Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ace piece of work again from the Master.
This album is in a class of it's own.A superbly mastered album that you can play over & over again without getting bored. There's a natural feel of the 'CELTS'to it.Women of Ireland is my favourite track for which you can visualise yourself , strolling along the' Connemara Coast',which is breathtaking, just like the album.
Published on 22 April 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but nothing special
Bought this recently - played it - first track quite pleasant, 2nd track similar, 3rd track more of the same...

And that is the problem with this album, each track in isolation is perfectly acceptable and would be fine on any other Mike Oldfield album surrounded by different tracks. The problem is that after three or four tracks it starts to sound very samey -...
Published on 6 Oct 2010 by hawk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ace piece of work again from the Master., 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
This album is in a class of it's own.A superbly mastered album that you can play over & over again without getting bored. There's a natural feel of the 'CELTS'to it.Women of Ireland is my favourite track for which you can visualise yourself , strolling along the' Connemara Coast',which is breathtaking, just like the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT AND UPLIFTING, 13 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
This album is a marvellous collection of traditional Celtic tracks and Mike Oldfield originals.Oldfield's interpretation of the traditional Celtic tracks is highly effective and unique.His own masterpiece on this is without doubt 'Mont St Michel',a hugely entertaining and uplifting piece of music.The 'traditionals' also get excellent treatment especially 'Women of Ireland' and 'Flowers of the Forest'.The rumour must be true after all-Oldfield is Irish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "can't go wrong" instrumental album with Celtic influences, 15 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
Mike Oldfield, the genius of instrumental and ambient music, grabbed five traditional Celtic songs, added another five of his own, and launched what is now my favorite Mike Oldfield album of all time... and I own pretty much everything from him. Track 9 ("Flowers of the Forest"), in particular, is an awesome work. Track 3 ("The Hero") has been a favorite to everyone I played this album to but, all in all, it's the general theme (sort of like a suitable soundtrack for the movie "Braveheart") that really sells this album. Being a fan of Tolkien, much like Mike Oldfield himself, I can't help picturing The Hobbit when I listen to track 7 ("Dark Island").
If you like Mike Oldfield and loved movies like "Braveheart" or "Lord of the Rings", then this album couldn't be a better choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mood Music, 2 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
OK so I'm a bit behind here, I have listened to all of M O's output over the years and like others he has had his brilliant albums and some which have not been as good. This album is very definatly one of the best, it weaves celtic, orchestral and Mike's own style to form a feast of wonderful mood music. If I had to pick one track to take on a desert island it would have to be Mont St Michel, it's as good a piece of musical picture painting as you will ever hear, the blend of pipes and orchestra are just breathtaking. An Album to savour, put on the headphones, close your eyes and be transported to another place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pipe Dream, 5 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, with the celtic influence. Haunting guitars and bagpipes and ghostly pipes. Wonderful, every track is a stand alone masterpiece. Traditional Celtic songs given the Oldfield's touch, a few more words to describe the CD exceptional, terrific, stupendous, dazzling, marvellous, awe-inspiring, breathtaking, remarkable, picturesque, scenic, exquisite, magnificent, gorgeous, and not forgetting charming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mike's Celtic Heart, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
I've read all the previous reviews, and there is a wide range of opinion indeed!

So who's "right" and who's "wrong"?

Well the answer is "everyone".

That's not the cop-out it might at first seem.

It's true to say that Voyager is not a groundbreaking album, though it is not devoid of originality. It's certainly no Tubular Bells. But then, after getting on for 40 years (as I write) isn't it about time Mike was allowed to loose the Tubular shackles?

In fact he's be doing this for some time now - but even so, his submitting fully to the Celtic Muse is something of a new direction. I've read accusations of Mike jumping on the bandwagon by releasing a Celtic Music album. Well, in my opinion, this venture is more a brave step than a safe one. Oldfield devotees will remember he has embraced the music of the Celt before, but this is an all out love affair, which could have gone horribly wrong, but I believe has gone very right.

That said, you must, dear music fan, take this into account and set your expectations of this album with that in mind.

If you do, and you like good music, Celtic music or, indeed, good Celtic music, then splash out and you will be thoroughly rewarded.

For what it's worth, Mike... Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always, 21 May 2009
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
Mike oldfield does it again, beautiful music as always. I feel that his style of music can make almost anyone to just chillout and relax. If a artist is still around as long as mike oldfield has you know that there at the top of there game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage of inspiring Music, 3 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
I have been a MO fan for as many years as Mike has been writing music. This album is truly a beautiful arrangement of celtic music that i defy anyone not to feel an array of emotions whilst listening to it. Go on let you imagination roam over the stunning valleys and hills of the Highlands Just Beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Write it off immediately.., 27 May 2000
By 
stig16m@aol.com (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
Now I am a Huge mike fan. I have all his albums, but voyager was one of the ones i bought last. Why?, because i thought it would be mediocre- and I am not the hugest fan of celtic music. But when i eventually did buy Voyager, I couldn't believe how much i had written it off. The Last Track, Mont St. Michel - Is Absolutely outstanding, and is worth the purchase price alone. There are 5 mike Tracks, and 5 traditional arrangements. 'Women of Ireland' and 'The Voyager' are the best of the songs, but Mont St. Michel is just wonderful.
If you are A mike fan, and considering not buying this, forget it - You must listen to Mont St. Michel. It turns what would have been an average album into a moody, well produced piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but nothing special, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Voyager (Audio CD)
Bought this recently - played it - first track quite pleasant, 2nd track similar, 3rd track more of the same...

And that is the problem with this album, each track in isolation is perfectly acceptable and would be fine on any other Mike Oldfield album surrounded by different tracks. The problem is that after three or four tracks it starts to sound very samey - desperatley needing something different to change the feel and tempo. Sadly this never arrives.

Background music? Possibly, but not something to really listen to for that Mike Oldfield has produced much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Voyager
The Voyager by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews