Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Live Magic
A very good live album showing the newish songs of Queen Live, not as goods Live Killers double album though but nonetheless something to add to anyones collection, highly recommended
Published on 29 Dec. 2009 by R. Perks

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completitists
This live album was first released in late 1986 as a tour souvenir package as it was recorded during Queen's 1986 Magic Tour.
Little did anybody know at the time that it was Freddie Mercury's last tour with Queen. The album was partly recorded at the final gig of that tour:- August 9th 1986 at Knebworth Park. Apart from about three tracks, some of the tracks are...
Published 15 months ago by MR L MATTHEWS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completitists, 31 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
This live album was first released in late 1986 as a tour souvenir package as it was recorded during Queen's 1986 Magic Tour.
Little did anybody know at the time that it was Freddie Mercury's last tour with Queen. The album was partly recorded at the final gig of that tour:- August 9th 1986 at Knebworth Park. Apart from about three tracks, some of the tracks are edited to their detriment i.e. Tie your mother down, I want to break free, The opera section of Bo Rhap was cut off!!!, Friends will be friends, Rock you, Champions; there is a missing verse here and there, etc etc. It was also released at the time when the band was against releasing a live album at the time as they didn't particularly like live albums there and then. However, they did go on to release some more live material since then especially the Live at Wembley CD released some years later (after the death of Freddie) which for many was a more complete live recording of that tour. Only buy this album if your a die hard fan, but for casual listeners get the Live at Wembley CD or DVD, Live Killers, Live at the bowl, Montreal and Live Aid DVD, or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You may feel shortchanged..., 16 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
Fortunately (for me), I picked up this CD for 99p, otherwise I'd be really annoyed. Looking at the track listing, you anticipate a really good mix of old and new from the 1980s queen. However whilst other reviews mention that tracks have been cut down, you really need to understand that they have been CUT DOWN - for example "We are the champions" at only just over two minutes long. This treatment has been applied to close on half the fifteen tracks on the album, hence whilst you might reasonably assume it would last close to 80 minutes it actually runs for 50 minutes. Live Killers is a vastly superior album. Do not buy unless you have been put on a limit for how much music you are allowed to hear each day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Butchered, edited and squeezed out!, 27 Mar. 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
An adequate stop-gap at the time of its release in 1986, cashing in on Queen's major world tour of that year and the "Magic" euphoria around at the time, but don't touch it with a barge pole now that "Live at Wembley" (released in 1992) can give you the full unedited concert as truly intended - unless you're a REAL anorak and you want to hear slightly different version of some of the songs or Freddie's chat to the audience at Knebworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Live Magic, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
R. Perks "abominog" (leeds england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
A very good live album showing the newish songs of Queen Live, not as goods Live Killers double album though but nonetheless something to add to anyones collection, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The shortest gig of all time!!, 22 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
I preface this by stating that I grew up with the music of Queen in the 70's and have always been a huge fan. That said, this is probably the most neutered live album i have ever heard. The dramatic editing techniques used here have destroyed any illusion that this is any real interpretation of Queen's swansong tour. There are places where whole sections of songs have been stripped away to keep the the running time down to one disc/lp. Not only that, but the production is just a little too smooth, a mistake which has often been made with live albums. Check out Live Killers, the We Will Rock You video from Montreal, Live at Wembley, all of which offer a much better insight into the real Queen experience. Leave this for what it was, a record company inspired attempt at keeping the back catalog moving during a quiet period from the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy "Live At Wembley"!, 13 Jun. 2001
By 
Mr. Steven Bootes "sbootes" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
I presume the reviewers below are hardcore Queen fans, they must be to rate this album so highly! The material is of course written and played brilliantly; but it's all pretty much cut to shreds. Even Bo Rap is edited! I wouldn't advise casual Queen fans to buy this, maybe just fans who want to collect everything.
Both "Live Killers" and "Live At Wembley" especially are better albums. I love Queen, but even a die-hard fan should admit their heroes work wasn't up to scratch at times. So avoid this, "Hot Space" and the "Flash Gordon Soundtrack" CDs if you are just getting into Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT Good . . ., 29 Aug. 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
Just wanted to back up what has been said most recently. This is not a good reflection of a great band live. The most obvious fault in it is the butchering of Bo Rap. They just lift out the entire middle section(!)
It's awful! The rest is ok-ish, but not at all what should have been released. Anything for a fast buck obviously. Really, the record company should be lambasted for this effort.
This is an affront to the memory of a well loved band. AVOID!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Magic (MP3 Download)
I have read some previous reviews and I wonder why such low rates. I am not a musician or a music expert, but I am a Queen fan and I have found this album one of the best ones live as regards my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live magic, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
Excellent cd, everybody needs a bit of Queen! If this cd was made by Carlsberg it would be the best cd in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, 8 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Magic (Audio CD)
Given the fact that this was made up of "The best performances of songs from the Magic Tour", it's a shame that they only have 50 minutes of it. The shows lasted two hours each, and had such great numbers as In the Lap of the Gods, Tear it Up, A great Impromptu now and again, Tutti Frutti, Love of My Life, Crazy Little Thing, it goes on and on. This album has the bare minimum tracks on it, and could have been a really good album (why not put Tavasi Sizel on from Budapest?) but they just copped out and put out a distinctly low quality number. They even chop some songs in half, (note the tragic shortness of "Is this the World we created" and We Will Rock you, and We are the Champions.) If I were you, I'd only buy it if you want to hear a really fantastic opening with One Vision and Tie Your Mother Down, but short of that, there's nothing on it that "Live at Wembley" won't give you, and the latter has more songs of higher quality on it. Not their best moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Magic
Live Magic by Queen (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews