Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2012
Most important point first: This album must be judged on it's own merits and not by comparison to "Bizarre Ride"; the artists are older, hip-hop has moved on, etc.
That out the way (and I AM a fan of that album): this album is brilliant. "Runnin" is probably one of the greatest all-round hip hop tracks ever, and should make any fan of the genres top 10, but even without it the album is entirely strong. It sounds amazing production-wise; a smooth and consistent listen from start to finish (even with the skits), the beats all different but with a coherent sound. Lyrically, far from sounding "uninterested" as the main product review suggests, this is one of my favourite group efforts with regards to a mix of conscious and laugh-out loud lyrics. Sometimes the lyrics on a record are just so satisfying to listen to, not just simply one dimensional rapping over the top but almost bending around, playing with words and tones, and for me this is a great example, really emphasising how uninteresting and monotonous modern MCing is. This is one you'll be joining in with after a coupla listens...
I'm not guaranteeing every person would like every single track on this, but if you like this era and style of hip-hop, this is entirely essential. My only regret is waiting so long to buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
Labcabincalifornia is the second album from The Pharcyde, a hip hop collective consisting of 4 members. Although it has a very different, less playful style than the first record (Bizarre Ride), it's still an excellent album, and in my opinion is even better than their first effort. The album has many stand-out tracks (She Said, Emerald Butterfly, Hey You!, Drop etc.), the best is the J Dilla produced classic 'Runnin'' which is a hip hop staple that every fan of the genre should hear.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
This is an absolute classic hip-hop album, its easily my favourite pharcyde album and one of the best hip-hop cds that I own. It has some really good samples and the pharcyde are some of the best MCs I've heard.
I seriously recommend this to anyone into happy, chilled out hip-hop like de la soul, people under the stairs or tribe called quest, or if you're just looking to get into some new hip-hop you cant go wrong with LabCabin California.
Thats it... get this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
..... is there any more explanation needed as to why you should buy this?

It's their early stuff. Straight outta what many call the golden era of hip-hop.
Shootin Hoops, Wearing Nikes, Bright Clothes, Wanting to have fun.
Thats what this album is about.
It's no Bizarre Ride, but it is early Pharcyde. That should be enough!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2001
What a brilliant album. At first I was very sceptical but after a few listens i fell in love with this smooth hip hop lp. It is ear friendly and tracks like runnin make this a must have for any true hip hop fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This is one of the greatest album ever, filled with feel good nostalgic classics, on par with Bizzare Ride II, I'd say. and the album art!!!! Omg I love the album art more then life itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2009
I cant belive anyone could give this album anything but 5stars,its a classic and in my top 20 hiphop albums ever,i prefare it to their first. the beats are super dope coming from legends like Jay dee aka J dilla,Diamond d and La Jay so you know that its gonna be dope.The lyrics are witty,funny and real anything you need in hip hop,Fat lip is my personal favourite from the group just love his unique voice and flow.The album is a must for any REAL hiphop fan so check it out you cant go wrong.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Not as immediate as "Bizarre Ride II..." but instead an album that rewards patience and perseverance. It starts slowly, and then just gets better and better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A must have if you love this era of hiphop, 90's produced the best quality and quantity in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
This is a classic piece of 90's East coast hip-hop, very much in the 'Daisy Age' vibe of De La Soul and Tribe called Quest.
This is their 2nd and Best Album, following on from the excellent but slightly overly zany 'Bizarre Ride'
If you haven't heard track 4 'Runnin', then at least check that out, it's a good indicator of what this is all about.
Good lyrics, excellent raps and some great samples all add up to make this a real easy listen and a definite all time-favourite for me.
'Drop' is another good'un on here, as sampled by the Beastie Boys, which has the classic Band going backwards only played backwards so they're all going forwards video clip by legend Spike Jonze.
This is very much at the R & B end of hip-hop, so if you like it rough, rugged and raw - this isn't going to be for your taste.
My recommendation is to take a ride with the Pharcyde, all the way back to 1995!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)