Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead Of Its Time
I bought this album when it was first released (Late Autumn 1991) and i agree with the other reviewer here that, yes, in comparision to N.O.W's later albums this album is perhaps a little dated and more techno-orientated than their more recent albums. What we shoould bear in mind is that NOW started life as a "Bleep" (an early variation of techno) act on Warp records...
Published on 11 Sept. 2002 by avert

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of early Warp
I owned a copy of this on tape when it was first released in 1991 - in fact this served as my introduction to the Warp Records oeuvre. Listening to it again years later the standout tracks are still "Nights Interlude", "A Cascade of Funk", "Coming Down" and "Biofeedback". Which all use samples to very good effect. Check it out!
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead Of Its Time, 11 Sept. 2002
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it was first released (Late Autumn 1991) and i agree with the other reviewer here that, yes, in comparision to N.O.W's later albums this album is perhaps a little dated and more techno-orientated than their more recent albums. What we shoould bear in mind is that NOW started life as a "Bleep" (an early variation of techno) act on Warp records along with LFO and early singles ("Dextrous" and "Aftermath") reflected this then fashionable sound.
This album was at the time considered quite cutting-edge, featuring those bleep tracks but also abstract beats, hip hop and breakbeat funk, and early jungle influences. Back then this kind of eclectism was unheard of (save for perhaps the "Shut Up & Dance" stable) The albums opening track - "Nights Interlude" was certainly a taster of things to come, and its influence is still felt to this very day (sweeping cinematic strings,loping basslines with lazy breakbeats - 1001 Ibiza chillout sheep are still imitating this sound as i type)
This showcased NOW as an act with creativity and longevity - which they have obviously proved.
I agree with the other reviewer here that this album doesnt sit well with the rest of NOW's repertoire, but it shouldnt be dismissed because of this. What one should consider is that there was about 4 years between this album and the 2nd (Smokers Delight) - technology and tastes had changed enornmously in that time too.
In short - its no timeless classic, but its certainly a blueprint for future variations of dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic stuff, 28 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
It has to be said, this album is in a totally different vain to the later albums, this is because two band members became one soon after this release and the band went from techno to downbeat.
But seeing as it is a dance record, this is a landmark album. If we had tunes of this quality in 2004 id be in the clubs every weekend, this is definiely in my top ten dance albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of early Warp, 28 Sept. 2013
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
I owned a copy of this on tape when it was first released in 1991 - in fact this served as my introduction to the Warp Records oeuvre. Listening to it again years later the standout tracks are still "Nights Interlude", "A Cascade of Funk", "Coming Down" and "Biofeedback". Which all use samples to very good effect. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend for Christmas. They really enjoyed the cd (although not my cup of tea!)
So therefore I would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly outdated rave, 30 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
Unlike the more recent chilled-out Nightmares on Wax CD's (Carboot Soul,Smokers Delight) this album from 1991 focuses on rave music. Unfortunately this sounds a little outdated now, but is still worthwhile having because it is still quite interesting- especially for people into techno. This CD is nowhere near as good as the newer NOW albums or EASE's Dj Kicks compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Adrian Kermode (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
bit repetitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like their other albums. More dancy., 18 Mar. 2004
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
This cd is nothing like 'Carboot Soul' or 'Smoker's Delight' it mostly sounds dated. Apart from the signature 'Nights Interlude' that, although brilliant, doesn't last long enough and maybe also 'Back into Time' there isnt really anything here that makes me want to bother listening to it. I have tried many times to force myself to give this another chance in the hope that it will grow on me but find it easier just to give in and throw on Smoker's Delight.
That Nights intro really never gets old though. If i was stuck with only this CD id probably find myself listening to it on repeat after about 20 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dissapointing, 7 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr. R. Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter (Audio CD)
Nowhere near as good as Car Boot Soul. This album has a couple of interesting songs, but after that it's a bit of a chore to listen to I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter
A Word of Science: the 1st & Final Chapter by Nightmares on Wax (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews