Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An darkly satirical look at the music industry
Whilst the theme of the film 'Phantom Of The Paradise' is one which is well tested (selling your soul to the devil in exchange for something that you always wanted), each Paul Williams song on the soundtrack cleverly uses different styles of music to paint different images music industry.
It starts with a rock song 'Goodbye, Eddie, Goodbye', a song full of satirical...
Published on 26 Feb. 2004 by Mr. D. J. Chamberlayne

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But not Great
This CD was eagerly awaited as I have been a long time fan of the film. The disappointment comes on track 6 and 7 "Super Like You" and "Life at Last". In the film these songs rock, with screams and clapping from the audience a real "live" performance they sparkle.
Sadly the audience has been mixed out on the CD (which questions the use of the words "Original...
Published on 1 Dec. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An darkly satirical look at the music industry, 26 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Phantom Of The Paradise: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK RECORDING (Audio CD)
Whilst the theme of the film 'Phantom Of The Paradise' is one which is well tested (selling your soul to the devil in exchange for something that you always wanted), each Paul Williams song on the soundtrack cleverly uses different styles of music to paint different images music industry.
It starts with a rock song 'Goodbye, Eddie, Goodbye', a song full of satirical comment on the rock industry. It's about a rock singer who sacrifices his life in order to sell his records to raise money for a life saving operation for his sister. (Oh such devotion!!) After introducing our hero (Bill Finley) with the ballad 'Faust', which introduces the main theme of the film, we rock again with 'Upholstery' ('Phil Spector' meets 'Meat Loaf') about our worship of inanimate objects as status symbols.
Our heroine (Jessica Harper) then takes the scene with a ballad ('Special For Me - Phoenix Audition Song') about the dangers of working yourself into the ground to fulfil a dream. After 'baddie' Swan (played by Paul Williams himself) reflects on the battle between good and evil ('Phantom's Theme - Beauty and the Beast') which takes place within all of us, we then rock again ('Somebody Super Like You - Beef Construction Song') as we go in search of the perfect hero, with a "Hollywood smile and a perfect profile", to help make our life a 'ball'.
Then the devil takes the scene ('Life At Last') constantly craving to be fed and satisfied by it's makers (us). Our heroine then returns ('Old Souls') with a beautiful ballad, presenting the case for love as the answer to all our fears. After returning back with a repeat of the theme of the film ('Faust'), but this time with 'Swan' reflecting on the striving for perfection at any cost, the piece ends with a 'knees-up', ('The Hell Of It') a homage to the results of living a life full of evil.
Let that be a lesson to you.
Throughout Paul Williams skilfully uses the music to augment the visual images. It is a great reflection on the talents and versatility's of the man who in latter years would turn his talents to music for such dark rock films as 'Bugsy Malone' and 'The Muppet Movie'!!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing songs boldly passed off as showtunes, 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. Paul D. Maher "joey-chickenskin" (Nottingham NG7) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phantom Of The Paradise: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK RECORDING (Audio CD)
I discovered The film Phantom of The Paradise a week ago, watched it again the next day and for a week either started or ended the day with either a look at the song performances on the DVD or listening to the soundtrack, something I haven't really done since I was a teenager. I was a teenager in the early days of video and have no Idea why this film was not in the video libraries in the early eighties, as the perfect combination of an incredibly entertaining movie that did not do well at the box office.

The soundtrack is just a treasure and the result of some incredible pieces of luck flipped over. Originally De Palma wanted a big established band involved but approached Paul Williams, a classic pop music composer and musician who wrote songs for the Carpenters, Striesand, Elvis as well as writing Rainbow Connection and the songs from The Muppet Movie and Bugsy Malone. What I love about this soundtrack is that each of the songs, on first glance son't quite fit the showtune mould, Faust and old Souls, the key songs take more than one listen to get being lyrically more complex than most show-tunes and are soaked in melancholy and raw emotion, that can seem, through modern eyes as sentimental but is bravery that we could do with more of now. There is no ironic wink and I think it's why the bigger songs seem so special, slightly off kilter in this context but here to stay.

The pastiches (The Fruity Loops, The Beach Bums, The Undead) are perfect. De Palma wanted Sha Na Na who were already a hyper-real fifties tribute and I'm glad that they were not available as I'm not sure there would have been the versitility. Goodbye, Eddie, Goodbye is a far better mock-fifties song than Sha Na Na would have settled for, The Beach Bums are a hilarious note-perfect send-up of the Beach Boys and the Undead, taking their cue from early electronic music pre-empt European New Wave. But none of these songs are played just for laughs with an ironic wink. There are jokes but they are within a wholehearted straight performance which help us buy them completely rather than just enjoy them as spoofs.

Paul Williams is the key to them all, incredibly skilled as a writer and as someone who can collect the perfect collaborators he brings huge amounts of dramatic emotion to the songs at that point in time (the mid 70s) where it was just possible for these songs to appear in this movie and for this movie to have been made.

I'm a big Patti Smith fan and there is a link between Old Souls and Elegie and We Three by the Patti Smith group who must have either been influenced by these songs or have been exposed to the same influences as Paul Williams.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best musical soundtracks of the 1970's, 20 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Phantom Of The Paradise: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK RECORDING (Audio CD)
I first saw this movie on a double feature in a little seaside cinema, I can't recall what the main feature was but as soon as the movie was over I had to get the soundtrack. I have had it on LP for years and now want to get a new copy on CD to add to my collection.The ballads are amongst the best ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, the Genius..., 29 Oct. 2003
How could anything related to The Phantom of the Paradise be anything other than pure genius??? Nay, I ask you. This is probably one of the funniest, bizzarest, craziest films you are ever liekly to see and this is due, in part to an amazing sound track from Paul Williams. Every part of the score suits the film, even down to the sinister string quartet and the maniac screeching of Beef. If you haven't seen the film, watch it. If you have got the sound track, get it. If you buy this record, your life WILL be better... I promise.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But not Great, 1 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom Of The Paradise: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK RECORDING (Audio CD)
This CD was eagerly awaited as I have been a long time fan of the film. The disappointment comes on track 6 and 7 "Super Like You" and "Life at Last". In the film these songs rock, with screams and clapping from the audience a real "live" performance they sparkle.
Sadly the audience has been mixed out on the CD (which questions the use of the words "Original Soundtrack Recording" to my mind) and the result is two songs which are flat and almost stifled sounding by comparison. This is sad because otherwise this would have got a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom Of The Paradise: ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK RECORDING (Audio CD)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews