Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsung Treasure Of The Amazing Radiohead Back Catalogue
The import version of My Iron Lung is something I purchased a few years ago, and never really listened to at first, because I didn't take to it. But as with almost every Radiohead album, a few listens and it opens up like a fine wine. Listening back now, I really think that if Iron Lung had been removed from the Bends, and a little more time laboured over this, we would...
Published on 25 July 2003 by Mr B J Gilbert

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Casing
Very timely arrival!
Very new from the outside and the packaging was very good.
However when I opened it the cd fell out onto the floor as all centre pieces of the cd holder were all shattered.
Luckily there was no scratches.
Published 12 months ago by Allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsung Treasure Of The Amazing Radiohead Back Catalogue, 25 July 2003
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
The import version of My Iron Lung is something I purchased a few years ago, and never really listened to at first, because I didn't take to it. But as with almost every Radiohead album, a few listens and it opens up like a fine wine. Listening back now, I really think that if Iron Lung had been removed from the Bends, and a little more time laboured over this, we would have a stunning full lenght album right here, talked about in the terms of magnitude and brilliance lavishly adorned on classic albums such as The Bends and OK Computer. Thrashing guitar rock on Trickster, and some fantastically melodic vocal work throughout by Yorke never better demonstrated than on You Never Wash Up After Yourself and Lozenge Of Love make this a most own piece of Radiohead magic, concluded with a stunning acoustic rendition of Creep, which if you liked the original will absolutely blow you away.
This Import EP nicely shows the progression between the underrated and deliciously raw debut of Pablo Honey and the genius of their breakthrough album The Bends. You won't regret this one, and it won't be long before it rarely leaves your CD player. Looking back at their back catalogue, and some brilliant B sides like Killer Cars, one can't help wondering if Radiohead should have perhaps bridged the gap between OK Computer and Kid A with a B sides compilation in the style of Lipstick Traces by The Manic Street Preachers. Perhaps they don't have the same history to go with it as the Manics, but they've still got one hell of an impressive range, and the varying styles and development of the music tells a story. It's amazing to see the differences in this to Hail To The Thief, but for my money the legacy co-exists nicely, and the enormous differences shouldn't be compared but enjoyed as fantasic individual entities of legends in the making. If your a Radiohead fan casual or committed you have to own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead in transition, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
This CD focuses on the extra tracks available with the 2 "Iron Lung " CD singles and is a definite example of the change evidenced in the Supreme "Bends" album. In itself the tracks here are already a massive leap forward from the frankly at times unlistenable "Pablo Honey" debut. Standouts are Lewis(mistreated) and The Trickster ,well whadda you know Radiohead Rock! If as the band claim these were fairly quickly put together to fulfill commitments who knows what a little bit more time and care could have delivered . Essential for Radiohead fans? No essential for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
Radiohead just cant do any wrong. Every album they make is different but creative. Its refreshing that they dont just fall into line like so many other bands, to please the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
Radiohead is great. This CD gives you an opportunity to listen to diferent things they have. I initialy bought it to have the live version of creep, the CD brings much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, simply brilliant, 1 Nov 2000
This review is from: My Iron Lung [CD 1] (Audio CD)
This CD houses some of their best songs. My Iron Lung is an instant classic but my reason for buying this CD was for the B sides that it contains. My favourite B side has got to be Lewis (mistreated) just listen to it and you will see why. Another invaluable Radiohead CD to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great ambience and emotion, 7 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The collection of songs in My Iron Lung contain a deep feeling. Strong guitars and "pure" rock sounds let already suspect the evolution of the band towards electronic music, maybe because of the ambience and atmosphere. Lyrics are full of poetry, human contradictions and insecurity: feelings that we all have sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Iron Lung EP, 6 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
The CD begins with the second best radiohead track My iron lung and for the next half hour there is only one non a+ track. it's often been said that with a few more tracks and a bit of work this could have easily been a full length album and this is true fitting snuggly between Pablo Honey and The Bends. If you have all the 6 studio albums then this is definetly the best course of action for you. If only it could have been a bit longer than 28 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suck your teenage thumb, 23 Dec 2003
This review is from: My Iron Lung (Audio CD)
This EP is merely a small collection of B-sides that were released with the "My Iron Lung" single. However this doesn't stop it being an instant classic.
The title track features some of the most explosive guitar work Radiohead have ever produced. The high pitched intro and mellow verses set your mind at ease until the song erupts to the most distorted sound Radiohead have ever made. Imagine an angry version of "Paranoid Android" and you get the idea.
"The Trickster" once again sees Jonny at his manic best, as he strums out some harsh lead melodies over the slow rythym.
"Lewis (mistreated)" is Radiohead's punk song, slightly simular to "How Do You" but hits the spot a lot easier.
"Punchdrunk Lovesick Singalong" is a beautiful mix of mellow, hypnotic music and amazing slide guitar. Apparently it's about one of Thom Yorke's own personnal experiences.
"Permanent Daylight" uses delay effects to the max and shows the creative ability of all guitarists.
"Lozenge Of Love" is a brilliant acoustic melody, which is accompanied by a lead guitar (Jonny?) that follows the notes Thom is singing.
"You Never Wash Up After Yourself" will sound familiar to those who have heard "Wolf At The Door", but is half as effective.
"Creep (Acoustic)" is merely Thom playing the old favourite by himself, with some interesting singing. The reason to by this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is where Radiohead first proves they're a fantastic band., April 21, 2007, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: My Iron Lung [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although Radiohead's monster single, Creep, was tearing up the charts in the early 1990s, the album from which it was taken, PABLO HONEY, was an average album from what appeared to be an average band. Like so many other bands with a couple of hits under their belt, Radiohead could have released a couple more mediocre records in the span of a few years and generally fade from public consciousness. Hootie and the Blowfish and Seven Mary 3 are good examples of this phenomena. I actually wrote Radiohead off and never bothered to listen to any of the followups until about 2001, when I realised there was so much more to Radiohead than just "Creep" (one of my least favorite songs by them, incidentally).

Radiohead, however, had a different career destiny in mind, and pulled it off wonderfully. Rather than continue in the PABLO HONEY vein, Radiohead managed to record a series of phenomenal records not only noted for their musical instinct, but just wonderful, amazing music. Judging from PABLO HONEY, you would have no possible inkling they would go on to record an album of such high calibre like THE BENDS, let alone OK COMPUTER. OK COMPUTER is in a whole other universe in terms of quality, critical acclaim, and rabid fan adulation compared to PABLO HONEY. Radiohead wonderfully reinvented themselves, and have become one of the most consistently interesting, thought provoking bands around these days.

So how do they do it? My personal belief is it all starts right here with this EP released in 1994, MY IRON LUNG. This EP, which is comprised of one track later released on THE BENDS in 1995, six songs recorded during the Bends sessions available nowhere else, and an acoustic rendition of their 1993 hit "Creep", is a remarkable achievement for a band who, at that time, only had the wholly unremarkable PABLO HONEY debut under their belts. In every way, shape, and form, this EP not only outshines the debut but establishes the foundation of the rest of their career. Each song is a vast increase in production skills, overall musicality, and just plain listenability over the debut. This is the first indicator that Radiohead is more than an average, early 1990s band, with only a couple of hits in them.

What really benefits MY IRON LUNG is that it plays like a real album, not just a hodgepodge of outtakes and b-sides. In fact, in sequence and length (8 songs, 28:13 minutes), this could have been released as a main album, or if they so desired, the band could have thrown on a few more tracks to make it a more substantial release.

The six songs not included on THE BENDS could just as easily placed that album. They never sound like mere B-sides. In fact, you could swap any of these songs out, making them interchangeable with the songs that made the cut, and THE BENDS would still be considered one of the best records from the mid 1990s. These songs are fully formed, and many other bands of Radiohead's era would love to have such quality songwriting to their name, and amazingly Radiohead relegates this first class material to EP status. The only real sore spot on the EP is the acoustic version of "Creep", which has a harsh off-key section. Other than that, this is Radiohead's first real evidence that they are not just an average band who managed to score a big hit, but a band of skill, durability, and worthy to be considered among the other legendary bands of rock and roll.

After recording this EP, Radiohead would go on to prove themselves time and time again. While I do believe MY IRON LUNG laid the foundation for the rest of their career, sonically it is most akin to THE BENDS. This EP proved in so many ways that their debut did not that they were versatile, they could write great songs, and they had what it takes to be a first-rate rock and roll band. Naturally, in their musical evolution Radiohead's journey lead them to such radical departures as KID A, AMNESIAC, and HAIL TO THE THIEF, all of which sound little like the music found here. But MY IRON LUNG was the first step in that direction toward the upper echelon of rock.

BOTTOM LINE:: essential listening for any rock fan. While it may be a fairly expensive item to obtain for your music collection, it is worth it, simply because it plays very much like a lost Radiohead album than just an EP filled with odds and ends. While PABLO HONEY may have been their first record with a couple of good songs, MY IRON LUNG was the first indication that Radiohead was here to stay, and a band with far more interesting music than most of the other drek being recorded these days.

(There are different editions of MY IRON LUNG. Some releases split the songs into two singles. Make sure you get the version that has all 8 tracks. Otherwise, you are just wasting your money).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead at their ear tingling finest, 1 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: My Iron Lung [CD 1] (Audio CD)
As this single shudders you into its exitence you are reminded of all things great about radioheads musical reportois . If shaking you with heavy guitars and rumbling drums isn't enough , Thom Yorke comes along and smacks you in the face with his complative lyrics and a voice capable of wrecking Ecosystems . Each song on this C.D is as effective and heart wrenching as the last . I would recommend it highly for every fan of Radiohead and of good music ! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Iron Lung
My Iron Lung by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews