Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another to annoy the 'hood!, 30 Sep 2009
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
I first purchased this in vinyl form upon it's release - but after the magnificence of Nantucket Sleighride, I always thought this album was a little bit of a come down, especially as half the album was made up, virtually, from one live jam. However, not having played it in years, I thought that I would re-visit the album in CD format while travelling around in my car.
Well, the studio stuff remained pretty much as I recalled it - crisp and clean, if a little twee (especially compared to the studio brilliance of Nantucket) but then it hit the live section and, to be perfectly honest, it brought back memories of the only live gig I ever saw of Mountain (at the Kinetic Circus in Birmingham) where Leslie West and Felix Papallardi demonstrated what a great team they made, both as live players and also as songwriters. Leslie's guitar and vocals tearing your ears off, while Felix counterpointed with the softer vocals and the thumping bass that reverberated throughout your torso - truly something you had to experience to believe!
Anyway, back to the album - whilst bringing the memories back, the live work featured here is still not as good as other live Mountain albums still out on the market as the jam can go on a little too long - evidently fun if you were there but a little tedious for a mere album listener - and sound-wise, a little on the muddy side (but then remember the technology that was around when this was recorded....). That said, Mississippi Queen still lives on as a true rock anthem, delivered with verve and POWER, putting to shame a lot of more modern anthems!
Certainly an album to play loud to annoy the 'hood - but if you are new to this band catch Nantucket first and see just what these guys were capable of - and if you really want to go back further - then the starting point has to be Leslie West's first "solo" album, entitled Mountain (what else!) where he first collaborated with Felix to produce an album which, though now 40 years old, still has the power and capacity to completely blow you away!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain's Finest Hour, 24 Nov 2007
By 
Andrew Robinson "Andrew Robinson" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
My vinyl copy of this album has been framed and hangs proudly on my study wall. Listening to the LP when it first came out, we used to gather around my record player after school and debate who were the best improvisers - Cream or Mountain. After listening to side 2 over and over again we all agreed - Mountain. The playing on the live tracks is breathtaking, Leslie West and Felix Pappalardi trading licks still brings me out in goosebumps. One of the finest (half) live albums ever released, and I don't say that just for its nostalgia value. Brilliant playing from a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain Flowers of Evil, 28 Nov 2004
By 
Seamus McCabe (Worthing, Sussex England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
I first heard this album when i was ohh soooo young and it never went away. It's rock at it's purist and a delight to listen to. I have the original vinyl copy that i only played twice (to record onto cassette). The format of one side studio and the other live works so well, sometimes it's hard to tell which is which. Leslie West is one of guitar greats
Buy it and relive a better time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Guitar Solo EVER?, 4 April 2007
By 
Brian Williams (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
This album captures Mountain at their best, their peak one might say. In the studio, they come over a little subdued, but live, as in this magisterial outing, they rip the house down.

The late Felix Pappalardi, erstwhile Cream producer, is the bassist and arranger. If 'arranger' seems a little pretentious for what is fundamentally an American Hard Rawk Band, then ask afficionados of the West guitar-style how much the great one has fallen from the dizzy days when this first came out.

What is most noticeable about their work is the use of tunes and dynamics. The Roll Over Beethoven guitar solo mixes breathtaking violin-sound pizzicati with overt power-chords, building to a crescendo that left me dumbstruck as a teenager back in '71 and wistful even to this day.

When Leslie West gets into the classic Chuck Berry riff you will, I guarantee my friend, get shivers down your spine - all this tone from a Les Paul Junior.

Nantucket Sleighride, named after the manic ride the old, oar-driven whaling craft would experience when the harpooned whale pulled them along until exhaustion, is as subtle a piece as a rock band produced, and that includes Yes, ELP and Rush.

Listen today and enjoy - the guitar never sounded so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great after 41 years, 14 April 2013
By 
T. G. F. Garrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
I had a (cheap & poor)cassette copy of this from my friends LP in 1972. The tape soon was unplayable and have only just gotten round to buy it on CD. If you are thinking about getting some Mountain then perhaps your first stop is Best of Mountain but this album is(almost perfect)highly recommended if you like Cream, especially live. I would say it's worth buying for the live track(s) alone. Leslie West gets such a powerful sound on his P90's Les Paul Junior that the old saying you need humbucking pickups on a Les Paul/SG/335 etc to get that Cream sound redundant! Sorry about the guitar speak but just slip the CD in, turn it up to 11 and rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mountain flowers of evil, 9 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
I have liked this album for a long time and grew up with it.
All the tracks are special to a fan but the reason I bought the CD was because of the live tracks.
The guitar work of Leslie West and the raw vocals along with Felix Papalardis bass playing are fantastic.
I waited a long time to buy this and finally got around to it and never regretted it.
My wife bought Nantucket Sleighride for me as well recently and that is also a great CD.
This one though was the first album buy for me all those years ago and was always special.
To all Mountain fans old and new ROLL OVER BEETHOVEN.

Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy rock improvisation at its best, 20 May 2013
By 
Antony D. O'dowd "Brutus" (Honiara, Solomon Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
Mountain, at their best, were pretty astounding. All great players, and dynamic to boot. There are bits on this album (especially the live stuff) where they really let fly. The heavy rock improvisation in the dream sequence on this album puts most of Cream's work in the shade, for example. However, let us not get carried away. Mountain were only so-so composers, and there are bits of the live stuff where you wish you could fast forward. Nevertheless, this album gets a good rating, basically because there are such exciting bits interspersed with the drum solos and guitar noodling and so on, and it also contains versions of some of their best material. To me Mountain never really reached their full potential - but this is one of their albums where you at least get a sense of what that potential was. Check out the bits near the end of the dream sequence where Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi and Leslie West manically feed off each other to deliver an exhilarating jazz/heavy rock hybrid. Hair-raising stuff, even if it isn't particularly well recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flowers of evil CD Classic album BUT WRONG RELEASE DATE, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
I have known this album since its 1971 vinyl version and later the 1991 CD. As most readers will already know the music, I will not comment other than to say it is a milestone work of early heavy metal. The 5 ***** is only for the musical importance of this classic.
THE PROBLEM
When up to date re-releases are issued, they can be enhanced and cleaned up, usually to an excellent quality, breathing a new life into old recordings. So as Amazon described this FoE as released 6th June 2011, I ordered a copy to see if an improvement had been achieved, compared to my 1991 version.
On arrival the CD release date proved to be not 2011 but 1997! Very disappointing.
This can only be a description or order picking error.
I am trying to resolve the issue with Amazon, but in the meantime be warned, you will probably not receive the product as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mountain - flowers of evil, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Flowers Of Evil (Audio CD)
Last heared this albam 25 yers ago! It has lived with me ever since. The tital track sums up all that is sick and wrong with the US attitude to war! But can any of us learn from others mistakes, apparently not, just listen to the song of the swans.
PEACE PEACE PEACE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers Of Evil
Flowers Of Evil by Mountain (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews