER DELIGHT.LOVE IT LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heartfelt, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Wing & A Prayer (Audio CD)
What a wonderful musician and songsmith he was a genius . Why this man never got more recognition for being a unbelievable songwriter I will never know ....still his wonderful music lives on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On A Wing & A Prayer
On A Wing & A Prayer by Gerry Rafferty (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews