Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and different
For you who loved the first Propaganda Album (A Secret Wish) and are expecting something along the same lines, you might be disappointed. The two albums are completely different, although there are hints of the past in some of the tracks. Don't forget that there are a few years between these albums and tastes evolve and change and Michael Mertens seems to have moved...
Published on 27 Oct 2006 by M. De Schryver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly, but not Quite
This was a disappointing release for me back in 1990. I knew that Claudia had left and a new singer had been drafted in, but it was always going to be difficult to match A Secret Wish.
There are a few cracking tunes on here: Your Wildlife, Only One Word, but ultmately, it just doesn't quite do it. Shame.
Published on 13 Feb 2006 by Coincidence Vs Fate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and different, 27 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
For you who loved the first Propaganda Album (A Secret Wish) and are expecting something along the same lines, you might be disappointed. The two albums are completely different, although there are hints of the past in some of the tracks. Don't forget that there are a few years between these albums and tastes evolve and change and Michael Mertens seems to have moved foreward to a more sophisticated and perhaps a somewhat sweeter genre. This is a great album with good tracks and the lovely voice of Betsi Miller. She outsings former singer Claudia Brucken with ease, although Claudia's voice DID, I must confess, fit-in with the sound of the first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprised how much I liked it, 20 April 2010
By 
K. Chedzey (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
As somebody who enjoyed every track of the two albums released by the original Propaganda incarnation, I always resisted buying this album because I felt it could not stand up to comparison due to so many members having left. How wrong was I! The quality of the songs is very high and the traditional Propaganda tone can be felt in virtually every track. There is a softer feel, but it does not detract in any way. If you like the original albums - you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hidden but worth finding, 16 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
The pleasures of this album are less strident than those of A Secret Wish, requiring many more listens to fully excavate, but it's well worth the effort. Certainly, in 1990 it came as a surprise to encounter this subtle and seductive new sound. Only One Word, however, is a classic (much enhanced by a couple of blistering David Gilmour guitar solos) and the closing instrumental, La Carne La Morte e il Diavolo, is none the worse for its nagging resemblance to Ennio Morricone's Chi Mai. A nice through-line from the previous Propaganda is provided by the fragment of Susanne Freytag vocal included on the sinister opener Vicious Circle, and Betsi Miller's lead vocals elsewhere on the album lend a disorientating touch of MOR to an otherwise forbidding sound. It's a pity, however, that two B-sides from this period - Open Spaces and Count Zero - are not included on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly, but not Quite, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
This was a disappointing release for me back in 1990. I knew that Claudia had left and a new singer had been drafted in, but it was always going to be difficult to match A Secret Wish.
There are a few cracking tunes on here: Your Wildlife, Only One Word, but ultmately, it just doesn't quite do it. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've changed my mind - I really love it, 19 Feb 2005
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
If you want to listen to the real essence of the music that Propaganda released, then you should listen to "A Secret Wish" and "Outside World", which demonstrates a very European and idiosyncratic sound. 1234 sounds much more American and more generic.

Having said that, the music is good and, after a few listens, it is really catchy and increasingly pleasing to the ear. It is also very well produced. Instrumentally and vocally, there is nothing wrong with it and I can understand what the other reviewers have gone overboard and written such nice things about it.

However, it could have been produced by a whole bunch of artists and groups, which is exactly my point about the band. Only one member of the original band remained when this was produced - Michael Mertens. Susanne Freytag, Claudia Brucken and Ralf Doerper had all left and been replace by others - American vocalist Betsi Miller and ex-Simple Minds players Derek Forbes (bass) and Brian McGee (drums). Nevertheless, tracks such as "Heaven Give Me Words," "Only One Word" and "Wound in My Heart" are examples of Propaganda doing what it did well, well put-together synth-pop.

In conclusion, if you want to have one Propaganda album in your collection - and I strongly suggest they are so good that everyone should do so - then this isn't the one to choose; get one of the two I've mentioned, both of which are masterpieces.

===============================================================

The previous version of this review was entitled "Good, but not a patch on previous albums."

Above is my original review, so you know what I said before. However, I am happy to tell you that I have become increasingly smitten with the album, the more I play it (and I have played it a lot). In some respects, I stand by what is written above, but I just find the tracks so irresistibly catchy that I can't help but love it. I never thought there was a bad track, but I now accept that no band stays the same and need to move on when original members leave. Call it an awakening of my mind - an acceptance that I should take the album on its merits and not just hark back to the original band (and, anyway, I have learned that both Mr Forbes and Mr McGee were part of Propaganda's touring band in 1985).

In doing that, I have come to realise that the album is excellent and all the tracks are outstanding. It doesn't matter who the band members are because, musically, it sounds great and Betsi Miller has a great voice and there are some interesting guests on the album - William Orbit doing some post production on "Heaven Give Me Words" and Howard Jones is here on backing vocals. Pink Floyd's David Gilmour playing excellent guitar on "Only One Word", along with Pilot's bassist David Paton, Saxophonist Mel Collins on the closing track "La Carne, La Morte a Il Diavolo". Even original member Susanna Freytag guests with some spoken vox on "Vicious Circle" and "Ministry Of Fear." Finally, the album was produced by Ian Stanley and Chris Hughes, who were the production team behind some of Tears for Fears albums.

So, sorry if this sounds a bit pompous, but I happily offer up a reconsidered review and have added this extra bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you're doing - listen to this album, 8 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
What can be said about this album apart from the fact that it is the only modern album that is constantly turning in my CD player. Every track is a classic. The favourite being "Heaven Give Me Words". This song should have got further in the charts than it did - still it was around the time when the charts were being destroyed by "rave".
Treat yourself - go on - it's only 7.99. That's less than 4 pints and three bags of peanuts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only One Word, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
A midnight blue satin glove rests on a Hugo Boss leg in a Carrera 4s pulling into GVA, as Your Wildlife fades from the Clarion.

This is a Propaganda album. And leaving that immediately to one side, 1,2,3,4 is a sumptuous collection of beautifully crafted synth-pop songs from a time when Miami Vice had run its course, the Ur-Quattro was becoming an anachronism, and Britpop playgroups were politely waiting to squat into the void left by its inevitable quadrophenic epiphany, as adulthood, responsibility, and recession finally consigned a decade of unashamed, technology-fuelled, indulgence to history.

This is a polished, sophisticated and intricate work of classy, evocative, cosmopolitan pop music. Except, ostensibly, for Vicious Circle and Ministry of Fear - the most "Propaganda-esque" of the tracks, there are no dark edges - musically, lyrically, or in the production - no edges at all, in fact.

It's easy to imagine the reprise of Vicious accompanying some of Michael Mann's imagery. On How Much Love, Betsi Miller's voice releases a hope that almost leaves the listener suspended in mid-air before each verse is first resolved, and then grounded by the chorus. Heaven Give Me Words is just consummately executed late summer pop sunshine. Wound In My Heart cordially fills a lighter waving slot and balances the remainder inoffensively enough, while La Carne, La Morte E Il Diavolo paints a cinematic soundscape more involving than any by Yello.

This album slots straight into the "unjustly overlooked" box without need even to consider the more commercially rewarded wood-chip offerings before, during and since.

If you listen without caring who, what, why, when, or how, it will stay on repeat through the winter nights well into next summer. If you come looking for Propaganda, as other reviewers have opined, perhaps you'll be disappointed... then again, like me, maybe you'll be captivated.

The 80's were over. This album underlines their passing to perfection. Only One Word: Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Propaganda in name only......., 23 Jun 2008
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
This album offers a very weak and diluted version of the epic soundscape found on Secret Wish and Wishful Thinking. A couple of decent tracks on here so worth buying if you can find it for the price of a single but it is just as dispiriting now as it was then to see Propaganda sliding into limp pop pap. Seek out Claudia Brucken's solo work for a more satisfying follow-up to the aforementioned Propaganda albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Propaganda CD album - 1234, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Robert Ainsworth (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
Considering this item came from USA it did not take too long. I was advised that the item had been sent quite soon after ordering. Needless to say the album itself is good, being a Propaganda fan and having the first album already. Good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Come Across an Outstanding Album Like This!, 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1234 (Audio CD)
And you just cannot stop playing it.
I have owned this album on tape for a few years and I have worn it out!
The music is more than just pop it sends shivers down my spine when I hear it.
You won't get that from stuff you here in the charts these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1234
1234 by Propaganda (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews