Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't want to buy a back catalogue? Try this.
If you want all the jangliest Tom Petty songs you heard on the radio but never bought as singles and you don't want to pay for about ten albums, then this is pretty good. Many long term Petty fans have argued about what should have been on there, and why on earth a few really good songs were left off (the 1987 album "Let Me Up, I've Had Enough" isn't represented...
Published on 19 Nov 2000 by marzipanthecat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD scratched and skipping
Apart from it not really being their greatest hits, the cd skips and the box was quite tattered. It was very cheap so I suppose you get what you pay for.
Published 8 months ago by Alison Boyce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't want to buy a back catalogue? Try this., 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you want all the jangliest Tom Petty songs you heard on the radio but never bought as singles and you don't want to pay for about ten albums, then this is pretty good. Many long term Petty fans have argued about what should have been on there, and why on earth a few really good songs were left off (the 1987 album "Let Me Up, I've Had Enough" isn't represented at all), but what is here is exceedingly good. The last two bonus tracks are worth buying this whole album for (which is what I did - I've got all the old albums anyway and didn't really *need* a greatest hits package) but it is jolly convenient to not have to sift through all the vinyl to find just one loved song. Buy this, you'll like it. They are all very catchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Tom Petty has an uncanny ability to go on and on, in the best possible way of course. I saw him in concert in 1989 and have been addicted ever since. My first obsession was "Free Fallin". Actually, it was this song that got me to the concert. Brilliant lyrics carried along smoothly by a great tune. Other personal favourites are "Refugee" (which you may not realise you know, but the chances are very good that you do!), "Don't Come Around Here No More", "Runnin' Down a Dream" and "Mary Jane's Last Dance". An excellent album for any and all rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, 1976-1993, 17 July 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers Greatest Hits pulls together a wealth of great tracks from one of rock's most legendary yet still underrated groups, covering Petty's career from 1976 up through 1993. Of course, Petty has released several classic albums since this GH CD was released, but this album provides fans unfamiliar with the consistency and strength of Petty's early years the chance to see that something good did indeed emerge from the musical doldrums of the 1970s. Petty's whiffs and raw, throaty vocals were a proverbial breath of fresh air during the days of disco. At the time, the music was characterized as new wave, if you can imagine that, but the heart of Petty's music has always been in America's heartland; while he has successfully incorporated a number of musical stylings over the years, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers remain the embodiment of classic rock 'n' roll.
The band's 1976 self-titled debut album barely made a ripple in America until the band found success in the UK - then, America took notice of the first single Breakdown and the rock classic American Girl. You're Gonna Get It was released in 1978 and supplies the tracks Listen To Her Heart and I Need to Know. Much greater success was waiting in 1979 when Damn the Torpedoes saw the light of day, and this GH collection features four unforgettable tracks from that breakthrough album: Refugee, Don't Do Me Like That, Even the Losers, and Here Comes My Girl. It's hard to believe Refugee maxed out at number 15 in the US charts, as the song was all over the airwaves at the time. These four songs reflect the growth and maturation of Petty & the Heartbreakers as they truly began to establish a rock 'n' roll legacy. The group's next two albums, Hard Promises (1981) and Long After Dark (1982) saw only moderate success and are represented here by only two tracks: The Waiting and You Got Lucky, respectively.
Three years of work paid off when Southern Accents was released in 1985. It's a great album, even though only one track from the album appears on this GH collection. Don't Come Around Here No More is especially memorable for its twisted Alice in Wonderland video- it's one of the most famous music videos of all time. Full Moon Fever (1989) made Petty a legend with hits such as I Won't Back Down (featuring fellow Wilbury George Harrison), Runnin' Down a Dream, and Free Fallin'. Into the Great Wide Open (1991) kept the ball rolling with hits such as the title track and Learning to Fly.
This Greatest Hits album concludes with two brand new songs. Mary Jane's Last Dance (and its accompanying video featuring Kim Basinger) was a big hit, while Something In the Air is a great song obviously influenced by Petty's recent collaborations with Jeff Lynne and George Harrison in the guise of the Traveling Wilburys. I'm a little disappointed that nothing from 1987's Let Me Up (I've Had Enough) is included in this collection; I've never understood the album's lack of success as it features some great tunes including Jammin' Me, which was co-written by Bob Dylan.
There are more inclusive Petty collections out there these days, but if you want the heart and soul of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers on one CD, the tracks on Greatest Hits will serve you quite well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars will it convert you?, 14 Jan 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is really a reply to Brian Le Flem's review below. No, this won't convert you - if you like Madonna, Kim Wilde or ABBA. (Why would you think it would). But if you like Dylan, The Band, Bo Diddley, then it might. Or if you like any of the recent guitar based rock bands, then you may be converted by this. But is is a long way from ABBA - since when was that a bad thing?

BUT, if you want to try Tom Petty, you are better off just going for the early albums - especially the first album or Damn the Torpedoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is probably one of the best places to start in your love affair with Tom Petty. Once you hear his music there's no going back. He has a wonderfully distinctive voice and can play both rocking upbeat songs, as well as laid back chilled out ones. There are so many brilliant songs on this compilation, it would be hard to pick out any one for special mention. Needless to say I highly recommend it!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Rich (Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent album, fantastic value. Some top tunes and very good quality.
Great service from Amazon as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rebel without a clue, 17 Mar 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Once heard a song by Tom Petty that you liked? Can't be `arrised to buy all the albums? Then this is for you (unless it's a song he made after 1993 - well, do you know any Tom Petty songs after 1993? Thought not). Sometimes `Greatest Hits' are the best way - I've bought a couple (well four actually) Tom Petty albums over the years and I've always liked them but always ended up losing/selling/chucking them and not been that upset about it. I don't think he's an `important' artist or someone you feel passionate about but, let's face it, who's life isn't made a little bit better when they hear `American Girl'?

There's a few on here that I wouldn't have chosen and a few that aren't on it that I would have chosen, but that's the same with every Greatest Hits. This has got `American Girl', `Breakdown', 'Free Fallin'', `Runnin' Down a Dream' and all those other songs that would sound so great if only I could drive (they sound pretty great anyway).

It's amazing to think that when their first album was released they were regarded as `new wave'; Petty always had much more in common with Roger McGuinn than he did with Tom Verlaine. It must have been because, in an age when American rock had become bloated, Petty wrote short, crisp pop songs which smacked you round the face with their tunes and choruses and then were gone before they could outstay their welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great Tom Petty, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was slow to appreciate the many talents of Tom Petty but this album is a great introduction.
A must for any would be fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic compilation, 21 Jun 2009
By 
S. K. FLORA (Sutton Coldfield,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a truly great compilation from one of musics greatest ever stars- a true American legend. Too many so called greatest hits cds these days are padded out with songs that can barely be described as hits or among the artist best work- this however isn't the case here as every song is brilliant even the new tracks included.
If you don't own a Tom Petty album this is a good a place as any to start and you won't be disappointed with whats on offer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews